We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tavern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jean Bonnet Tavern

Jean Bonnet Tavern
6048 Lincoln Hwy, Bedford, PA 15522-6960
814-623-2250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lancaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tavern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice surprise to find the colonial atmosphere of the building, good food, nice gift shop, herb garden and tame goats on the grounds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    120
    36
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took the missus there for our 41st Wedding Anniversary. Thought it would be nice, couple hundred year old stone farm house and travelers stop. Called ahead by a month for reservations and told them it was a special occasion. We had to wait for a reserved table, a very large group of high school kids had control of the place for homecoming or something. When we did get a table it was a very small booth next to the kitchen in a high traffic area for servers and kitchen staff. The service was minimum and the meal average at best. Sure was a memorable experience but not in a good way. I would like to say I waould try it again to see if it was just a bad hair day for them, but I won't!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonn, Owner at Jean Bonnet Tavern, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for your review and we hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stop here if you are anywhere close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped here based on a recommendation from a hotel we had stayed at in Latrobe. As we were traveling by on our way home, we decided to try it. We stopped in for lunch on a Sunday. There is a downstairs dining room as well as seating in the bar area on the second floor and outside seating. We were seated in the dining room near the entrance and noticed the almost continual flow of patrons in the door. We were seated and our order was taken quickly. We had some trouble deciding from the many choices on the menu. We had the baked tomato appetizer which was excellent. We also had the french onion soup which was very flavorful. We also had a french dip and a chicken sandwich and handcut french fries. All of the food was very good with large portions. Our bill for all of this and drinks was around $45 which seemed a pretty good value for this type of restaurant. We will definitely be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schellsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic Inn, Restaurant and Log Cabin Gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Log fires, wood and tile floors, huge window ledges, cozy stone walls and outdoor seating under umbrellas surrounded by beautiful shrubbery, perennials, fruit trees and herb gardens combine to give this historic inn great atmosphere. It is one of the beloved places in Bedford County. You will find unique gifts in the log cabin shop many by local artists. The restaurant is big with meat eaters from huge bison burgers to prime rib. Being a non-red meat eater, my choices are very limited so I always get the blueberry shrimp or Asian salmon salad; both are excellent. Their soups, especially the French onion, are always delicious! You will have a choice of an upstairs dining/bar area with large screen TVs behind the bar, outsides seating on their stone patio or deck, or downstairs where it is seriously dark and cozy. Having been to the Jean Bonnet more times than I can remember, having the luxury of living only 12 miles away, I have taken advantage of all locations to enjoy my lunch or dinner with friends! Always welcomed by the owners and friendly staff, complete with great food and speedy service, it is a locals' favorite. People from all over come specifically to enjoy this wonderful, beautiful historic stone inn. Try it, it will quickly become your favorite.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonn, Owner at Jean Bonnet Tavern, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for providing such an eloquent review of the Jean Bonnet. We appreciate you taking your time to let future visitors know what makes us special! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Geat food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have eaten there on multiple occasions. The food has always been excellent, and the ambience cannot be beat. We are planing to visit this all, and are going to book a room this time. The cabin offers a myriad of interesting items, including books about haunted PA. Had we know that the Jean Bonnet was haunted, we would have ordered some "spirits" with our excellent scallop and steak dinners!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Bonnet Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Jean Bonnet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean Bonnet Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.