We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut cream pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Diner

Bedford Diner
4292 Business 220, Bedford, PA 15522-7740
(814) 624-0011 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 41 restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coconut cream pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

THE BEST PIE I EVER ATE. I am from Philadelphia
where we have the finest restaurants and bakeries and LOTS of diners.
This is by far the best pie I ever had. The Creamed Chipped Beef was also Fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    25
    20
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gobs, pumpkin pie made from scratch, and scrapple, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was delighted to step back in time at the Bedford Diner. The waitresses were all helping each other, smiling and chummy, and they called many of the diners by their first names.

The menu looked like it was printed in the 1950's, and had that familiar hinged plastic cover that used to be so popular then. Little starbursts highlighted the specials, and more were written on the white board over the lunch counter.

The food was all cooked to order. The first time we stopped for lunch and had sandwiches, and the bill for 2 was ~$12.00 including tea and coke. And yes, I had pumpkin pie made from scratch. You could taste the cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and mace. Real whipped cream, too!

When we had a full breakfast (with scrapple and locally-made pork sausage!) the bill was ~$15.00.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great to see a diner again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We don't really have diner's in Florida so it was nice to eat at one. The place is small and there sometimes is a wait but the food was good and reasonable. We ate there a few times for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly Very Good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't discount this place because of the exterior or decor; it's very good home-cooked diner fare at ridiculously low prices. You can get anything on the menu at any time so we tried breakfast fare for Sunday night dinner. The pancakes are enormous and we all could only eat one of our "short-stack". The French Toast cinammon sticks were also very good. The waitress was very helpful and friendly and the meal arrived quickly. After reading the other reviews, my husband wants to go back to try either the crab cake sandwich or the creamed chipped beef on toast and my kids want to go back to have a piece of homemade pie or cake. The pies and cakes are made on the premises. I don't see how they can stay in business at these prices. It used to be a Dunkin Donuts which accounts for the building style...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the Omni Bedford Springs and decided to take out kids off-site for breakfast. Great choice for that meal. The decor isn't going to win any awards, but the breakfast food could...for unpretentious, home style cooking. Good pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon...and my chipped beef on toast with home fries was awesome and a bargain at $4.95. They have a crazy cheap breakfast special Monday through Friday before 10 am...$2.22 for 2 eggs, 2 pancakes and 2 pieces of bacon or sausage. Our meal was tasty, filling and a total value for 5 people at $30. Service was very accommodating. Definitely recommend, at least for breakfast fare!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedford Diner also viewed

 

Been to Bedford Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.