We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Bedford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chancellor's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Save
You added The Chancellor's House to your Saves list
341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to Stay in Bedford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I have made The Chancellor's House our home base for enjoying the pleasures of Bedford since 2008. Always a great time. Innkeepers are friendly and interesting to talk to. Accommodations and appointments are top notch. And you couldn't ask for a more convenient location. Shops, restaurants, museums are just outside the front door. Delicious breakfasts along with welcome wine and cheese too. If you want to treat yourself but don't want to break the bank by staying at the resort, you couldn't pick a better place. Thank you Steve and Lynn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil Room the times we stayed and enjoyed it. Steve and Lynn did an outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three old Army friends and their wives who gather annually to tell war stories and catch up with each other spent a wonderful two days at this Bed and Breakfast within walking distance of most of the attractions in Bedford, PA. If you haven't visited Bedford, you should. Its a delight - full of beautiful historical homes and historical sites dating from the French and Indian War. The Chancellor's House is a gem - spotless, beautifully appointed, and Innkeepers Steve and Lynn George are friendly, fascinating, and very knowledgable about the town and the area. Best B&B we've ever stayed in and we've slept in some very good ones over the years. Steve is an architect and Lynn designed the garden and prepared the outstanding breakfasts. They are very, very professional and a delightful couple to boot.

Room Tip: All three rooms are first class. We stayed in the larger Dogwood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Perfection at every turn. We are three retired Army Lieutenant Colonels and our wives. We hold an October reunion every year in a different locale. This year was Bedford and the Chancewllor's House and it was one of our best choices. Our hosts, Steve & Lynn, were so very welcoming and helpful in planning our stay. Their home is the finest restoration of the home and grounds that I have seen... no detail was spared or compromised. The home is spotless. Then, there were the breakfasts. Served in the elegant dining room, Lynn amazed us with her wonderful selection of dishes; prepared flawlessly. I would strongly recommend Bedford as a vacation destination and give 5-Stars to the Chancellor's House.

Room Tip: All rooms are first-class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner Eric and I were looking for the perfect place for a few days' getaway- and we found the perfect place in the Chancellor's House. Bedford is an easy trip from Pittsburgh, and a delightful town- full of history, great specialty shopping, and fantastic dining. Lynn and Steve, the owners are fantastic hosts- perfectly welcoming, intelligent, and true ambassadors for the Bedford area. The house and service were fabulous- everything from evening wine and cheese in the library to breakfast served on impeccable china...We couldn't be happier. We commend the George's for their unfaltering hospitality, and their ease of acceptance of us as guests in their home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My best friend and I wanted a peaceful, stress-free location to celebrate our milestone birthdays and discovered the Chancellor's House. Just 2 hours from Pittsburgh, it's an elegant 1870s home tended with loving care and filled with history. Innkeeper Lynn was away, but owner Steve George was a wonderful host, and chef Sally was amazing. Steve shared with us the history of the house, named for the Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh. Our breakfasts were elegant, seasonal and delicious. And Steve's recommendations for restaurants and attractions were perfect. Lots of fine dining in little Bedford! Omni Springs spa was another highlight - we will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room had two separate beds with another tucked into the roomy closet. Perfect for a gir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent two weeknights at the Chancellor's House. Although Lynn was out-of-town, Steve, the owner, made us feel right at home. Being former bed and breakfast owners, that's not always easy. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a very long and stressful summer, I needed to take some time that was "just for me". I have never really traveled alone before, so I did not want to stray too far from my Johnstown home. Finding the Chancellor's House B&B in Bedford was perfect! I was given a house tour by owner Steve George the week before my get away. I was able to see all the rooms and picked the one I liked the best. It was the smallest of the 3 rooms offered, but it was huge on charm! The bathroom is what "sold me" on this room! Sparkling clean with beautiful tile work in the shower and above the sink. Soft fluffy towels and beautiful white spa robes are provided for your comfort. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud!! The overall charm of the room was not to be out done by the charm of the owners themselves. A wine and cheese gathering with the other guests and Lynn and Steve was provided on the porch before going into town for dinner in the evening. The breakfast the next morning was perfect. Served on the china dishes that belonged to Steve's Mother, the attention to every detail made the meal special. Plenty of fresh brewed coffee, fruit bowls, home made zucchini bread and Lemon Ricotta Cheese Pancakes were served.... and the recipe for the pancakes was provided by Lynn!! I spent the afternoon walking around the shops of Bedford. A tour of the American Coverlet Museum, as suggested by Steve, was very nice and full of information. Before heading back home I took a drive to the Bedford Springs Hotel which was very impressive indeed, but in my opinion you could not get any kinder more attentive service that what was offered at the Chancellor's House! Many thanks to Lynn and Steve for sharing their gem of a home with me and making me feel so "at home" while I was there. I will be back!!
Maryann :)

Room Tip: Each room is different and wonderful on it's own. A bad choice cannot be made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chancellor's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.