We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food in the Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Italy

A Taste of Italy
6007 Columbia Blvd, Bloomsburg, PA 17815-8800
+1 570-784-8484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Bloomsburg
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Bloomsburg, Pa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you like really good Italian food, prepared fresh and inviting, this is the place for you. The only minus is that it is a BYOB establishment. They have specials everyday, plus an interesting menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I ate here after rave reviews from friends and co-workers. We found the food to be just average. I had bruschole and she a pasta dish. My food was overcooked and dry. Taste was good. Sauce was ok, a littl ewatery for my liking. It is a small place and filled up fast. Service was very good. Perhaps we ate on the chef's off night. Not sure. I drive by every day and they are always busy so I think we just picked the wrong food or off night. Prices are a little high but this is more of a formal sit down restaurant in my opinion for Bloomsburg. I will need some convincing to go back.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is up there with the best Italian food I ever ate in any Italian restaurant. My wife and I really enjoy dining there. The staff is very pleasant and professional and the service is always quick. Whenever "out of town" friends and family come to see us they always want to go there.

Like some other reviewers have mentioned it's a BYOB restaurant. That's not such a bad thing as it allows you to bring your favorite spirits at a much lower price than you would pay buy the glass.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Out shined the Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A Taste of Italy catered Bloomsburg Hospital's 5th Annual Wine Tasting benefit in March. There was everything from Cold Antipasto, Chicken Murrphy, Roast Pork Loin, Mushroom stuffed Striped Ravioli and Cheese stuffed Tortoloni to Salmon over a bed of Spinach and much more. It really does say something about the quality of food when it out shines the wine. A job well done by John and his staff. I have also eaten at the restaurant many times and have always been pleased with the service and fine Italian Cuisine. Give it a try I am sure you will be pleased too!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Worth the price, but BYOB.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Bring your own wine bottle, as they have no liquor license. The food was good, service good, ambiance could use a little work to establish the Italian feel. Would recommend this place if you are in the mood for Italian.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Italy also viewed

 

Been to A Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.