We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another dreamy weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Bedford Springs Resort to your Saves list
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another dreamy weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This has become our favorite getaway place. We enjoyed a lovely quiet couple of nights floating in the pool and enjoying great service. This visit we found a wonderful quirky restaurant about 15 minutes from the resort, Horn O Plenty. We also very much enjoyed the National Museum of the American Coverlet (a bit of a surprise). We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are honored to be your favorite getaway place. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    399
    92
    36
    23
See reviews for
414
1,052
42
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, PA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this resort and found it a very enjoyable weekend.
It is one of those places in the middle of nowhere, you can't even see the resort until you have turned off the main road. You come around the side of a mountain and wow, what an impressive structure. They have a huge Christmas tree with white lights in front of the resort that looks the size of the tree at Rockafeller Plaza in New York.
They told us the resort is about 1/4 mile long and has multiple buildings all linked together making up the resort. Some of the wings have big porches (hundreds of feet long) with rocking chairs and tables, ours had a French Balcony.
We were in the Springs Eternal wing on the top floor in a king bedded room. Room size is great with robes, ironing board and safe in the closet. Complimentary coffee and water in the room and a small frig. Very comfortable room.
We did not try the spa or indoor pool but they were pretty impressive looking.
Everywhere you look there is something historical hanging on the wall or in a bookcase. You could spend days looking at things from the 1800's.
Someone mentioned that they have had 11 U.S. Presidents stay at the resort.
The Tavern is cosy with multiple levels so you can see out the windows and enjoy the beauty of the grounds. Numerous choices of beer on tap and wine by the glass. You can eat at the bar or one of the tables in the tavern. They also offer 2 more upscale restuarants, menu's looked good but we only did 1 meal at the hotel.
Staff from the valet parking to porters, front desk staff and wait staff were all very friendly and wanted to know if they could answer any questions or give directions.
Remember that this is a renovated very old hotel and there will be some squeeks in the floor, hall noise, etc. but it did not effect our enjoyment of the resort.
We will definately go back for another weekend stay.
The town of Bedford which is about 2 miles away has some interesting stores and restuarants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Bedford Springs. We are glad you had a great stay and we loved reading your appreciation of our history. We hope you will once again consider us the next time you are in need of a relaxing weekend away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I returned this afternoon from a delightful two night stay the Omni Bedford Springs. What stood out the most was the outstanding customer service. Every employee that we encountered was friendly and went one step beyond what we could imagine to make our stay comfortable. The purpose of our trip was a getaway to do absolutely nothing and we were very comfortable doing that at the Omni. We were able to grab quick breakfasts at Che Sara Sara and we enjoyed cocktails and dinners at the Tavern. We lounged in a few of the many comfortable seating areas throughout the resort. While spending an evening reading by one of the fires, it became a little chilly so the easiest fix was to grab a couple of towels from the pool and wrap up. Within a short period of time an employee offered us blankets (I’m not sure if it was 100% out of pure niceness or because we looked a bit off with white and blue towels wrapped around us). The valet parking folks were very nice and efficient. The housekeeper was very kind and provided evening turn down (the only negative we could possibly say is that there were no mints on our pillows at turn down). The room was very clean and comfortable.
Because the wet areas are not open at the Spa and the prices are a bit high for the current lack of amenities, we did not have spa treatments, but we do hope to make a trip back when the spa is up to full speed; I can only imagine that the Spa would be as wonderful as everything else at the resort.
There are many other things that can be done at the Omni, it was the perfect fit for 48 hours of chill time with none of the responsibilities of home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your 48 hours of relaxation at the Omni Bedford Springs. It was our pleasure to go above and beyond to make sure you had a great stay and look forward to having you try the Spa during your next visit. You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and there are wonderful old pictures throughout. The rooms are spacious and the beds and pillows are so comfortable! We, however, could hear people walking around above us, and could even hear some of their conversation. Spa services were very limited when we were there, and are expensive. There is a $25 room charge per room at checkout. I have no idea what it is for. It is a bit of a drive into town, but the valets are pretty good about getting cars quickly. (I highly recommend Horn O Plenty for lunch and LifeStyles for dinner!)
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our resort on TripAdvisor! We apologize that the $25 Resort Fee wasn't more clearly explained. It covers valet parking, wireless internet, bottled water, local phone calls, and access to the pools and fitness center. We are glad you had a good stay and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a huge fan of Omni, this jewel of their property crowns was a huge disappointment. Service is uneven; leading me to conclude that the accolades and praise heaped on the resort have resulted in complacency when it comes to service. First, the good: Amazing restoration to a historic property from the exterior of the building to the furnishings and design elements in the public spaces. The quality of food at the restaurants is exceptional: I had an amazing dinner and breakfast at the Crystal Room (a delightful Eggs Benedict...highly recommended). The not so good: As an Omni Select Guest, I have become accustomed to receiving an email from the loyalty manager the day prior to my arrival. That did not happen and perhaps would've allowed me to take advantage of the spa and other resort activities (i.e., more revenue for the resort). I can respect the fact that an early check-in is not always possible, but I do expect that a room is available at the agreed upon time of 3 pm. Although Colleen at the front desk was able to find something for me, I don't feel that I should have to be assertive in this regard. Really, I don't care for excuses. If you can't turn rooms around by 3 pm, then you need to adjust the time to 4 pm. Turndown service? Nope. But, by far the worst part of the trip was the horror that is the valet situation. One should not have to wait 25 minutes for the car and then not receive even a cursory recognition of appreciation as extended to other guests (someone lost out on the generous tip in my hand as my car was just left sitting while the staff ran around spitting saliva on the sidewalk). I raise no issue with the prices, but it is imperative that the property deliver on its promises and work a little harder on customer service. Seriously, this was an Omni?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spend two nights here at end of October. Even though it was the weekend that Sandy came through, being here was a warm and cozy delight. And we did get out for a couple invigorating walks on some of the many trails.

Selecting the room was challenging, as we hadn't been there before and so didn't know the layout of the hotel and which rooms faced where, etc. The Omni central reservations were not able to help. Selected what we thought was a premium room, and while it was large and comfortable, it did not have a porch and being in a corner (which the reservationist said was a good thing) meant that we looked out over the tar-papered roof of the swimming pool. It was at the end of the hall and the porter told us to use the service elevator for quicker access to restaurants, etc. He was right.

in any case, the main activities planned were the spa and the restaurants. The Spa was wonderful, with friendly and helpful staff, relaxing and comfortable facilities, and other amenities. Need to book most things in advance, for sure.

Tried all the dining choices. 1796 Room was probably the most enjoyable, in that the food was very good, the atmosphere was casual and lively, and the prices were appropriate. The Crystal Room was quite beautiful, but the food was no better than the 1796 Room and more expensive. The first night the firepit was lit and having after-dinner drinks around it with other guests was fun. The Frontier Tavern had good drinks and sandwiches. And Che Sara Sara was good for grab and go. The breakfast in the Crystal Room had all one needed to eat for the rest of the day. Definitely want to go back in warmer, drier weather and try the golf course.

Room Tip: Try to find a good map of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay but apologize that reservations wasn't more helpful with your room choice. We will review all of our descriptions with them to make sure they fully understand what can be expected with each room type. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience and we look forward to your warm weather visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the front door, to the moment we left his hotel, "all" the staff we met was more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay a positive experience. We have stayed at the Omni Bedford Springs on multiple occasions. Always a five star experience. A great and relaxing hotel to recharge your batteries. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are delighted that we are your go to place when you are in need of a recharge. We appreciate all of the kind words you shared on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Bedford Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.