We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4498 Business Rt 220, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best by far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed at this motel many times and they have never disappointed me. Always updating to make stays nicer. The staff and manager there are the friendliest and most helpful. Convvienent to major shopping and tourist attractions. I would without hesitation recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    8
    14
See reviews for
12
13
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Reading previous reviews I could see that some attempts had been made to remedy many of the situations. The bathroom was clean, so I had no reservations about showering. However when I wet the washcloth down it was transparent! Not frayed or dirty, but the thinnest I had ever seen. The towels had the same issue. My husband even asked if there was a place where hotels bought used linens. The sheets were clean (we inspected closely), but dingy. I think the most curious thing is that everything in the room was unplugged-the lamp, the TV, the refrigerator, and even the clock. We arrived late and it was frustrating to need to run around and plug everything in. I'm going to assume they moved everything to give the room a through vacuum job and neglected to plug things back in-not that they were trying in a most extreme way to save electricity. Please be advised it is a 3 story hotel and none of it is ground level (first floor is a few steps down from the lobby). There is no elevator. We were with friends and when they opened their room there was somebody already in there. The front desk coped well with that, and they were most likely correcting the previous shifts mistake. Another couple had requested a first floor room and were assigned a third floor room, but they were able to switch.
The hotel is in a convenient location very close to the exit, but they should really just start over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Be aware that if you make a reservation at this hotel in the winter such as we did on Christmas Eve you should, beware. After informing the management of our difficulties he said he was "sorry that your room was cold when you went in. We don't keep the heat or A/C running in the rooms when they are not being used, unless the temperature is above or below a certain temperature." and when we called if "you had asked us to heat up the room for you then we would have.There wouldn't have been a problem". The room was a max of 50 degrees, so we turned on the heater/cooler unit and went to the only food and heat source in town at 8 PM , "Wendy's " . When we returned the room was warm but the unit cycled on and off with a loud noise every 3-5 minutes to the extent we could not hear the TV. No sleep was afforded us that night.
On the plus side the sheets and room seemed cleanable the continental breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: When you all them say you want a warm and fairly quiet room to sleep in if it is winter or a cool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviinnbedfordpa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with the ABVI during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and sorry for the incidence howsoever.

We apologize for the inconvenience, but would like to inform that we have ensured that this never repeats.

Your other points of observations like the amenities and noise have been addressed to.

Please do visit us once again and see the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels worldwide and this is the 2nd from the bottom. The hotel is rundown, dirty and needs to be gutted.
Behind the check-in desk is a mess and should have told me to run. The room was not clean. Edges and corners had not been adequately vacumned. The beds were the type you see on TV shows that you are not sure what has been there before. The bathroom was similar to the room, corners were dirty. Would not take a shower. The TV is ancient.
The breakfast was cereal, toast, stale muffins and make your waffles. They didn't even have peanut butter, just 1 choice of jam. Ridiculous.
I would also not recommend Hotels.com as they do not partner with enough hotels. It was late for me and they were the easiest website to look up. I should have just gone across the street to the motel - which looked better.

Room Tip: Go across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviinnbedfordpa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the ABVI during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and for putting your observations straight.

We have seriously noted all the issues you have mentioned and especially the breakfast.

We shall ensure that every point is properly taken care of and also that our guests get a wholesome breakfast always.

We would like to change your opinion and shall ensure you a very pleasant stay next time without any room for a negative comment.

We take the reviews in true sense for improvement.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed in many many hotels/motels and even some no name ones this one is by far the WORSE experience i have ever had..... The girl at check in was rude and had i could care less attitude.... once in the room it smelled so bad of strong cat urine it made me gag... i went to the front desk to ask for another room or my money back and the girl pointed to a hand written sign on the door that said desk clerk can not issue refunds for any reason.... i had to go to the local store to buy carpet fresh to even stand to stay in the room.... went to take a bath and there was personal hairs in the tub toothpaste in the sink and black mold all around the tub ledges..... finally got to sleep becasue it was hot and the ac did not work all that great and the carpet fresh only masked the smell so much only to wake up to something biting me the next morning me and my husband had small red bug bites all over us..... at 8am we went down to get a coffee and breakfast knowing it was a continential breakfast..... there was an empty box of english muffins and stale cereal we asked if they were going to put out another box of english muffins or bread for toast and was told no that was it when its gone its gone it was only 8am and breakfast was suppose to go til 9am...... got home had to go to the dr for my bug bites and dr said it was bed bugs......i had to spend two days washing everything we had and spend $100 in chemicals to spray my house and truck...... this is the WORSE place i have ever stayed and they dont care either they got their money and it wasnt even cheap......

Room Tip: stay anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviinnbedfordpa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with the Comfort Suites and taking the time to write a review.

We apologize for your bad experience and have addressed each point of your observation with due seriousness.

All points like the bad smell, cleanliness and particularly the breakfast have been sincerely addressed to.

Please reconsider again during your next visit and see the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here last night. It is a very basic place to stay, not the worst place I've stayed, but in the bottom 10. It had hairs on the bathroom floor, light switches were broke (still worked, but wiggled left to right), bathroom had unrepaired water damage, and black mold. We decided not to use the shower due to the bathroom condition. It is 3 stories, but no elevator. Wifi works well, fridge stays cold (although it smells like mildew), microwave was clean. The curtains, bedding, and furniture seemed clean, but VERY outdated.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviinnbedfordpa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area.

We thank and appreciate you for taking the time to give us a review. On the basis of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was appraised of your comments concerning the light switches which shall be taken care of without delay. They will be keeping your comments in mind as they constantly do their best to improve our establishment.

• Maintenance staff was notified of your observance of bathroom condition and asked to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

• The housekeeping staff have been given extra training concerning the level of cleanliness and as our employees the efforts and commitments required from them.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites. I am confident that you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

my falt.i payed for the room first ==looked nice ffom out side=inside stunk =went back to get my money=i got a void on my card=when i get home i was billed for the room = thats ok because ill be going throught that area this summer see you then MR rip off

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviinnbedfordpa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area. I am really sorry that it did not turn out to be what you had expected.

I thank you and appreciating you for giving us a review. Upon receipt of your review,we have taken the following steps.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Registration staff has been given additional training in hospitality and the courteous way in which our valued guests are to be treated.

• Management is approached concerning your refund.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites. We take our guest reviews very seriously and I am sure,you will be greatly pleased.

Seriously,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 4498 Business Rt 220, Bedford, PA 15522
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Bedford. We are situated in south central Pennsylvania where life is taken at a slower pace. Appreciate our laid back way of life and relax at one of the local attractions including the Pitt Theatre, Old Bedford Village, Coral Caverns, Down-River Golf and Country Club, Pioneer Historical Society, and National Museum-American Cover. After a fun day in the Bedford area, enjoy a satisfying meal at one of the area's restaurants such as Green Harvest Co, Bedford Tavern, Bedford Diner, or Original Italian Pizza. Neighboring cities worth visiting include Breezewood, Altoona, and Somerset. We are approximately 100 miles from Pittsburgh and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.The 24-hour staff at our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Bedford is here to make our hotel your home away from home. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast served from 6am - 9am. All guest rooms are generously equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with Showtime channels, desk, and alarm clock. An iron and ironing board are available at the front desk upon request. Some rooms include a microwave and mini-fridge, so please ask at the front desk or when you make a reservation. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Bedford, We*ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Bedford
Super Eight Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.