We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub might be OK for a drink, but not a meal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Inn

Golden Eagle Inn
131 East Pitt Street, Bedford, PA 15522
+1 814-624-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Golden Eagle Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South Richard St
Description: Located in a inn built in 1796, the Golden Eagle Inn serves a lovely fine-dining menu for lunch, brunch and dinner. Our Victorian dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy Chef Zach Ford's innovative menu while enjoying a Pennsylvania craft beer or a wine from our thoughtful list. Convently nestled in the heart of downtown Bedford, Pennsylvania, the Golden Eagle Inn is the ideal destination for both travelers and locals alike to enjoy great food!
Indianapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“pub might be OK for a drink, but not a meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Ate in the downstairs pub section around 7pm on a Tuesday evening. Took forever to get waited on, even though staff was constantly walking past the table and a manager was nearby. Had Irish stew - incredibly tiny portion for $10, it was like a cup of soup with hardly any meat. Should have eaten elsewhere and gone there for a drink - they do have Guinness on tap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    9
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good luck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

After eating dinner across the street at the 10/09 Restaurant which is outstanding...we came to the Golden Eagle for a beer and a glass of wine. It was busy but there were 2 seats at the bar. We sat down and waited 20 minutes to even be acknowledged by the bartender who was literally 2 feet away. There was only seating for 7 at the bar. We understand them being busy, but would it have killed the bartender to make eye contact or say "I'll be with you in a minute". If Cheers is the friendliest bar then the Golgen Eagle is the antithesis of that. I would rather die of thirst than go in there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go for the food and drink...stay for Tom's great taste in music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A friend wanted to try this place while I was visiting her in Bedford. It was later in the night when we arrived, but Tom, one of the proprietors, welcomed us. The bar is beautifully hand made of wormy oak. Every thing is clean. The beer and wine lists were impressive. They exceeded my expectations for Bedford. There are great places in Bedford but the Golden Eagle has raised the bar.
While we arrived too late to order from the kitchen, we did look at the menu. Duck fat fries! I repeat duck fat fries! Soft shell crab BLT (this doesn't appeal to me but seems to be very popular). Drew (asst chef if I recall his title properly - Drew sorry of that isn't correct) went over the menu and commented on some of their offerings which sound amazing.
To be fair I haven't tried the food yet but with any luck I may get there for lunch today.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Also Disappointed Here - 4/21/2014”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Took elderly aunt to visit, lunch at 12:15 - informed that they were out of soup. Ordered sandwiches, - this is very "strange" the bread was - "wet and sticky"????? Asked waitress about it, and she replied that is they way it is??? Really? A $11.00 sandwich is supposed to be wet? Don't think so, my aunt was also disappointed - I heard her mutter that she's taking it home, and make it into a real sandwich. Anyway we have visited there before, always enjoyed it, but will think again before we return - to spend that much on lunch - and have it served that poorly - bummer huh? We were there 4/21/2014

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Made reservations for family brunch and had no problem being seated a few minutes before appointed time. Nice atmosphere and décor, but seats were uncomfortable. Waited 15 minutes for only waitress to come to table. Not busy; took way too long for service. . Their brunch is not a breakfast bar spread, but merely a breakfast menu served into the afternoon. Limited selection and our group of 6 had a hard time finding anything to order. Food was average at best. Worst thing though - one person ordered dry toast because can't tolerate butter, and was offered jam instead. Toast arrived and was buttered. Sent back, and new toast arrived which was barely toasted. No jam - they didn't have any so they just brought warmed blueberries instead. No apology, just "here". Wouldn't eat here again or recommend a restaurant that can't even make toast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle Inn also viewed

 

Been to Golden Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.