We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Visitor Center

Elk Country Visitor Center
134 Homestead Drive, Benezett, PA 15821
814-787-5167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Benezett
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Elk Country Visitor Center is a premier location for viewing elk and other wildlife in Pennsylvania. The center offers interactive exhibits and displays and encourages a 'hands on' experience. Our 4D story theater immerses guest in the history of Pennsylvania elk and the Pennsylvania Wilds. Our gift shop sell Made in the USA product, many of those by local artisans and product makers. The best time to view is early in the morning or in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and you can't be promised you will see them.
Macungie, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The visitor's center is truly beautiful and was very engaging for my 12-year-old son. The staff at the gift shop was very helpful in letting us know when would be a good time to view the elk.

We ended up going to Benezette Wines for a tasting and to the Bennezette Hotel for dinner before we came back to view the elk. There were two in the cemetery on the way to the visitor's center and we had a truly magical experience with a young bull.

If you are interested in learning about elk or viewing them in the wild, I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Elk Country Visitor Center, we are excited that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    30
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another great visit to the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my second visit to the Elk Country Visitor Center. It is a little out of the way to find, but it is an awesome place. They plant the nearby fields so the elk tend to hang our around the center. My first visit was in October 2011 and the elk were everywhere. The staff told us fall was a very active time to visit. This visit was not as plentiful- we saw 4 "cows" in the field and at least another 3-4 in the woods behind the center. We also saw deer and chipmunks. The visitor center is beautiful with clean flushing toilets (sorry, a huge bonus to me). If you don't want to walk outside they have video cameras where you can zoom in and watch the elk. Plus the whole thing is free (I didn't check out the videos other people referred to). If you are in the area, it is worth the stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We appreciate return visits from our Elk Country friends. We hope you have a great time each time you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go early!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

No elk to be seen unfortunately, but we did not do the hikes to the viewing blinds due to time constraints. $3.00 to see the 4D video, which we also missed. The setting is really nice and the centre was very impressive and interactive. Come early for best sightings, they open at 8am.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We hope the next time you are in the Pennsylvania Wilds you will stop back to see us at the Elk Country Visitor Center. The best times to view are early in the morning just after day light and in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and we can't promise you will see them, but we can give you some tips to improve your chances. They are often seen along the roadways and in open areas as the evening cool off. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmorePA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Elk ...Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've been to this area and were fortunate to not only see elk but also to here their bugling sounds one fall! The Visitor Center wasn't there yet so we made sure to visit this trip and they did a beautiful job! Great for families to appreciate the area and wildlife!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We hope you had a great time in Pennsylvania's elk country and during your visit to the Elk Country Visitor Center. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time here, even though we didn't see Elks here as it was hot and we came in the afternoon when there wasn't any activity because if the heat so they were hiding away! The center has some good information and the film is extra but we didn't mind paying as it all helps with keeping the park as it is which is really important for conservation. Film was outdated but they do their best with resources available and it was very interesting so I would encourage you to pay! We did see Elk later in the day on our route home so that was great

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Country Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Elk Country Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.