We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights at Bischwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bischwind

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bear Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bischwind
Save
You added Bischwind to your Saves list
1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Bear Creek B&B and Inns
Pottstown, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two Nights at Bischwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Four good friends enjoyed a 2 night stay at the lovely Bischwind for the first time in late August. The innkeeper, Billie, was a spirited, knowledgeable, fountain of information. The rooms were outstanding in individual décor with comfy beds. There is a lovely lake on the property and short drives to dinner locations are pleasant experiences. Bischwind has an interesting history and we all would go back for sure. There was a wedding finishing up when we arrived and it appeared to be the perfect spot for an intimate gathering. Breakfast each day was creative and filling, good food. It's a grand place in the evergreens of Bear Creek. Make plans and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are very unique and offer plush bedding. A few suites are cozy retreats with sitting rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was the third year that my granddaughter and I stayed overnight at the Bischwind. Billie is such a gracious innkeeper. One night is definitely not enough. We love the whole history of the place and hope to return soon !

Room Tip: Beehive Room is cozy. Green suite a personal favorite. Nice and private. Master's Room (this y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm not sure how many times we've been here, but it's always a pleasure! Beautiful property. It was nice to see Billi, Barbara and Ralph. They're so welcoming. Billi makes an absolutely delicious filet mignon for breakfast and the french omelet... We've enjoyed the shrimp scampi before as well! What a wonderful place to relax and have pleasant conversation. Beautiful pool too, was a little bit cool for it this year, but good weather for a walk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hi!. Me and my husband just got back from Bischwind. We loved it, it's a very romantic place. If you're looking for a relaxing place Bischwind is where you want to be. The whole house it's gorgeous. We stayed in the masters bedroom, its a lovely room with a good size bathroom, comfortable bed and a nice view of the gardens and the swimming pool. We had the pleasure of meeting Billy one of the owner she's great, good spirit and friendly. She made us feel welcome. Close to the Bischwind are a lot fun things to do, horseback riding, zip line, good restaurants, vineyards etc. Billy gave us a list with all the things around the hotel (with directions)... we can't wait to go back and have a romantic getaway again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

over the weekend me and my fiance stayed at the bed and breakfast in Bear Creek Pennsylvania honest review about it the room seems like someone's grandparents room the atmosphere was good it was clean as well but you have to walk up a flight of stairs that squeaks when you go up it to give you a clear point about it it seems like a min mansion turn into a hotel location is beautiful it's like a retirement home or a place for old people

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bischwind, Owner at Bischwind, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Bischwind is a 125 year old English Tudor mansion and like all historic buildings have a few squeaks and creaks, only adding to its charm. Only the three guest rooms in the North Wing share a common kitchen area for storing any items which may need to be chilled as well as the convenience of a microwave oven. Guest rooms in the South Wing have their own mini refrigerator as mentioned on our website. Our bed and breakfast has wide span of age groups all of whom enjoy the history of the mansion which is listed in the National Historic Register.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Mills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I had just a one night mid-week stay at Bischwind. From the time we arrived, Billi, the proprietor, made us feel warmly welcomed. She encouraged us to look around the property, inside and out. Our elegant Master's Room had a large window with a beautiful view of the pool and surrounding grounds. Everything was spotless! Billi is not only a gracious hostess but also very handy. I had complimented her on the beautiful cobalt blue tile work in our bathroom, and she said she had laid it.........also denying that it was very hard to do, which I didn't believe!!

It was a delight just taking in the beauty of the home itself as the woodwork, antique furniture pieces and stained glass are exquisite. The scrumptious breakfast Billi prepared and the Boston mint iced tea were much enjoyed.

Our biggest disappointment was that we had only one night to stay at Bischwind due to a busy schedule. Hopefully, the next time we'll make it a priority to stay two nights! Thanks, Billi, for a rare and wonderful treat!

Peggy M.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the beautiful and elegant Master's Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Bischwind and had a wonderful time. It was our first time at a B&B and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Billi (the owner) was welcoming, friendly and a very great hostess. The grounds there are beautiful and quiet; making it a wonderful place to just get away and find a quiet weekend.

The only ‘complaint’ I might have is that on the first morning there the sun came into our room way too easily thorough the curtains. Since it is a B&B and people want to sleep longer than on a workday at home; darker curtains might come in handy.

Other than that, we had 2 outstanding breakfasts and a really nice weekend there. Would definitely go back and return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bischwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischwind

Address: 1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bear Creek
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
130 year old English Tudor mansion which is cradeled in the Pocono Mountains invites you with crakeling fireplaces, gourmet breakfast and much more. Built by lumber and ice baron, Albert Lewis, Bishwind has a rich history. Its lake side location with views of a waterfall allows one to relax and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bischwind Hotel Bear Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bischwind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.