We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Birthday Bash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bird-In-Hand Family Inn to your Saves list
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
West Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“4th Birthday Bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came because of a recommendation from a friend who comes here frequently. We decided to take our son here for his fourth birthday; the only thing we can say is "spectacular". From the moment we got there, we knew we weren't in NJ because everyone in PA is extremely polite, well mannered, and.........if you can believe it.........cheerful. We were asked if we would like to take part in the VIP program for returning guests; we agreed, but we forgot to mention our friend who recommended the place to us. We received a bag of cookies, our keys, and directions to our room. The room was lovely, some would claim it is dated, but I claim that it was clean, comfortable, and extremely well prepped for people on a long drive who need a cup of coffee first. The room was very comfortable; all the amenities were appreciated. It was a comfortable, quiet place to stay. We especially enjoyed the heat lamp in the bathroom after our swim in the pool. The pool was clean, highly chlorinated for safety purposes, and there's a hot tub, too. We decided to go to the restaurant on the grounds for dinner, and the kid's buffet was perfect for little guys, but the little guys could choose from all of the buffets if they wanted- no limitations. This was cool because our guy wanted stuff from both buffets. Ordering off the menu was our preference, but I would say those buffets are extremely well prepared, varied and enjoyed by everyone partaking in them. Also, the food we ordered off the menu came in record time- each and every time we came there. Best waffles ever. The waitresses and waiters are the best I've ever come across- anywhere- and this is coming from a guy who took his family to the Palace Hotel in NYC for Thanksgiving weekend. Is there something in the water here? EVERYONE is so friendly and polite. We also pre-ordered a birthday cake for our son from their bakery. The cake was exceptional- so lite- like a Twinkie without the preservatives. We picked it up and brought it to the restaurant where they prepared the candles for his surprise. All the waiters/waitresses came to sing. This was just lovely. Back to the buffet- this food is hearty midwestern style food so I would pace myself if I were to eat it. Desserts were great too; the Shoofly Pie was the best I've ever eaten; it was also my first piece ever. I just loved this restaurant; kudos to all who work there. We had to leave early on the day of our departure, but you can just leave the keys in the drop off at the office. Who wouldn't want to come back? This is what service is all about.

Room Tip: I liked room 231 because you could see everyone coming in and out of the site from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    95
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
128
44
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
villas, nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently stayed at the Family Inn while we visited Lancaster to see the Christmas Show. The property is immaculate, the staff couldn't have been nicer, and the food was good. This is a good place for people with families or couples who are looking for a comfortable place to stay. It's right in the heart of Bird in Hand and Interscourse, so it's convenient to shopping and dining. The price we paid for a package with meals was extremely reasonable. We will definitely make this our place to saty in Lancaster.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent the night at the Bird in hand family inn. The room was very clean, but dated. An example is they still use CRT TV's, older shower and doors, older mattress, dated carpet, etc. The indoor pools were very nice and the kids really enjoyed them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here on New Years Eve of 2011. The room was a standard, average, 2 bedroom hotel room. Honestly I was expecting it to be a bit nicer because of the price we paid, but it was adequate. I requested a room near the pool and they were very accommodating and put us very close. It was also a very short walk to our car too. The indoor pool area was nice - and the reason we booked here with our kids. There are 2 nice sized indoor pools and an extremely large hot tub. One of the indoor pools wasn't heated very well, so no one was going in that one, and everyone was in the other. Meals were not included in the price we paid, but we did eat the dinner buffet at the restaurant there. My husband and I thought the buffet was average, but a little overpriced too. .

Room Tip: tell them that you want to be in the pool building. There is another building in the front that is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Family Inn in Bird In Hand Pa each October for several years and have always found the stay enjoyable. Great service at check inn, Clean room, great location convienent resturant next door. The pool is also clean and enjoyable. Staff is also helpful when asking for directions for local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pool Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Henry, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have going to the Amish country for over 25+ years I started when I was 3 years old and have been going back every year since. Sometime I go twice a year. This was the first time in about 15 years I stayed at the Bird In hand family inn. The last time I was there is was a small hotel with about 30 rooms, now they have an addition with two indoor pools and a huge hot tube in the pool building. Which cost a little more per night than the older part of the hotel, but both parts are super clean, staff are the nicest people you will meet. The location is great about a 5 min ride from Intercourse, and the road that is next to the hotel is a quick 3 min ride over to route 30 where all the outlets are. I have been staying at the best western for the last few years due to location right in intercourse, but they have no pool ,and with kids the pool, petting zoo, ice cream bar, tennis court and basketball courts at the bird in hand inn are now the place I will stay. If anyone has any questions just send me a message.

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra cash I would stay in the pool building. But the older part is just as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have 3 small children, all 5 and under. They love the indoor pools and the playground. They also offer a package for one and two night stays that include meals. The restaurant is only a short walk across the property and there is a farmer's market next door. For those with a sweet tooth the bakery is just across the street. This is basically in the middle of amish country but close to the outlets and other restaurants. Going back again soon and staying in the family suite, Can't wait.

Room Tip: If you have children staying in the pool building will be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.