We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A beautiful, historic, cozy resort"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Bedford Springs Resort to your Saves list
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"A beautiful, historic, cozy resort"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This truly beautiful hotel, so lovingly restored, and is a definite keeper on my short lists of placed in which to return. It sits in the mountains of Pa., a short distance from the town of Bedford, with plenty of hiking trails, nature, and of course, the mineral springs.
My trip was planned around Bedford's fall foliage festival and the festival us one of the best ones I have experienced in the country. Definitely look unto it for an fun October weekend. Unfortunately, because the hotel was busy with festival guests, the spa was booked full so consider booking ahead if you want to partake of those amenities. But for me, their gorgeous pool and fantastic restaurants were enough- excellent food, delicious cocktails, and the chefs made the most delicious lavender scones! One other asset is their doorman Scott- full of good sound advice and hospitality. Omni Bedford is a Keeper!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so happy to have made your short list of places to return to and we appreciate your complimentary review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    351
    83
    32
    19
See reviews for
359
943
40
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pine Bush NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went to the Bedford Springs for two nights. On arrival at about 3;30PM your room was not ready. The staff said they would notifiy us by cell phone when the room was ready. At 5 PM we checked and the staff had said the room had been ready for a while. Our cell phone had a signal and there were no missed messages. We got to the room and it was nice. I thought it would be a bit more extravagant for the prices that they charge. We had dinner at the 1776 room and the food was great and the waiter was wonderful. The room was very bright and noisy.We had Lunch the next day( New Years Eve day )at the bar. The tempaerature of the room was very cold. The food was good but over priced as well as the drinks. We decided to go to the pool. We were ready to relax. Relax, it was so cold in the pool area it was not comportable to be relaxing. We went in the pool ( the water was also not to warm ) within 10 minutes at least 8 kids (unsupervised) started jumping around and splashing and making pleany of noise. So we left. We decide to go for a walk. The trails were ungroomed. It was fun any way. The part we had been looking foward to was the Black Tie suggested New Years Eve Party. The cocktail 1/2 hour was fine. 3 choices of appies. They only had Chardany as a white wine choice. We got our table and the room looked very nice. Nothing really speical. The first song the band played was "They says its your Birthday" to celebrate everyones birthday. It was so LOUD! Now I'm all dressed up and the band plays pretty much rock and roll. They played a coulpe of what they called belly rubbing songs. They were to slow and boring. When we tried to dance the dance floor was like a postage stamp. It didn't really matter because the music was just plan old BAD! I do believe the food could have been wonderful if was only HOT. No one ever came to see if everything was OK. We didn't even make it to midnight. We went back to the room and watched Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griff. It was the best part of the night. The breakfeast the next day was uneventful (not hot either). We were suppose to stay another night but we couldn't wait to leave. It was certainly not a romantic or formal few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate you choosing our resort to ring in the New Year and apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations. We are already in the process of planning next year and based on your feedback as well as other guests we will be making some changes to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful time. Thank you for allowing us to read your valuable feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love this place. It has plenty of class but it is not stuffy. When you are there you are treated like family. The place is spotless clean, the food is yummy, the drinks are good, and the staff is great. I cannot speak of the spa, but my wife says that she loves it. Now, for the golf course, it is one of the plushest courses that I have ever played, and it is extremely playable for all handicaps, with multiple sets of tees. The practice range is great too! Improvements? Maybe some brighter lights in the bathrooms and a bit more variety in the restaurant, but the quality has not waivered after 4 visits.

Room Tip: Both wings are great. If you are into spa and golf, go for the spa wing with a room facing the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have seen the renovation of the Historic Bedford Springs Hotel progress to its current state of splendor. Every detail has been historically attended to. It is glorious, authentic. See their web page for outstanding visuals. BUT..a big BUT....No elevators and the walks to the registration desk and main floor facilities from the rooms is defeating! Suggestion: add exterior elevators to the back of the hotel where they won't show.

