We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“;-(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Philly Originals

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Philly Originals
478 3RD St, Beaver, PA 15009-2227
(724) 728-3011
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Beaver
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Fast Food, Soups
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“;-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I gave up on that place ten years ago. I can buy a whole chicken cooked for less money than one of those chicken philly sandwiches, then when they bang you extra for this and that, you could of had dinner with all the sides. When they moved into the high rent district, that was the end of good value.They used to load them up, now I have to be loaded up just to afford one. Besides the owner hires these kids, well I won't go there..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I get lunch here weekly at the least. Their cheesesteaks are excellent. You can order it with cheese whiz instead of provolone and their very good hot pepper relish. Cheese fries are amazing too. They use Breadworks bread, which is awesome of course since the most important part of a sammich is the bread.

While most people get the cheesesteak, I think the cold Italian hoagie is even better. They use very good meats and I love their dressing. It's one of the best around Pittsburgh, and I grew up eating Danny's, Triangle Bar, the Real McCoy, etc. Pgh hoagies are different than Philly ones. This is closer to the latter. The only real difference is using the dressing instead of just olive oil.

The 2 guys who work during the day are very friendly. I've only met the owner when they used to be up the street. He's cool too. It can be pricy. A hoagie, cheese fries and a pop runs about $12. But, they load up the meat, you'll definitely be full, and the food just tastes great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Fast Food in a Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a great place for lunch or a fast food dinner while out shopping in this pleasant small town atmosphere of Beaver, Pennsylvania. The cheesesteaks are super along with there specialty sodas. In the warmer months you can eat outdoors under the umbrella tables that line the sidewake on two sides of the building.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Philly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stopped by for lunch one day. If you've eaten Gino's or Pats in Philly, you'll know this is NOT Philly style. It was ok but crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Philly Steak Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been customer since 2010...enjoy the friendly atmosphere...bread/bun is super fresh from Pittsburgh-area bakery...fries are good too...quick & easy place to grab some food. Outdoor seating is also nice touch..excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philly Originals also viewed

 

Been to Philly Originals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philly Originals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.