We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WYNDHAM PROPERTY THAT SERVED AS AN "ESCAPE" TO PITCH A TIMESHARE LOCATED 12 MINUTES AWAY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Route 611, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
GRAY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WYNDHAM PROPERTY THAT SERVED AS AN "ESCAPE" TO PITCH A TIMESHARE LOCATED 12 MINUTES AWAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dark halls with a strong smell of cigarettes. The lobby coffe pot was "out of service" for the 3 days we were there, and the lobby receptionist said that it was functionnal after 11:00 pm to 6:00 am (figure this one out!!) Breakfast was mediocre.

Poor tv reception on 50% of all stations; No ice maker on the 2nd floor; the pool towels were sized somewhere between a hand towel and a bath towel.

Air conditioner cycled on and off throughout the night and had to be set at 61 degrees to maintain room temperature at 70 degrees.

This is not the proper way for wyndham to impress anyone interested in buying a timeshare. This turned us off entirely!!!

Finally, dirty bedspreads that were stained with various substances. Many yellow stains were visible. These guys do not wash the bedspreads!!! Disgusting!!!

Room Tip: Find a cleaner place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    95
    106
    80
    70
See reviews for
235
79
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Located in a convenient spot and the lobby area is nice but the rest of the place is in need of a make-over. I actually cancelled a reservation at another place nearby due to mixed reviews to stay here because of a few of the amenities it had but when I got there I realized those amenities were worthless.

The first thing I noticed when we walked in was a coffee station which was perfect because we have kids and can't leave to get coffee in the morning until they wake up (we are usaully awake a long time before them and love our morning coffee). The second thing I noticed was an odd air freshener smell almost like a scented candle but didn't figure it out until after I handed over my credit card and checked in. As soon as you exit the check in lobby, you can figure out that there's a very strong bleach odor. The odor turned out to be the extremely over chlorinated indoor pool. Since we checked in late in the afternoon and had no plans to go anywhere until the following day, the kids couldn't wait to go swim in the pool. After a few minutes in the pool, and swimming underwater, their eyes were stinging them. The chlorine in the pool was so thick you couldn't see the bottom. The area surrounding the pool in the pictures on their website that look very nice, is not as nice in person. Then there's the "Rise and Dine continental breakfast includes variety of cereals and freshly baked goods, as well as coffee and different fruit juices" that's listed as a free continental breakfast on their website. As soon as the lobby clerk processed my credit card, she handed me my room keys and a piece of paper that had the hotel map with a note below it stating "this property does not offer a continental breakfast" but they do make sure to give you a coupon for a whopping 10% off in their restaraunt which just so happens to also be owned by the hotel's independent owner.

And that coffee station in the lobby, well they put an out of order sign on the coffee machine each morning at 6am. My husband went out to get coffee the first morning we were there because the pots in the rooms are tiny and they barely provide you with enough coffee for 2 cups. The machine wasn't working so he asked the morning lobby clerk what was wrong with it and she apologized, walked over to the machine and taped the out of order sign to the front of it and told him, we don't serve coffee after 6am because the restaurant opens at 7. How upsetting. So I bought 2 cups from their restaurant when they opened. They were very small and $1.50 each. Their coffee was terrible so that was the end of me wasting any more money in there.

As far as the room, the beds were ok, there were stains on the carpet and chairs as other reviewers had mentioned in earlier posts. The fan in the bathroom didn't work and they recently caulked to hide the mold stains on the tub. And the TV picture didn't come in clear. They have a nice flat panel in the lobby but the sets in the rooms are the old non HD box tv's.

The crazy alarm clock with the flashing light was set for the middle of the night and woke me up. I tried to turn it off but it wouldn't stay off so I literally had to pull the plug after moving a piece of furniture to get to the outlet.

We were there for 2 nights and probably wouldn't stay there again because there are plenty of other hotels and motels nearby which are similarly priced. I was happy about the mini mall across the street because there are a couple of chain restaraunts there are they were wonderful. Very clean and friendly with great service.

So my advice is that if you're only looking for a place to sleep, it will be ok. For anything other than that, choose another place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night only. The location is very convenient off the highway and there's a shopping center with restaurants across the street. At check in the front desk clerk initially said she couldn't find our reservation so my traveling companion had to display the confirmation email on her phone. Later we heard the guy who seemed liked the owner/manager yelling at her for an unrelated reason. The hotel smelled musty with a layer of bad air freshener over it. The carpet in the room was stained and there were hairs in the shower and on the toilet. We didn't use the pool but checked it out, it seemed nice but there were quite a few broken tiles in the pool area. There's also a game room with arcade style games. On Friday & Saturday nights the onsite restaurant turns into a nightclub with a DJ and dancing. I probably would not stay here again but it was good for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here to rest on the way to another destination. The guy who checked me in was very friendley and nice. The room ws clean and the bed was comfortable. Free parking and WiFi. My only complaint is that that despite being non-smoking, the hallway and room had that smell like someone sprayed a bunch of different air freshners to mask odors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotels in the Poconos area are all $$$ in the summer. Stayed at this hotel for the weekend and got very friendly service. The service staff, front desk and managers were welcoming and made you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable, with clean beds, can't ask for more much more than that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights here last month on business. Was up all night by the next door units door constantly opening and closing. It was occupied by 2 "ladies" who had a lot of guests. Terrible internet service, dingy room. Went to lobby the next evening to complain but the employees were more interested in talking to each other than working.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with Friends for a golf outing nearby. Staff was very friendly and service was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Address: 63 Route 611, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bartonsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Bartonsville
Bartonsville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.