We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great road trip stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3482 Benner Pike, Bellefonte, PA 16823   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellefonte
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great road trip stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We always do our homework when searching for an affordable but safe motel stopover during a road trip, and the reviews helped us to choose this Econo Lodge. Have to say, for a one star motel, it was better than expected. Friendly front desk staff and a warm room on a very cold night. The room and bathroom were lacking in the cleanliness department, but it wasn't horrible. Things like a dirty bathtub, mold in the corners of the tub, and stained sheets, easily fixable things that they should address. Continental breakfast was better than nothing! Bottom line, we'd stay there again if we found ourselves looking for a quick stay over on a road trip but wouldn't necessarily recommend it to a friend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I'm impressed for the price. Room clean and the staff is friendly. They offer a Flat screen tv, fridge, microwave. Newer bathrooms! Free continental breakfast!! Can't beat it!
Would recommend this hotel. Definitely great deal for the low price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our company has been staying here since July and will probably be here until sometime November, and maybe even a short return in the Spring. The rooms are clean and the cleaning staff always takes good care of us, keeping up on our room. The bathrooms have been recently updated. The prices are great, they also offer a free continental breakfast in the morning. The rooms have an AC/heat unit, microwave, fridge, coat hanger area, and a desk, on top of everything else (bed, dresser, nightstands, lamps, etc...). The staff and especially the owners make this a better place. They go above and beyond to make sure everyone's needs are met. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for you stay around the State College area!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed here when attending football games numerous times. The rates are at least $100 per night cheaper than similar lodging in State College. It's an easy 10 minute drive to the stadium. The property has been owned and managed by the same family for years. When I call for football lodging reservations each year, I speak to the same person. They welcome us back and know our room preferences year after year. The owners are friendly and accommodating to our needs. This is an older property with a retro feel. Renovations are being done each year. We had a non smoking king room. The room had new furnishings, flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and an updated bathroom. The bathroom does not have an exhaust fan, so it does get a bit steamy even with the window open. We spend most of our time in State College, but Bellfonte has a nice historic area. We prefer to save money and stay here when attending football games. The savings pay for lots of extra souvenirs, food and creamery ice cream!

Room Tip: Parking is right outside of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a room last minute online and drove 3 1/2 hours to this place not knowing what to expect. I was impressed, clean rooms w/small refrigerator, microwave, nice king size bed, and flat screen tv. The bathroom was clean with granite through out. Nice views of the mountains. I came to to central pa to get certified for my cdl. First time there probably never going back, but if I had to I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This motel was an older property with some renovation. We had a small room with somewhat low end dated furniture. The twin beds were comfortable and the room was clean and neat. The property was close to the highway and the staff was friendly and helpful. The overall experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

You can get rooms closer to psu but your gonna pay more or be out of luck. We tailgated with friends all day at their RV. It was a good place to just shower and get sleep. The rooms were outdated not the cleanest. The air was poor in there. Stuffy whether you have something turned on or off. I have to say I did sleep on top of these sheets and bed spread. A little nervous.

Room Tip: You might want to bring your own sheets or blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Motel

Address: 3482 Benner Pike, Bellefonte, PA 16823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bellefonte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellefonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.