We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, but Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hillcrest Hotel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Hotel
141 Hillcrest Drive, Bedford, PA 15522   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bedford
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, but Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at Hillcrest Inn, mainly because it was about 50% of the cost of other hotels in the area. Besides the stench of smoke in the common hallway, the room was not the worst we had seen. There was a microwave, refrigerator, and a/c unit in it. The room was pretty clean and we slept well. The only part that kind of grossed us out was the exit door and the smell of mold, but it is an exterior area. This hotel seems like it could be really much nicer with a little more money put into it. I would recommend this to you, especially if you just need a place to sleep on the cheap and you don't mind a little stench outside of your room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, IN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

All I ask is that a hotel/motel be clean and safe. Sadly, we didn't get either one during our brief stay. I can deal with out of date, tacky decor,...no problem. I can handle a room the size of a large broom closet. But I draw the line at filthy carpets, cigarette burns in the sheets (in a non-smoking room!), a barely lit parking lot, and a smelly air conditioner. The carpet was so dirty (not just stained,...but dirty) that I told my kids to leave their shoes and socks on and just lay on the top of the bed. By some miracle, there were no bugs in the bed or we would have simply slept in the car. The hallway to the room was so dim and seedy, I felt like I was in the middle of a bad 70's cop show.

If I hadn't had a reservation held with my credit card and had we arrived earlier than 2am, I would have left in a heartbeat.

We were out of the hotel by 630am,.........

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

We had a fine stay. Lots of nice people and help whenever needed. The food was good and the room was clean and smelled fresh.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slrv61
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2005

No cribs, no breakfast as advertised. Dirty, in disrepair, smelly... DO NOT go here!!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2003

This hotel is terrible, even by cheap motel standards. The towels are thin, there is no heat and very little hot/warm water.The guests were obnoxious and loud in the hall outside of our room at 6 am and the owner fought with them rather than asking them to respect the other guests.I wouldn't stay here again EVER.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillcrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Hotel

Address: 141 Hillcrest Drive, Bedford, PA 15522
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hillcrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bedford
Bedford Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.