We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful location and great place to see Elk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Visitor Center

Elk Country Visitor Center
134 Homestead Drive, Benezett, PA 15821
814-787-5167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Benezett
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Elk Country Visitor Center is a premier location for viewing elk and other wildlife in Pennsylvania. The center offers interactive exhibits and displays and encourages a 'hands on' experience. Our 4D story theater immerses guest in the history of Pennsylvania elk and the Pennsylvania Wilds. Our gift shop sell Made in the USA product, many of those by local artisans and product makers. The best time to view is early in the morning or in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and you can't be promised you will see them.
Benezette, PA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beatiful location and great place to see Elk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location for this place is great. Many people report seeing the elk on a daily basis here. The movie is really nice and the building is beautiful inside and out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is just an unreal experience. The horse drawn carriage ride well worth the $10 a person. It is almost hard to believe the elk are wild but they are and so incredible to see. The volunteers at the center are so nice-just an awesome experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The elk are not the only thing full of bull.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The website states emphatically that the best times for viewing are early morning and before dusk. I called the visitor center yesterday and specifically asked if arriving by 9 a.m. was too late. The answer was a definite yes, and that we needed to be there by 8 a.m. at the very latest. We re-arranged our schedule so we would arrive by 7 a.m. We were met by a fog bank that was still there 90 minutes later. The only thing we saw were 9 elk shrouded in fog one hundred yards away. In talking to "locals" who live in the surrounding hills, we discovered the elk are viewable any time of the day, especially this time of year (September) when the weather doesn't get hot. And, the locals say, early morning is in fact the worst time to be there due to incessant fog.

Thanks for the misinformation, visitors center. You need to re-train your personnel and update your website to make your comments weather-dependent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We sorry you were upset that it was foggy during your visit to the Center. That is beyond our control. Fog is an act of nature and if you would have drove to another viewing are, perhaps the fog would have been lifted there. However, your information is completely inaccurate. The elk are NOT visible all day long. Our staff was completely accurate in their information. Best viewing is in the early morning hours and the hours before dark. Please feel free to visit the Pennsylvania Game Commission site for verification. Elk in Pennsylvania are wild animals, neither we, nor anyone else can control when they are visible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If You Want to See Elk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the time to go as September is mating season. The visitor's center is three years old this October. It's a very nice center with lots of information about the elk. Also a gift shop. There are walking paths to see the elk. Sometimes you don't even have to walk all you have to do is get out of your car. Best time to see the elk is early evening. A must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A memory that will last a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited with work colleagues during mating season (mid September). From the moment I arrived the staff was so friendly, I think they were mostly volunteers. Everyone was willing to answer questions and suggest walking paths and things to do. All had stories to tell about elk. Let me tell you though, the real treat is opening your ears. Elk bugling during this mating season is like natures symphony. I wont ever forget it. Inside the center, it was like large luxury cabin. So much to read and see and learn. Excellent bathrooms, always a plus. Again, guides everywhere who were so helpful. Watched all the movies. And the best thing ever - a must do - take the horse drawn carriage ride out into the fields where the elk were doing their thing. The guide Rawley, was awesome. The bulls fought for the cows and bugled (a high pitched shrill they make) right in front of us, within feet. Yes they also mated. It was beautiful and breathtaking. I swear I had no strong interest in going but after I did, I cant get this experience off my mind. I want to share it with the world. Go here once in your life in mid September, I swear you will not be disappointed. Yes the elk are around all year but you have to hear the bugle. Benezette - think tv show Northern Exposure. I want to move there now. NO cell service = perfect!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Country Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Elk Country Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.