Room Tip: Request a short walk from the registration desk. Rear rooms look at a cliff 35 feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for all of your kind words and even your suggestion for adding an elevator. We are always looking for ways to improve the resort and we can add this to our wish list for future enhancements. We hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. The hotel was perfect!
Our family stayed in a corner suite..plenty of space, beautiful views, and cozy beds. The staff was attentive and helpful. Check out the Afternoon Tea, so fun!!!!

Room Tip: The corner suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your family's experience at the Omni Bedford Springs on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is my favorite spa - and I have been to alot of them! Once you book a service, you may use the spa facilities all day. Men and women have separate rooms, which have steam room, very large whirlpool, cold plunge and showers with great body scrub. The co-ed relaxation room before the service is extremely comfortable. And, in the Summer months, the outdoor pool is included. The spa seems to be popular so be sure to book a service in advance. The spa gift shop seems a little overpriced but this seems to be common at hotels. We enjoyed the whole property but the spa is special.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are thrilled to be your favorite spa after visiting many others. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to a future visit from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As first-time visitors, we really enjoyed ourselves at this resort. It's beautiful, clean, and pleasant, and we were truly able to relax and unwind. That being said, there are a few things that could be done to make the experience even better.

After we made our reservation over the phone and requested our dates and room preferences, we never received the promised confirmation e-mail for the four nights we'd requested. We went online to check our reservation and found that we were booked for three nights instead of four, in a room with the incorrect bed type. We ultimately decided at that point not to re-request a four-night stay, but to simply visit for three nights instead.

The valets were quite nice as we pulled up in our car, and then we headed to the front desk to check in. The folks who staff the front desk are really a mixed bag-some are so warm and pleasant, while others seem bothered by guests. More on hospitality later..

Our room in the spa wing was lovely, clean, and convenient for us. Lots of space, could have used a bit more light, and a hook in the bathroom for our towels, especially because of the hotel's green efforts, where they ask you to reuse your towel. That's not a problem if I have somewhere to hang it besides over the shower. Two of our three housekeeping days were a little bizarre-each day, there was something left undone--one day our towels were removed and not replaced, and our overflowing trash can was left unemptied, on the other, we were not given replacement water, toilet paper, or tissue (all of which we clearly needed).

We ate (and enjoyed) most of our meals in the hotel. We also loved the hosts and wait staff in the Crystal Room, and staff at Che Sara Sara, the shops, etc. The biggest negative, by far, was the attitude of both the host and the hostess who worked at 1796/Frontier Tavern. One of them may have been a manager, but both times we went (one night to each restaurant), the host (one night) and hostess (the other) were really off-putting, and frankly, rude. Perhaps they'd be more successful behind the scenes. I'm glad they weren't our first exposure to the hotel. The Frontier Tavern waitress was also snippy and unhelpful during our so-so meal there. I'm not talking about any special requests-we didn't make any. Fortunately, our waitress, Michelle, in 1796 was fantastic. She represented the restaurant, and, in turn, the hotel so well, and made New Year's Eve a pleasant experience..the food was wonderful, also.

We also enjoyed the added hotel perks during this holiday period--Teresa's historical tour around the building, our picture being taken on New Year's eve...

The spa was fantastic...Jamie(?) gave a good orientation and was great at making sure that folks followed the rules of the spa and mineral springs (no skinny dipping, etc.). I wish she had been in the "quiet room" also, because it was so loud! My facial was excellent, and I'll be requesting Anna again. I also enjoyed the mineral springs treatment. My husband's massage was one of the best he's ever had.

Overall, we had an excellent stay and would return..the hospitality "glitches" were unexpected and, hopefully, will be resolved prior to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It was a pleasure for us to read your review including your suggestions for ways that we could enhance the experience for our customer's. As evidenced by many of our reviews, we have consistently good feedback regarding the service and we apologize that this was not the case with your stay. We truly hope that the future will bring us an opportunity to provide you with an experience more in character with what our guests have come to expect and deserve at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Bedford Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.