We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Bedford Springs Resort to your Saves list
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Only stayed here one night (hard to get babysitters for two young children), but it was wonderful! Very relaxing. Ate at 1796, which was excellent. Would definitely return, preferably for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    351
    83
    32
    19
See reviews for
359
943
40
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by my visit to Bedford Springs Resort. The property is gorgeous and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part of the trip? The spa. Amazing. In fact, I could go for a dip in the springs right now...

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Bedford Springs. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. The resort is a living breathing museum of American history dating back to 1796 with modern rooms, fantastic restaurants, a great SPA experience, and most importantly excellent customer service.

We ate every meal on-site at the hotel and found the 1796 Room food to be the best, closely followed by The Crystal Room. The Crystal Room breakfast buffet selection was amazing. I've eaten in hotel restaurants all over the world and I'd say my dining experience at the Bedford overall ranks in the Top 3 on my list.

The surrounding hiking trails (I don't golf but they do have an 18 hole course) were a great experience as well. I can't find any faults with our trip with the exception of 2 minor things; we did have to wait 20 minutes to check in to our room and the Frontier Tavern food was good but doesn't compare to the other resort restaurants.

Definitely looking forward to a return stay with the kids in tow sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed taking a step back in time at the Omni Bedford Springs. Thank you for sharing all of your kind words and we look forward to having your whole family stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

HOTEL
I stayed at the Omni Bedford Springs for a mid-week getaway in the last week of March. The hotel is gorgeous inside and not at all a typical "box" resort. The room was modern, clean and up to date. The balcony looked out on the golf course but it was too cold to sit outside and relax with a book and glass of wine. We did take a quick hike through the grounds but nothing extensive due to the weather.

Because it was spring break there were a ton of children under the age of 10 there. It was almost impossible to find a quiet spot to sit and read or relax without the shouting of kids. The indoor pool was really nice, but loud, since it was indoors and the kids were playing. I'm not anti-kid... just pro-quiet when I'm relaxing.

FOOD
The food at the hotel, in my opinion, was horrible. The meatloaf sandwich at the Tavern seemed like a boxed version I could get in a grocery store. The upside to that meal were the chips - only thing worth eating. I also ordered a brownie sundae one night to celebrate my birthday and the brownie itself was hard as a rock and flavorless. I wouldn't bother with the food there. Too expensive, for nothing great.

There is a place about 10 minutes from Omni called Horn O' Plenty which is a farm-to-table "freshtaurant" with good prices and BYOB. They own a farm in the area and use their fresh produce to make all of the meals. I ordered the chicken pot pie and it was made right on the spot while I waited. It's a bit of a longer wait but so totally worth it. I dream about how delicious all of the things were. DEF GO HERE FOR EATS.

SPA
I visited the spa once during my trip and got the Peppermint Lavender body scrub which I thought was incredibly overpriced (at $150). I chose this scrub, out of the many offered, because I thought it would be a great fragrance and make my skin tingly. During the hour, I didn't once smell anything peppermint or lavender and she barely scrubbed me. It was really disappointing. My husband had gotten a pedicure though and loved it! The aromatherapy steam room (eucalyptus) was amazing and probably my most favorite part of the spa.


Overall, I would definitely come back again if I was offered another Groupon deal in the summer months. It would be more fun to have access to all the hiking trails during good weather along with the outdoor pool and golf. But I still wouldn't eat there... too much money, not enough delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to read all of your feedback from your stay at the Omni Bedford Springs. We loved hearing what you liked about the resort but also appreciate the opportunity to understand how we can improve our services. We are happy to say that we have revisited the menus in all of our restaurants and if you return we think you will enjoy our new selections. We would like to apologize that your Body Scrub wasn't what you were expecting. If you return, please don't hesitate to let us know what you are hoping for in a treatment so that we can make sure we are meeting all of your expectations. Thank you again for all of your comments and we hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. The staff always greeted us and made sure we were comfortable. The turn down service was a nice surprise. We took full advantage of the Spa. This was an amazing experience. The staff was professional and went out of their way to make you comfortable. Our only minor issue was the shower head in our bathroom. It made an awful noise and it was not the best shower. This is minor though. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at the Omni Bedford Springs so much that you plan to return. If you return, please let us know if there is any issue, no matter how small and we will be happy to address it for you. Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about the staff at the omni Bedford springs! The resort is gorgeous and the rooms are very charming. This was our first stay and it was better than we expecting. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel stay was a fabulous getaway place. Very relaxing atmosphere. I loved the historic aspect of the hotel. Was absolutely great that it was brought back to life and retained so much historical value. I loved watching the inroom video about the restoration - was very interesting and great to see in this time of throwing away things and building modern hotels. I loved the spa treatments and service was great. The room, albeit very far from the front desk, was very clean and comfortable. The overall experience of the stay was beyond my expectations. I am recommending this to all my girlfriends for a great spot to have a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Bedford Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.