We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 250th Birthday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean Bonnet Tavern

Jean Bonnet Tavern
6048 Lincoln Hwy, Bedford, PA 15522-6960
814-623-2250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
State College
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Happy 250th Birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The "Jean Bonnet Inn" is a very special place indeed. It has been around for about 250 years and its sturdy stone exterior tells stories about historical events like the Whiskey Rebellion. There is even evidence of ghost sightings! However, there is also a lighter side to the tavern. A beautiful porch allows al fresco dining on sunny days, the gift store sells many unique items and even food for the goats across the parking lot. The "Jean Bonnet Inn" is a great destination offering excellent food, a carefully chosen selection of beers and activities for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    132
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern with Well Prepared Standard Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The building dates to the late 1700's. The main dining room is on the ground floor with tables and comfortable wooden booths. Every table gets its own 10" candle. The menu offers fairly standard choices: steak, prime rib, chicken dishes, fish. There is a limited wine selection and some more interesting local draft beers. Everything we had was well prepared. My roast beef was done as requested. The house dressing was tasty if a bit sweet. My wife enjoyed the orange roughy with crabmeat stuffing. Service was prompt and friendly. This was not an outstanding restaurant, but the Tavern offers well prepared meals in a comfortable setting with good service. For most occasions this would be a solid choice.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“EXPENSIVE FOOD :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The facility is nice and it is a great place for a special occassion. Just get ready to get your wallet out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonn, Owner at Jean Bonnet Tavern, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. While we may be more expensive than some restaurants, we do pride ourselves on our high quality and overall value. All of our entrees include a house salad, a starch and a chef's vegetable. Also, we have our full menu available all day long so that guests can do a less expensive evening meal of a sandwich or salad if they so choose. Our full menu, with prices, is located on our website. Please also check out our weekly tavern specials, which are a fantastic bargain! We hope you will visit us again, if only for special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thanks for the great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Bison burgers and beers. Who could pass that up? Plus, my first time eating a fried green bean.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth driving to just for a dinner or lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Every time we go there it gets better and better! The Crab cakes are the best ever!! The bison burger is Awesome! The desserts are fantastic...especially the peanut butter chocolate pie! Atmosphere and servers are a++++! This is a got to place on the Old Lincoln Hwy!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Bonnet Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Jean Bonnet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean Bonnet Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.