We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully maintained.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bischwind

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bear Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bischwind
Save
You added Bischwind to your Saves list
1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Bear Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wilkes Barre, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very friendly and accommodating host. Lively setting with access to lake.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

In our last 20 years of staying at B&B's, the Biscwind is our favorite place to stay. One that we've come back to time and time again over the years! Billi and Barbara do a phenomenal job of making you feel welcome and special. On our most recent visit, we were on our way from a "not so great" experience at a B&B in NY. We were discussing what makes a place special, someplace that you want to return to. Just then my cell phone rang and it was Billi offering to make us a dinner reservation! She greeted us at the door and said "welcome home"! As always, our beautiful room was welcoming, with the fireplace lit, and the finest bed linens and fluffiest fresh towels awaiting us. The mattress was perfect and we had the most restful nights of sleep! Billi's sumptuous breakfastes were amazing, as always (filet mignon, salmon, French omlettes, etc.). The Biscwind is nestled in the beautiful Pocono Mountain Region with much to enjoy in the area. We recommend you visit this gem of a B&B! You won't be sorry!
Beth Stone and Steve Fabian

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Absolutely delightful to meet my beau there for a nice retreat after a long week. Beautiful accommodations. Enjoyed sitting on the veranda sipping on wine, talking, laughing and soaking up the serenity. Our room was spacious yet cozy; completely peaceful. Breakfast was over-the-top as was the 3.5 mile walk, hand in hand, around the lake. We will be back. Loved Billi, the proprietor. She will keep you laughing. This is a great place to bring family, too. Kids would love the vast amount of outdoor fun, the pool, the games and extensive DVD collection.

Room Tip: The view of the lake is fantastic but if there is a big wedding party, you'll be part of it sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have stayed there twice. Each time in the same suite "Teddy Roosevelt Suite" and it was heaven. Lots of room, comfy leather recliners, comfy bed, private, quiet, classy and the owner, Bille, well she is so warm and welcoming and funny! The breakfast is made for a king, several courses, and if you are on a special diet......no problem......Bille will accomodate you. In the summer, the pool is a nice place to relax. You'll agree......it is a very special place.

Room Tip: all rooms have stairs to get there. Not the best for handicapped folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We live in nearby Wilkes-Barre and had to evacuate because of the flooding. We had driven by Bischwind a hundred times on the way to New York--and had often remarked that if it wasn't so close--we would definitely want to stay there. Well--we called the Thursday of the evacuation--and Billy, the owner / proprietor of the B&B--couldn't have been more helpful. Our stay was restful (the bed could not have been more comfortable!) the rooms and grounds are beautiful and the breakfast she serves is top-notch. There's even a fabulous 3-mile walk around the lake next to the property for getting some fresh air and exercise. Billy could not have been more accommodating and we are really glad that we picked Bischwind to ride out the time away from our home. I work for a hotel in Cape May, NJ so I know the difficulties of being a part of the hospitality business. Bischwind gets "two thumbs up" from me!

Room Tip: Billy WANTS you to have the best room available--just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon on our way back from New York City. We were referred here by someone at a visitor's centre that told us the place was amazing. Talk about under selling. The rooms were the nicest I have ever stayed in at a B&B. I travel often for business and generally avoid B&Bs. Although they are usually nicely decorated I find the beds to be old and uncomfortable. This was not that case at the Bischwind. The beds felt new and were extremely comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. We stayed in the Master's suite which was lovely with an adjoining bathroom with separate shower as well as bathtub. Breakfast in the downstairs was terrific and was changed up slightly each day to allow for variety. The B&B has a lovely pool which we sat out at for hours enjoying the sun and stunning view of the mountains. The B&B has private access to the lake although for liability reasons does not offer any boating. Had I thought of this I may have purchased my own kayak and taken a turn out on the water. Walking around the perimiter of the lake allowed for some incredible views. On our next visit we hope to stay in the Teddy Rosevelt suite. Upon arrival at this charming country inn its easy to see how it managed to attract two Presidents (Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft)

All my wife and I could talk about on our trip was how quickly we could get back here, and whether or not we could bring her parents next time. I would highly recommend a visit to the Bischwind if you are heading to the Poconos, or for Canadians travelling to NYC, this is an amazing stop off point about 5 hours from Ft Erie crossing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Bischwind was great... the B&B is set in a victorian big house that is detached from the owners (they stay in a house about 100 yards away on the property). While expensive.. welll worth it. The house itself is fantastic - excellant fireplace, social rooms, great place to relax... etc... The rooms were also top notch. Linens and bathrooms were super clean... and really made you feel at home. Also the room we stayed in had our own gas fireplace to adjust the temp easily in the room. The B&B also had a good selection of both his and her movie selections.... (we watched wild hogs - perfect lazy day silly movie). Overal we would happy with the Bischwind.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bischwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischwind

Address: 1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Bear Creek
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
130 year old English Tudor mansion which is cradeled in the Pocono Mountains invites you with crakeling fireplaces, gourmet breakfast and much more. Built by lumber and ice baron, Albert Lewis, Bishwind has a rich history. Its lake side location with views of a waterfall allows one to relax and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bischwind Hotel Bear Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bischwind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.