We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Bedford Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Pittsburgh PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and there are wonderful old pictures throughout. The rooms are spacious and the beds and pillows are so comfortable! We, however, could hear people walking around above us, and could even hear some of their conversation. Spa services were very limited when we were there, and are expensive. There is a $25 room charge per room at checkout. I have no idea what it is for. It is a bit of a drive into town, but the valets are pretty good about getting cars quickly. (I highly recommend Horn O Plenty for lunch and LifeStyles for dinner!)
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our resort on TripAdvisor! We apologize that the $25 Resort Fee wasn't more clearly explained. It covers valet parking, wireless internet, bottled water, local phone calls, and access to the pools and fitness center. We are glad you had a good stay and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    327
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
336
887
34
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a huge fan of Omni, this jewel of their property crowns was a huge disappointment. Service is uneven; leading me to conclude that the accolades and praise heaped on the resort have resulted in complacency when it comes to service. First, the good: Amazing restoration to a historic property from the exterior of the building to the furnishings and design elements in the public spaces. The quality of food at the restaurants is exceptional: I had an amazing dinner and breakfast at the Crystal Room (a delightful Eggs Benedict...highly recommended). The not so good: As an Omni Select Guest, I have become accustomed to receiving an email from the loyalty manager the day prior to my arrival. That did not happen and perhaps would've allowed me to take advantage of the spa and other resort activities (i.e., more revenue for the resort). I can respect the fact that an early check-in is not always possible, but I do expect that a room is available at the agreed upon time of 3 pm. Although Colleen at the front desk was able to find something for me, I don't feel that I should have to be assertive in this regard. Really, I don't care for excuses. If you can't turn rooms around by 3 pm, then you need to adjust the time to 4 pm. Turndown service? Nope. But, by far the worst part of the trip was the horror that is the valet situation. One should not have to wait 25 minutes for the car and then not receive even a cursory recognition of appreciation as extended to other guests (someone lost out on the generous tip in my hand as my car was just left sitting while the staff ran around spitting saliva on the sidewalk). I raise no issue with the prices, but it is imperative that the property deliver on its promises and work a little harder on customer service. Seriously, this was an Omni?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spend two nights here at end of October. Even though it was the weekend that Sandy came through, being here was a warm and cozy delight. And we did get out for a couple invigorating walks on some of the many trails.

Selecting the room was challenging, as we hadn't been there before and so didn't know the layout of the hotel and which rooms faced where, etc. The Omni central reservations were not able to help. Selected what we thought was a premium room, and while it was large and comfortable, it did not have a porch and being in a corner (which the reservationist said was a good thing) meant that we looked out over the tar-papered roof of the swimming pool. It was at the end of the hall and the porter told us to use the service elevator for quicker access to restaurants, etc. He was right.

in any case, the main activities planned were the spa and the restaurants. The Spa was wonderful, with friendly and helpful staff, relaxing and comfortable facilities, and other amenities. Need to book most things in advance, for sure.

Tried all the dining choices. 1796 Room was probably the most enjoyable, in that the food was very good, the atmosphere was casual and lively, and the prices were appropriate. The Crystal Room was quite beautiful, but the food was no better than the 1796 Room and more expensive. The first night the firepit was lit and having after-dinner drinks around it with other guests was fun. The Frontier Tavern had good drinks and sandwiches. And Che Sara Sara was good for grab and go. The breakfast in the Crystal Room had all one needed to eat for the rest of the day. Definitely want to go back in warmer, drier weather and try the golf course.

Room Tip: Try to find a good map of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay but apologize that reservations wasn't more helpful with your room choice. We will review all of our descriptions with them to make sure they fully understand what can be expected with each room type. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience and we look forward to your warm weather visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the front door, to the moment we left his hotel, "all" the staff we met was more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay a positive experience. We have stayed at the Omni Bedford Springs on multiple occasions. Always a five star experience. A great and relaxing hotel to recharge your batteries. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are delighted that we are your go to place when you are in need of a recharge. We appreciate all of the kind words you shared on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a terrific place to come to for Christmas! It is just beautiful---from the interior decorations , its historical relevance ( and yes, there are long walks and limited elevators but that is what you expect with a hotel from the 1850's ), good shops and a small but organized and clean fitness center, nice restaurants and more.
We had a good brunch on Christmas day, the pool is terrific and historic, too and the staff was nice to us.
To top it off, it snowed on Christmas Eve and made it look so charming. Again, with snow on the 26th and made the hiking trails a challenge but worth it.

Room Tip: Consider the spa side for newer rooms and if you like history, then ask for rooms in the wings away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for celebrating Christmas at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the holiday with us and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Omni Bedford Springs Resort can trace its ancestry back to the 18th century, and it is filled with the evidence to prove it. However, only pieces of it are part of the hotel that sat empty for 2o years and fell into ruin, like the glass panes that have names and dates etched in by brides with the diamond rings. However, it is a good restoration in keeping with the requirements for a place on the National Historic Register. The rooms in the spa wing a larger and more convenient than those in the historic wing (which is a long walk and an elevator ride from the main lobby and spa). We enjoyed our stay and it is a very nice resort, but I would put it a notch below the Homestead.

Room Tip: I recommend the spa wing over the historic wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Bedford Springs. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This truly beautiful hotel, so lovingly restored, and is a definite keeper on my short lists of placed in which to return. It sits in the mountains of Pa., a short distance from the town of Bedford, with plenty of hiking trails, nature, and of course, the mineral springs.
My trip was planned around Bedford's fall foliage festival and the festival us one of the best ones I have experienced in the country. Definitely look unto it for an fun October weekend. Unfortunately, because the hotel was busy with festival guests, the spa was booked full so consider booking ahead if you want to partake of those amenities. But for me, their gorgeous pool and fantastic restaurants were enough- excellent food, delicious cocktails, and the chefs made the most delicious lavender scones! One other asset is their doorman Scott- full of good sound advice and hospitality. Omni Bedford is a Keeper!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so happy to have made your short list of places to return to and we appreciate your complimentary review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Bedford Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.