We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay,Good Times” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Save Saved
You added Bird-In-Hand Family Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Bird in Hand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Stay,Good Times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was average. The town also was in a heat wave and the air condictioners were broke the last night of our stay and the room's fan was airing out the room. We stayed in September 2010, it was a good stay with awesome food and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow – a review of a stay from 3 years ago! We’re glad you enjoyed the food, and we’re happy to report that the HVAC system is in fine shape for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    85
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
112
36
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederica, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here on July 13, 2013 and were charged $150.00 for one night. No doubt the best part of our stay was sitting in the chairs on the front lawn! At check-in the front desk clerk gave us no options of a king sized bed, etc. and wasn't the friendliest. Inadequate room, very dated with old carpet. Offered a continental breakfast on Sunday morning for $7.00 where many other hotels include that in their prices and are cheaper as well .Hostess at the "continental breakfast" was rude and unfriendly. Check out other places and their amenities before staying here. The owner has other places to stay in the area and let's hope they all aren't this bad! Research before you spend your hard earned money because you WILL be disappointed. Beautiful and relaxing area of this country but stay someplace that truly appreciates your business!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Do your homework first. Many more options that give you a bang for your buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. The Family Inn was very full when you made your same-day reservation, so we regret that we had no rooms available with king-size beds. Our family of inns and motels would be happy to welcome you back and show you the service we pride ourselves in, if you give us the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Landscape breathtaking, food amazing, Amish welcoming, so much to do. Drive a few miles and find 2 huge shopping outlets. Look out my room's window and see dozens of locals driving by in buggies and farmers plowing their fields with teams of horses. I will diff be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Amish country really does have it all, and we’re so glad you chose to enjoy it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slangerup, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Early july and we wanted to see Amish country - The Family Inn was the right place to go. Right next to the Farmers Market. The Family Inn has all the right things for our family, nice pool area and a little petting zoo. I have no doubts to go again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As VIP members and the fact that my husband spent many fond memories with his family here on vacation when growing up, we often returned to stay here three to four times a year. However, that all changed this past January 2013 when we came for a short weekend getaway. First, as VIP members, they often give you a complimentary bakery item when checking in. Imagine our surprise when dining at the restaurant after checking in that that same bakery item was reduced for quick sale in house. We could always count on our room being clean as it had always been in the past. Much to my surprise, I woke up to find blood on the sheets. Yuck! I called housekeeping right away and it was taken care of. However, upon checkout when we mentioned this, the staff asked us what we wanted them to do. I think they should have a policy in place in case this happens. Other things that use to attract us to staying here also have fallen by the wayside. The restaurant never really had a good buffet but you used to be able to count on the local menu to be consistent. Ever since they have been trying to attract theatre goers to see plays, the food and service has suffered. The Inn never seems to have enough family suites available unless you can book them at least a year in advance, and buildings that have available suites don't accommodate children under the age of sixteen. I hate to part ways but sometimes you have to pay a little more to get better service. Never again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about your stay. We value our VIP guests and are always sorry to hear about anyone’s unhappiness. We wish we’d have had a suite available for you. They do get booked early in the year. We can assure you that the baked goods every VIP guest receives at check-in are fresh from our Bakery and were not the same batch offered for quick sale at our Restaurant. As for the sheet stain you discovered when you woke up, we’re scratching our heads over where that came from but certainly wanted our housekeepers to give you a clean set. We do hope you’ll give us the opportunity to try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoy this hotel...We actually choose to stay in the older part so we can park our car directly in front of our door and sit outside at night. There is a big field to catch fireflies in which is a great addition in the month of June. The pool area is great and it's location is perfect. The restaurant on the property isn't amazing but it's fine for a few days. It was your basic room but clean. I would recommend staying here for a long weekend to Lancaster. The property is also family friendly with animals to pet, miniature golf, ice cream and a playground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Long-time returning guests are such a compliment. Thank you for recommending us. We’re looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for Father's Day weekend 2013. This hotel is located minutes away from Dutch Wonderland and all of the attractions and shopping outlets. While the price per night is somewhat higher than those located on the "strip" it does have several family oriented features. Swings, jungle gym, two lighted outdoor tennis courts, petting zoo, basketball hoops, scooter rental, indoor and outdoor pool as well as an on-site fee to play mini golf as well as an restaurant featuring local cuisines. There are even complimentary 2hr bus rides. This certainly remains the draw for my family for now.
The rooms was clean and neat and was a bit dim even with the lighting. The two queen beds were not that comfortable and were quite springy, however the linens felt ok. The does not have an HDTV and wifi did not work on Apple products as was disclosed by the front desk staff. The bathroom was clean and had a very good shower head. The sink was on the outside of the bathroom which was very family friendly.
It was an enjoyable stay and I am sure we will return here as it really stands out for younger children and families. However, going to a place where I know the mattress won't do, doesn't exactly make me want to return there. I do hope rooms renovations are planned.

Room Tip: The door has a slight gap and lets in light! Roll a towel to stuff it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
What a thorough overview of your stay with us. We’re glad you took in so much of the special Bird-in-Hand experience. We are sorry that our free in-room Wi-Fi wasn’t working with your computer. For some reason Apple’s iOS6 excluded several router manufacturers, and ours are one of them. We’ve been assured that iOS7 will correct this, but we regret that this left you and your computer unconnected in your room. We hope you were able to use the Wi-Fi in our lobbies. We also want you to know that we have pillow top mattress covers available for those who prefer a softer mattress. Next time you come, ask that we have a pillow top mattress cover waiting for you on your bed. Our housekeepers will be happy to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.