We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we hoped for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
240 Main Street, Benton, PA 17814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Benton B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exactly what we hoped for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here and hiked the trails at Ricketts Glen. Our selection of this inn was based on the proximity to the park and the less cluttered decor and updated rooms shown on the website.

The price is outstanding (reflecting the rural area) and the service was excellent. Breakfast is a shared table with a single seating of all the current guests and there is plenty of food (more than we could ever eat). She typically served us beverages (juice, coffee, and tea), an egg dish, fruit, huge muffins, a breakfast meat, and a breakfast dish such as pancakes or french toast. She brought Ziploc bags out to take the remaining muffins to go and there was always leftover food. The hostess was helpful with (positive) stories of past guests, area activities, tips, and events but did not otherwise demand conversation, which I tend to prefer.

The rooms themselves are comfortable (although ours was a little warm when the weather turned out to be warm for the season and we couldn't adjust the heat ourselves) with a large, renovated bathroom. Our footed tub was deep and never ran out of hot water! There is a TV with a few cable channels and we were able to access free wifi in our room. The decor, while antiques, is not stuffy, cluttered, or frilly. It is a house and, as such, you will hear guests in the hallways and the phone ringing and so forth. This never bothered us but don't expect absolute privacy.

Ricketts Glen is a fantastic treasure and very close to the inn. We ventured out of Benton for all of our non-breakfast meals because of timing (places in Benton close early!) and dietary preferences/restrictions, so it ended up being a 15-20 minute drive to dinner to give us more options.

We'll be back. It's close to Philadelphia while still getting into a whole different pace and environment, well-priced, and an "easy" place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found the Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast a nice place to stay overall. It didn't blow us away, but overall we rated it as good. There were pluses and minuses. On the plus side: the location is convenient to Ricketts Glen State Park, which is the main attraction in the area (about 9 miles away). The hosts are friendly and serve a really nice breakfast - everything is homemade and there is a large variety of things to choose from including eggs, sausage, muffins, granola, yogurt and more. Host Sharon even gave us some muffins to take with us (nice touch!) The room was nice overall and the bathroom was particularly nice - newly remodeled. We stayed in the Princess Di room, which was the most expensive room (it had a whirlpool tub). The common areas of the house were clean, attractive and cozy.

On the downside, the B&B is on a busy main road, so there is a lot of traffic noise. The town where the B&B is located is okay, but nothing particulary appealing. The Princess Di room is right in the front of the house, so it gets the most traffic noise. The exterior of the B&B is pretty run down with lots of cracking and peeling paint. It looks like it could have used a paint job 15 years ago. In fact, we drove by the B&B at first because it looked too shabby to be a bed and breakfast. There could be a little more attention to detail in some areas - we had no towels in our room and had to ask for them, no ice was available (although the host kindly offered to go out and get some), there were only a couple hangers in the closet and they were mismatched, cheap hangers (wire, plastic), the information packet we were given (info on restaurants in the area, etc.) was helpful, but filled with wrinkled, crumpled papers that had obviously been through many guests. Our room was in good condition, but some areas of woodwork had spackled areas that had not been repainted. The bed was dressed with average-quality linens. We noticed lots of trash outside in the back where the parking area was. None of these little things ruined our stay, but they were noticeable and we think worth mentioning. I think with bed & breakfasts, it's all in the details, and people who stay at bed & breakfasts are looking to feel a little pampered, so attention to the small details makes a big impact.

Room Tip: If you appreciate quiet, ask for a room toward the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at The Mattress and Muffin B & B was really nice. We (three) friends went there for a weekend girls get-away. The online pictures sold us. Every room was extremely neat, clean and comfortable. All of the bathrooms are updated and no one needs to share. We stayed in Elizabeth Taylor Rose, the Violet and the Parrot Tulip rooms. We all loved our rooms. The owners' were warm and welcoming. Our home cooked breakfast including the muffins was a real treat. On the menu that day we had fresh egg soufle, french toast, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola , coffee, tea and oj. It was the best meal we had during our stay in Benton. The outside could use a little trim paint but once you step inside it is wonderful. I would definitely stay again. Thank you Sharon and Dan

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear a quiet it is Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harleysville, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here overnight, then got up and hiked the trails @ Ricketts Glen! It was a great place to stay- everything was clean and comfortable! The hostess is so nice and friendly, and her breakfasts' were amazing! (ricketts glen is only about 15 min. away, so it is a great location for that!)

Room Tip: I will say, we did stay downstairs, and you could hear cooking going on in the kitchen, but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a charming B&B, and very comfortable. The owners were lovely, and fresh muffins wafted all through the house! My partner and I stayed here one weekend as we made our way to Ricketts Glen State Park and hiked 4 hours. But the most notable features here are their bathrooms! We got to peek in all 4 rooms, and the bathrooms were either newly refinished or restored, many with state of the art tubs, or in our case, a beautiful Victorian claw-foot tub, in a huge bathroom with all the features. I didn't want to leave, and made sure that bubble-baths were a-plenty!

Room Tip: Brass room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here on the way up to Ricketts Glen State Park and loved it. My family has been visiting Ricketts Glen for years and I've stayed in at least 3 or 4 other small hotels or B&Bs in the area and the Mattress and Muffin is by far the best. Our room looked even better in real life than it did on the website - a very nice surprise. We didn't make it into town until almost 11 pm and the hosts were very accomodating and friendly and stayed up to let us in. Breakfast was amazing and included home made muffins, egg soufle, bacon, toast, and a wide assortment of teas, juices, and coffee. Considering the area, friendliness of the hosts, cleanliness and price, it's 5 stars.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here while hiking and kayaking at Rickett's Glen and enjoyed it very much. Sharon and Dan really made us feel at home and they had lots of information about the area. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choices including the best muffins I've ever had. Thank you both for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast

Address: 240 Main Street, Benton, PA 17814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Benton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Victorian amongst an art gallery, antiques, country store, golf, fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mattress And Muffin Bed And Breakfast
Mattress And Muffin Hotel Benton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.