We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Hauser's Tasting Room in Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hauser Estate Winery

Hauser Estate Winery
410 Cashtown Road, Biglerville, PA 17307
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Derwood, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Visit to Hauser's Tasting Room in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I went to Gettysburg to visit three tasting rooms of Wineries in the Mason-Dixon Wine Trail. Hauser's was a delight. The folks pouring were pleasant, knowledgeable, and friendly. Between us, we tasted eight wines and two hard ciders. I was very pleased to find a nice selection of off-dry wines. There was no tasting fee. They have tables and comfortable couches where you can enjoy a glass of their wine, which we did. It looks as though they may be opening an adjacent restaurant in the future, but for now they said folks are welcome to bring food, buy a glass of their wine and stay a while. In addition, they recommended The Café Amand for lunch, which was great. We are planning a trip to the Winery Tasting Room when the weather is warmer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    10
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Views are amazing; wines a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went there for the Mason-Dixon tour; I would love to return just to "hang out"; lots of people were there enjoying the scenery and drinking with friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tour de Tanks Stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This winery is in a beautiful area and I know once spring hits and everything turns green it will be a great place to go sit out and sip wine and take in the scenery. This was our first stop on the Tour de Tanks tour. I'm glad we took our friends with us as I'm unfamiliar with wines in general and just learning. While it was nice, unfortunately the wines were more champagne like and did not result in our buying any. However, for us with tickets they did have a great tomato soup made with their homemade hard cider, so I can't wait to make it for myself. I think as nice as this winery is, they should learn from their colleagues at Reid's Winery and create a better assortment of foods to go with their wines. After visiting Reids, Hausers was a bit of a disappointment. we will be back, though, if they have concerts because the view is spectacular!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice day trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were recommended to stop by this winery for great views and wine tasting. We were so glad to have stopped by this place. The tasting was free when we stopped by on a Saturday morning. The 360 views were a nice touch and the seating was plentiful. There was a nice choice of both red and white wine as well as two ciders. I left with 5 bottles, it was that good. I would also chose the garlic and chives cheese for a nice taste that is not too harsh on your breathe. It was very smooth and tasty with the crackers! We also got a private tour of the wine cellar/place where they barrel the wines and cider. They were very nice and informative. Stop by if you get a chance!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Everything Here is Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just happened to run into this winery on my way home from visiting an orchard in Biglerville. I saw the sign on the side of the road and decided to stop. It was well worth the stop. Everything at Hauser Estate Winery is delicious. I'm not a huge fan of Chardonnay, but their Chardonnay is far from average. Everything is far above average and several (including the Chambourcin) are over-the-top delicious. Not to mention the peaceful atmosphere and quaint patio where you can sit and enjoy a nice glass of wine along with food and good friends.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hauser Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Hauser Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hauser Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.