We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously, go for the bathrooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
240 Main Street, Benton, PA 17814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Benton B&B and Inns
Collingswood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Seriously, go for the bathrooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a charming B&B, and very comfortable. The owners were lovely, and fresh muffins wafted all through the house! My partner and I stayed here one weekend as we made our way to Ricketts Glen State Park and hiked 4 hours. But the most notable features here are their bathrooms! We got to peek in all 4 rooms, and the bathrooms were either newly refinished or restored, many with state of the art tubs, or in our case, a beautiful Victorian claw-foot tub, in a huge bathroom with all the features. I didn't want to leave, and made sure that bubble-baths were a-plenty!

Room Tip: Brass room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here on the way up to Ricketts Glen State Park and loved it. My family has been visiting Ricketts Glen for years and I've stayed in at least 3 or 4 other small hotels or B&Bs in the area and the Mattress and Muffin is by far the best. Our room looked even better in real life than it did on the website - a very nice surprise. We didn't make it into town until almost 11 pm and the hosts were very accomodating and friendly and stayed up to let us in. Breakfast was amazing and included home made muffins, egg soufle, bacon, toast, and a wide assortment of teas, juices, and coffee. Considering the area, friendliness of the hosts, cleanliness and price, it's 5 stars.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here while hiking and kayaking at Rickett's Glen and enjoyed it very much. Sharon and Dan really made us feel at home and they had lots of information about the area. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choices including the best muffins I've ever had. Thank you both for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is a beautiful home in Benton, PA. Your hosts, Sharon and Dan are very personable people and make you feel at home. Sharon's breakfast is beyond words. There is so much more than muffins (not to mention those are huge and delicious). She tries to accommodate individual tastes from granola and yogurt to egg dishes and bacon. Forget about needing much for lunch. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antique furniture and very comfortable. The inn is located on the main road through town, an easy drive to Ricketts Glen or Worlds End State Parks. We had an enjoyable stay and it was so nice to come back to a clean home after days of hiking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Mattress and Muffin was an unexpected delight. The B&B is located in Benton PA and it is really in the middle of no where. Despite its rustic location, the room was renovated and the bathroom is brand new. Hostess Sharon is wonderful and she makes really good bake goods and very knowledgeable about the town, the trails - she even packed us some muffins to go when we went hiking.

This is a great place for a weekend - especially if you want to leave the city and experience what I call "wilderness" but that might not be the case for others. Make sure you go to the antique shop next door to the B&B - we found some nice pieces there that would have cost a lot more in New York. Additionally, you can buy Sharon's bake goods in the coffee shop that is connected to the B&B and Antique store.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady,NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The owners were extremely hospitable. The B&B is less than a half-hour from Rickett's Glen State Park, a treasure for hikers in a rural part of Northeastern Pennsylvania. The room and double bed were comfortable, though if you're sensitive to street noise bring earplugs -- we could hear traffic on Main Street/Highway 487 that the B&B is on. Our private bathroom had a huge clawfoot tub and a very good stall shower. There's a comfortable lounge with TV for guests. Breakfast was excellent -- home-made blueberry muffins, freshly baked egg souffle -- and our hostess couldn't have been more accommodating. I can recommend Stervig's, a nice family restaurant where splitting a single dinner more than sufficed for two of us.
.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Though we only stayed one night, we slept wonderfully in an extremely clean, comfortable room. The bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was was quite good & the owners are very accommodating & amicable.

We stayed in the "Violet" room. The decor is a little mismatched in places; Mainly Victorian stylin' with oddly inserted modern details, like the minimalist square bathroom sink & large brown textured bathroom floor tiles. No matter, though, as this place was terrific & there were plenty of nice details.

The hostess was gracious in staying up a little late as our arrival was delayed several hours. She also offered a tray to carry some breakfast items up to my fellow traveler who refused to leave the super-comfortable bed for the 8AM breakfast: Quite understandable as the bed was a cloud.

Overall, excellent experience. Enjoyed the porch in the evening & the surrounding streets in the morning light. The home is on Main Street, which is a bit loud in the day as traffic travels up to 45 mph and it is the main conduit to Rickett's Glen State Park. But, at night & early morning it was extremely quiet & that's what really mattered to us. To be clear, in our room we could NOT hear the traffic. In fact, we slept with a window open, falling asleep to the lovely sound of crickets and the gentle breeze.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast

Address: 240 Main Street, Benton, PA 17814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Benton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Victorian amongst an art gallery, antiques, country store, golf, fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mattress And Muffin Bed And Breakfast
Mattress And Muffin Hotel Benton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.