We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food Casual Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rickett's Glen Hotel

Rickett's Glen Hotel
221 State Route 118, Benton, PA 17814-8472
570-477-3656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Benton
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Food Casual Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have found one of the best casual dining restaurants in the area. Initially we needed to find a meeting place for dinner between Williamsport and Dallas PA in the middle of March. We were a little taken back on how casual it really is but it was a clean and a friendly environment. As we looked at the menu we saw things that were on it that one doesn't usually see often, such as Liver and Onions, a choice of a 5 oz or 8 oz Fillet (maybe in a steak house but in the middle of nowhere) and very reasonable prices..There is a nice variety on the menu. There is salmon, haddock, chicken, veal, pork and several different cuts of beef. All entrees come with a choice of salad or fruit cup, the vegetable of the day, and a choice of potatoe. I ordered the 5 0z fillet wrapped in bacon. It came covered in mushrooms. It was one of the best steaks I have ever had. We have gone back for dinner a couple of times since our first experience there. My husband is very picky about New England Clam chowder and he feels they have the best he has ever had. Our friends ordered and order of the mussles and and an order of the steamers for an appetizer and said they were "outstanding". The portions are a nice size. Donna was our server each time and she is great. She works hard at making sure the customers have a nice dining experience.
The Rickett's Glen Hotel is a fun dining experience where you can sit back and relax and enjoy good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for gourmet fare things can be a bit hit and miss. At times there are some gems to be had but in general it's good if not spectacular food, generous portions and decent service. There is a deck for good weather dining but its proximity to route 118 can make that venue somewhat noisy. The only real drawbacks inside are the proximity of the tables and the sometime raucousness from the apparently locals-packed bar area, which is fairly close and open to the dining area.

All-in-all the place IS worth a visit just don't expect to have your socks knocked off every time you dine there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We Hiked, We Ate, We Slept and Hiked Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After years of daytripping to Rickett's Glen, and camping at RG, we decided to go large and stay at the Hotel. We were quite pleased. We opted for the room with the private bath. The room was huge. I wondered if at some point another bed might have been in the mix. We checked in, hiked the lowers Falls, and returned to relax and have dinner in the cozy dining room.

Our tasty meals were enough to serve an army! We made the mistake of ordering the mashed potato log. Too delicious and way filling! After dinner, we were ready to pass out. The bed was comfy. The main problem; the heat was too high for us. We live in an old 1840 house and keep the heat waaaay low. The answer? I opened the window. Simple.

Still, after years of day trips or camping, the hotel was a nice treat. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Who would have thunk?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Needing to grab a bite before heading back to Philly, we stopped here a couple of weeks ago and were completely surprised. The clam chowder is the best either of us had ever had and both my fiance and I were left saying, we wish this was closer to Philly. My fiance's sandwich was excellent - grilled just right. My salad was fine, nothing real special. The special part was the CHOWDER! Pretty good beer selection for a out-of-the-way place too! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Overall, a decent restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose this restaurant because from our research it seemed it was probably the best restaurant near Ricketts Glen State Park. We would describe the food and ambiance here as similar to a diner. It is not fine dining by any stretch. It is essentially meat-and-potato American food with a couple basic international dishes thrown in. Some things were very good, others so-so. The jambalaya soup was excellent - very rich and flavorful. My eggplant parmesan entree was also excellent. Hubby said his stuffed fish entree was very good - not a lot of seasonings, but the crabmeat stuffing was generous. The salads were very basic iceberg-type fare, the bread bowl was filled with non-descript generic store-bought rolls and packaged crackers. My dessert (a turtle brownie with ice cream) looked delicious, but suprisingly was so bland and flavorless, I didn't even eat half of it. The ice cream accompanying it was low quality. The service was friendly and attentive. The decor was very basic, non-descript and conventional. Casual clothing is best. Dressy clothes would be out of place here.

All in all, considering the area, this is a good restaurant if you keep your expectations in check.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rickett's Glen Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Rickett's Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rickett's Glen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.