We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paging Dr. Ressler: The best place to stay in Lancaster. Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2695 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bird in Hand B&B and Inns
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paging Dr. Ressler: The best place to stay in Lancaster. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We've stayed at the Village Inn several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. We stayed at the Bitzer Suite in the Original Inn last year and it was terrific but our heart belongs to the Ressler Suite, located in the Ressler House across the street from the Original Inn.

Depending on our budget at the time, we will either stay two nights in the Ressler Suite or one night at another hotel and one night in the Ressler (You might think that it's a huge inconvenience to move around like that, but it's well worth it for a stay in the Ress.)

A lot of the rooms at the Inn can be booked for under $100 per night, with the Ressler Suite usually running somewhere in the $140-180 range depending on the season. If we have a little extra money, we always choose to stay in the Ressler Suite. Some of the amenities of the room include a jacuzzi, a fireplace, a compact refrigerator and plenty of kitchen and storage space, if you're into preparing meals during your stay (I'll be at Miller's, though.)

The staff is always extremely courteous and friendly, making us feel right at home when we arrive. The location is perfect, right next door to the Bird-In-Hand Farmer's Market. Across the street is the Bakery and Antique shop and just a little down the road is Kitchen Kettle Village (our favorite) and all of the other great shops and restaurants. In addition, the rooms we have stayed in have been immaculately clean and extremely accommodating.

Some reviewers have written about noise from the street but I honestly have never experienced a problem with this in all the times we've stayed there. In fact, it's actually the opposite. The Ressler Suite, along with the Inn in general, is both peaceful and relaxing. Guests have full access to the pool and the miniature golf course at the Family Inn and the property is large enough where you can take a nice afternoon stroll around the property or check out the scenic views from the Original Inn.

You can probably tell by this review that we love it at the Inn, but you should stay there for at least one night during your trip and see if you like it (how could you not?) and stay longer the next time you're in the area.

Also, don't forget to get your hands on the VIP card for the Inn on the Bird-In-Hand website and start getting that card stamped ASAP.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beatiful grounds
  • Disliked — Hmm, nope, can't think of anything. Well, possibly cost if you
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Ressler House for one night but I would gladly have stayed for another . The property is located across from a carriage house which is part of the property and features 4 old fashioned rocking chairs to relax in and watch the buggys go by. The Ressler property is wonderful - pretty without being prissy. We were on the second floor and had a nice view of the main street. The suite is equipped with new modern kitchen appliances, a wonderfully deep jacuzzi and nice shower with heat lamp. The jacuzzi flooring is hardwood and lovely to look at but can be a bit slippery. Nice vanity area with a magnifying lamp. Snacks and the continental plus breakfast will definitely hold you over until you can get to a real meal. We needed additional time and it was graciously given to us. I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — The quietness and details of the home and suite.
  • Disliked — The slipperiness of the steps leading from the jacuzzi to the lower area.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

I'm not sure why other reviewers weren't happy with their stay at this inn, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were 4 of us, so I booked a specific room which had 2 queen beds. Upon arriving we discovered it also had a really nice kitchen area with table and chairs, sink, microwave and fridge. There was always food and a very extensive selection of both cold and hot drinks available in the breakfast room. The continental plus breakfast had lots of choices and everything we had was very fresh, including the fruit. We stayed there in May, so maybe the inn wasn't full, but we had no problem getting a table. Compared to where we've stayed in the past this was a much better value and experience. And the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

We returned yesterday from a four night stay at the Village Inn and we had a great time. We had a third floor queen room which is the lowest rate ($69). It was a very good value. We did have to walk up three flights of stairs to our room, but after all the PA Dutch food we needed the excercise! The room is small, but perfect for two people. Nice comfy queen size bed, a dresser/armoir, nightstands, etc. Decorated nicer than a standard motel room. The staff here is incredibly friendly (above and beyond the norm) and the inn itself is so charming. With the hardwood floors, the old fashioned counter for check-in, the chandeliers...it is lovely! The inn is very close to the road (Rte 340), but traffic noise wasn't an issue for us as it was for a previous reviewer. Much quieter than I imagine the hotels on Rte 30 are. The breakfast was just as advertised- continental. It was bagels, toast, english muffins, all kinds of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea. There is something for everyone. For bigger appetites, the Bird In Hand Restaurant is right across the street and offers a daily breakfast buffet (not sure of cost or specifics because the continental breakfast was fine for us). And on Sunday they offered an extented breakfast buffet over at the restaurant for hotel guests only. We took advantage of this and it was $7 and included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, chipped beef, tater tots, french toast sticks, waffles, juices, pastries, fruits, and coffee/tea. One evening we took advantage of the indoor pools and spa over at the Family Inn. There are changing rooms there so you don't have to wear your suit over. The evening snack was a nice touch - cookies and pretzels with soda and coffee most nights. One night there was other little cakes and mixed nuts. All in all it was a great place to stay especially for the price. Please feel free to e-mail with questions.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Allentown, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

We recently stayed here on our way thru Lancaster, a beautiful Bed and
Breakfast. Very clean, very nicely furnitured and decorated. Amish horse and buggies could be seen from our windows. Price includes:
Evening snacks, use of the Bird in Hand Family Inn Pool and Hot Tub, 2
hour free tour of Amish County, and a nice breakfast. They had coupons
on the front desk for places to eat and things to do. Would definitely
recommend this B & B to others and return ourselves when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2004

My husband and I go back to the Village Inn every year - we have a mini friends reunion with folks we don't get to see alot of time and, since PA is easily accessible to all, we decide to meet there. The rooms are spectacular - they have opened two new buildings now and they are even better than the original inn. The staff is wonderful - we know them all by name and they're very friendly and helpful. The continental plus breakfast is just right for our apetites and, if you wanted a little extra, they're affiliated with the Family Inn less than a mile down the road so you can go there for a breakfast buffet. It's convenient to everything - the horse and buggies that travel back and forth make it even more charming and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a memorable vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2004

I have stayed at this B&B just last fall (2003) and have plans to return there in 2 weeks. In the past, I have stayed at several other sites in the area, but none compare to this inn. it is extremely clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it is within wallking distance to a number of places in the town. Check out the hardware store next door..it is one of my favoritep laces to shop in the area!! You can get lost in there!!!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites

Address: 2695 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Village Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn And Suites
Village Inn Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.