We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covered Bridges and historic Bedford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covered Bridge loop

Covered Bridge loop
Bedford, PA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Bedford
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging 16.7 mile biking trail.
Perryton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Covered Bridges and historic Bedford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We've seen many of the Vermont bridges and found these so much easier to locate. Some could not be driven across but each one was unique. The historic Bedford town was so interesting. Hadn't realized this was the location of the Whiskey Rebellion and the headquarters for President Washington is still there. Also an unusual school, especially for that time. Their courthouse is still in use and the architectural structure is amazing, both inside and out. There was also an area known as Old Bedford that had many of the original buildings of the 1700s but we didn't stay long as there were four busloads of school children on a field trip. Would love to return at another time as they have demonstrations of life during that time period.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Meade, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A fun little drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A self-guided tour through some scenic areas of Bedford County. Some of the bridges can be driven over, others are not drivable. On our tour we took a side trip to Gravity Hill (like Spook Hill in Florida) and visited the Coffee Pot near the fair grounds in Bedford. During your drive; look for the 1930s style gas station in Bedford.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beats Madison County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are 15 covered bridges in the county and 9 in the loop, 7 of which we toured. If you like covered bridges, it is worth the time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun little tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Easy to follow self guided tour. It was nice to go in the winter. Fall would also be a good time to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great self guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We picked up a Bedford tour book and noted the Covered Bridge tour. We decided to take it. It was easy to follow and directions were excellent. We saw 9 covered bridges in all. Most you can drive through, although a couple were fairly dilapidated and not drivable. One was not even walkable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Covered Bridge loop also viewed

 

Been to Covered Bridge loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covered Bridge loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.