We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird In Hand Family Restaurant

Bird In Hand Family Restaurant
2695 Old Philadelphia Pike, Village Inn, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
717-768-1550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Nestled amid the Amish farmlands of Lancaster County, this Mennonite family-owned business features farm fresh meats, poultry, fruits and vegetables from nearby farms and Grandma Smucker's favorite Pennsylvania Dutch recipes. Family-friendly with a Noah's Ark Kids' Buffet and breakfast, lunch and dinner smorgasbords, this local favorite has been a landmark for more than 40 years.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is one of those places that you find your favorite foods and just have to get them whenever you go. Their turkey dinners are fantastic, and I always get the lemon sponge pie for dessert. can't go wrong with the buffet!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    155
    87
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious local cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife had dined here before so suggested we stop. She had the smorgasbord and said that everything was great. I had a patty melt and it was the best I've ever had. Very nice menu along with the smorgasbord offering. Very clean and all of the wait staff and greeters were very pleasant. I will definitely dine here again when I'm in the area. Nice location with a huge parking lot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

this restaurant is great... we weren't that hungry so we didn't get the buffet which is amazing...instead we had chicken corn soup and grilled cheese...It tasted like home and the help is very friendly too...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A place where the owners and staff give a darn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ate breakfast here, and for $8, got enough food to last for the entire day ... then some. A couple of the options were not to my particular taste, but there was enough to satisfy even the biggest appetite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've eaten here every time I've been to Lancaster since I could barely walk! The food is good, the service is wonderful, and the smorgasbord has something for everyone! My family and I never have anything bad to say about it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird In Hand Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Bird In Hand Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird In Hand Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.