We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bird-In-Hand Family Inn to your Saves list
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pittsgrove, nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

I have been coming here for the last 10 years! It is a clean, comfortable, and fun place to stay. The help is friendly and helpful! They have undergone many renovations over the years, each making it bigger and better than before. It's a great value! I agree that it can get pretty noisy in the pool area, but there also are plenty of quiet times there as well. It's hard to get a reservation at times - as it is a quite popular destination for locals. It is Christian run and family oriented. Our Church's women's group meets there yearly - and continues to go back. They do an excellent job for conferences!

  • Liked — location & nice room
  • Disliked — no alcohol allowed (we enjoy an evening glass of wine)
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    99
    28
    16
    5
See reviews for
132
47
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed for two nights during our recent vacation. It was a great place. It had a pool, games room, gym, mini golf, etc. It was a bit loud but young children can be when they are having fun! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Lancaster area.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My family stayed here during a recent trip to Lancaster County, after
a recommendation from a friend. It's a very nice place. It has a mini
golf course attached, as well as a great restaurant. We ate here twice. Great location - not in the high traffic area of Route 30, but close to a lot of local attractions. The room was sufficient and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Im reviewing this hotel for the second time now based on my most recent stay. This time I stayed in a suite in the pool building. The pool renovations are complete and the pools are excellent. My room was fair. Total price with tax for one night in the suite was $209. The suite was spacious 2 double beds and a fold out couch, 2 tvs, refrigerator, microwave. My problem was the upkeep of the room, there were 3 places in the room with obvious tears in the wall paper, multliple stains on the walls, it had a large water stain in drop ceiling tiles. There were cookies half eaten on the floor near one of the beds. No matress pad on the beds and the sheets felt almost "greasy". If you stay in lots of hotels you know the difference between good and bad sheets, these werent the good ones. I do see that some problems I have noticed in other stays have been repaired, hopefully the trend continues. This is a great hotel for families to stay in, but with the development of nearby Route 30, this hotel should be more careful. I feel I did not get my $209 worth. I do really enjoy the hotel however, so much for families to do, pools, petting zoo, mini golf, ice cream parlor, playground, tennis and basketball. I really hope they improve.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — My room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We were there 7/20 - 7/22 for a family reunion of over 50 people spanning ages 1 - 89. I think everyone had a great time. Previous posters mentioned a pool rehab, but whatever they were doing it has been completed and my kids were very impressed - DS9 pronounced it better than the Wilderness Lodge at Disney! (I guess he was impressed that they had two indoor pools, an indoor hot tub, and an outdoor pool). Room was clean and nice for size & price. We had a meeting room for the reunion that was wonderful - had a kitchen off the room with microwave, coffee maker (commercial variety, big), full-size refrigerator with freezer that was great. Area very scenic, great to be able to walk to the fabulous farmer's market, several in our party took day trips to Hershey and other attractions in the area. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

We were so pleased with our stay here because of the location in the midst of the Amish, convenience of the Inn's restaurant, the miniature golf, the lake with a walk around it, watching an Amish farmer from our room, and sitting in the lounge chairs on the front lawn watching horse and buggies go by and the sunset, fireflies lighting up the nearby cornfields, the wonderful bus tour. It was a wonderful, relaxing experience.

  • Liked — Location, atomosphere, view
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay here for our full time in the area as they were booked.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Expect to see Amish horse-drawn buggies clip-clopping by, smiling faces, and bulging bellies. Everything about this hotel is superb and family-oriented. We often stay here in the wintertime, when a 5-minute trip to the delectable Miller's Smorgasboard makes for good comfort food. Kids will love the two huge, heated indoor pools when the snow is coming down outside the atrium windows. We love the giant hot tub--everything is always extremely clean and the people who run the Inn are lovely. This location is also great in the fall, when their petting zoo is open and the pick-your-own-pumpkin patch is bustling. The surrounding area makes for a great morning walk. You can also walk right next door to the Bird in Hand Farmer's Market for authentic Amish goodies.

The best part about this hotel is that an Amish bus tour is included free of charge--you'll be taken to a furniture shop, bakery, and quilt store. The tour guides are always knowlegable and the windows on the plush bus are huge, providing great views of the Amish farms. This is our favorite hotel of all.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.