We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfredo Italian byo

Alfredo Italian byo
668 Lancaster Ave, Berwyn, PA 19312-1673
610-640-2962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Berwyn
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Transit: Across from Berwyn Station
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to Alfreo's twice in the last two weeks. Both times the food was very good. I highly recommend the specials. While the menu items are good, we found the specials to be great. A homemade mozzarella with beets brought me back. Fortunately, it was once again on the specials list and was just as good a second time. All of the salads were fresh and the pot stickers very good. The only meal complaint was the salmon, which was a little dry and a bit over cooked. The crab ravioli, which was also a special was delish. Lobster ravioli was good and spinach ravioli in a white sauce was better the first time but acceptable the second trip. Dessert of apple pie and doughnuts with dipping sauce were okay. Glad to have finally tried this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Court House, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must! All the food is delicious and the prices are reasonable, big portion sizes. We all finished our plates. The gnocchi was homemade and you could taste the difference! We went with a group of 6. We shared appetizers, all had an entree and dessert with coffee. The bill was only $180! The byob definitely makes the difference. We left full and talked about when we would come back! I suggest a reservation for a bigger group, when we came at 6:30 there were about 5 tables but when we left the entire upstairs and downstairs was full and there was a wait!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenxiville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed a great dinner at Alfredo. I recommend the antipasto and the calamari which is grilled with white beans. It was different and very delicious! The veal, chicken and lobster ravoli were all great. Its a BYOB so you can get great food at a reasonable price.
We will go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic, Italian BYOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm a big fan of Alfredo and dine here often. It's BYOB so you can spend $20 on a good bottle of Chianti Classico to bring to the table without breaking the bank.

Favorites are the home-made Burrata - mozzarella with cream, which melts in your mouth. Despite what others say I'd avoid the calamari, which are pan-fried. Just not my thing.

For mains lobster ravioli, or home-made gnocchi win every time. Lap it up!

Atmosphere is good, with dark woods and brick and it's starting to get busy so you should book in advance on Urbanspoon.

Service can be a bit lackluster, as they sometimes have too many busboys and not enough servers, but that's life at $30 a head for 3 courses.

To park there, take the turning from Route 30 (Lancaster) up Main Ave, take the first right and park in the car-park at the back, anywhere is fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ate here on a Saturday night in November with 3 friends. It wasn't bad, but nothing special. Prices are reasonable. Surprised at the good reviews for the calamari appetizer. Menu advertised it as "charred calamari." It was more like oily rings of calamari that tasted more fishy than normal. It was a generous portion though. Restaurant was extremely loud and tables were very close together. Luckily we had a table in a corner. Don't know that I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfredo Italian byo also viewed

 

Been to Alfredo Italian byo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfredo Italian byo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.