We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious scallops and bento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nectar

Nectar
1091 Lancaster Ave, Berwyn, PA 19312-1242
610-725-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nectar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Berwyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: SEPTA Berwyn and Daylesford Train Stations are 1-2 miles from the restaurant
Description: "Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon…" Dalai Lama.At Nectar, our love for cooking is deeply embedded in that belief.Nectar, a sensuous, sumptuous, savory experience, features the Asian-inspired-French-infused signature cuisine of star chef Patrick Feury.Nectar's eclectically creative menu offers the perfect amalgamation of classic French cooking with the freshest, finest, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. From wild Alaskan salmon to Arctic Char to grass-fed beef to free range poultry to locally grown, hand picked organic produce; Nectar is committed to selecting what is best for our patrons as well as our planet. Our dedication to quality is captured in our extensive collection of wines, craft beer and fresh nectar cocktails. We assiduously pair the varietal notes in our wines to consummately complement our aromatic dishes.Such attention to detail is also illustrated in Nectar's architectural combination of artistry and urban beauty. Designed by the New York-based David Rockwell Group, Nectar showcases a bi-level, stone structure with vaulted ceilings that give room to a towering 18-foot silk-screen Buddha. Resplendent in His robed repose, the Buddha's radiance is reflected in Nectar's impressive interior. The dining room's inviting ambiance of fiery orange glows and warm, lemon yellow and chocolate brown banquettes delivers a kindred spirit to Nectar's distinctive menu.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious scallops and bento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We're here from out of town and visited the restaurant after reading reviews on tripadvisor. It was a little fancier than what we were looking for (we're here for a soccer tournament), but the food was delicious and service was great. We were a bit underdressed, but they didn't make us feel unwelcomed or uncomfortable at all. I had the scallops which were recommended by the waiter. They were cooked perfectly with a nice crust on the outside and served with a chipotle sauce and homemade kimchee - a surprisingly good flavor combination. My daughter had the seafood bento for two which she enjoyed as an entrée. It was just enough. Hopefully she is well fueled for her tournament tomorrow!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wow, I loved it.
Wonderful service very nice . Foods are awsome . Very nice wines .The decor is really nice and I lved the music. Will need to go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Consistent and Very Good, but Also Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food at Nectar is always of high standards and freshness. They really do a nice job of integrating locally sourced foods into a creative menu. The sushi is good, but not fabulous. Overall, you will always enjoy Nectar. We're lucky to have such a cosmopolitan venue in the 'burbs, but you will pay metropolitan prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to Nectar just to relax after a difficult week. I surprised my husband by making reservations and not telling him where. We were seated right away near the window.
That turned out to be a very good thing.

My husband ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc - wish I'd thought to get the name (sorry) but
it was from New Zealand. A taste of his wine convinced me to order my own. Husband ordered
calamari and said they were excellent. They looked different from Italian fried calamari. They were very white..I suspect panko crumbs. The calamaricame with edamame. They were OK but I'm not a huge fan of edamame. The frizzled onions in the bowl were excellent, though.

Husband had the softshell crab prepared in a sauce with chilis. I'd like to be more helpful about how it was prepared but I don't eat softshelled crab and he's not the descriptive type, though he said it was very flavorful and had a bit of kick to it. My dish, however, was extraordinary. I had one of their specials - the pan seared scallops with black truffle risotto The scallops were big and fresh and perfectly browned and cooked. They were placed on a bed of the risotto with
an emulsion of what tasted like butter and cream with the perfect amount of truffle. I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

We will return - next time we'll save room for dessert. We've had dessert there before and it is as wonderful as the savories. Oh, and by the way when I mentioned sitting by the window....
the power went out early in the dinner. Nectar has some generators and it appeared that other diners were still getting their dinner but with the candles and sparse lighting, the ambience
was just fine with us. A lovely evening all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food - but needs a bit of a refurb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Always a wonderful meal, but the cvhairs are looking a bit knackered and the carpeting has seen better days. Time for a refurb Nectar......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nectar also viewed

 

Been to Nectar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nectar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.