We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy retreat enroute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chancellor's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Save
You added The Chancellor's House to your Saves list
341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classy retreat enroute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We enjoyed a pampered stop in this beautiful neighborhood hidden off the Bedford stop on the turnpike. The house was beautifully restored by this retired architect, food delicious, and atmosphere refined. Eat well, and sleep in the ultimate comfortable bed, in this quiet setting. Turn your trip into a "vacation" with a stop here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our first time staying at The Chancellor's House and we loved it. The house is decorated beautifully and it is absolutely pristine. The owners, Lynn and Steve, gave us a warm welcome and couldn't have been more hospitable. Each morning they served us a wonderful gourmet breakfast in their beautiful bright and cheery dining room. They were most helpful in planning our day activities. We can't wait to return. We prefer B&B's over hotels because they are so homey, quiet, comfortable and relaxing. It was also very private and yet we felt like we were with family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The home is lovely and the gardens are beautiful. The bed in the room had the best mattress we ever slept in. The house is spotlessly clean. The breakfast was substantial and healthy. The hosts were congenial and interesting. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Steve and Lynn George were the consumate hosts for our visit. We were antiquing, and Steve was very helpful with directions and information. Steve also was a delight to talk to (Lynn as well, but she was out the night we arrived). He recognized our interest in history and recommended some really interesting sights. You could not find a more informed host, very involved in historical preservation and wide-ranging in interests. The history of the house alone is worth the trip. In addition, Bedford has a lot of interesting history and preserved architecture.

Lynn was there in the morning and is also a delightul host. Her breakfast was amazing, as was the morning conversation.

Our room was the Parkview, an excellent choice. All the rooms are very "period" and well decorated. Though the Dafodil room and the Parkview are on the front of the house, and the street can be a bit noisy (not near as noisy as the street in some other b&b), but things calmed down at night, and our stay was quite restful. Since we were there on a weekday, I am sure it was busier than a weekend. To be furthest from the street, choose the Dogwood, but in any case, stay at the Chancellor's House if you are in the area. you couldn't ask for a better bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely B&B earlier this month for a weekend stay in Bedford. The Inn is comfortable and conveniently located just a couple of blocks north of shopping and restaurants. The house beautifully decorate and the grounds are lovely, as well. The owners, Steve and Lynne, are gracious hosts, going out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. This the best choice for a weekend stay in this charming town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My spouse and I chose to spend the night at the Chancellor's House on our return trip from graduation at Penn State. The house is beautifully decorated, the owners Steve and Lynn George were gracious and friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and our room (the Daffodil) was lovely and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay, and Steve and Lynn went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My sister and I spent last Friday and Saturday night at the Chancellor's House. Having traveled extensively and visited many B&Bs I would rank this beautiful home and service the best that I have ever had. Lynn and Steve, the proprietors, could not have been more accommodating. The helped us with attractions, shopping and restaurants. The house was spotless, our room was comfortable and the food delicious beyond belief! Best of all, the house was quiet. While the inn was filled we never heard another guest move about. I would return in a minute and plan to. My thanks to Lynn and Steve for sharing their home with us.
Jackie from Pittsburgh

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chancellor's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.