We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low class place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1779 N 9th Street, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Low class place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights here last month on business. Was up all night by the next door units door constantly opening and closing. It was occupied by 2 "ladies" who had a lot of guests. Terrible internet service, dingy room. Went to lobby the next evening to complain but the employees were more interested in talking to each other than working.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    107
    119
    85
    77
See reviews for
261
82
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with Friends for a golf outing nearby. Staff was very friendly and service was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for just one night at $140 for the night expected nicer facility. As soon as we walked in the door we recognized a strong smoke odor. (it had no smoking on the door) Thank heavens our room was smoke free. It was dark and dingy and felt like we were sleeping in someones basement. The carpets and chair was old and dirty looking and I had my husband lift the matress to check for bugs.....I was afraid to bring my bags to the room? After a "once over" it seemed clean so we got settled. Walking around the hotel we noticed rusted lights, torn sofas, weeds, broken picnic tables, baquet chairs in the pool area etc. Not a place we would ever stay again. I expected a nice clean place for the rating and price. (i just hope they didn't have bugs....still a little nervous?)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My son had a state contest in the area so we decided to stay at this Howard Johnson. The kids had a great time in the pool. I lost my Seiko Divers watch during our visit but it wasn't until about two weeks after we got home that I realized it. I thought there was a possibility I lost it in the room. I called the hotel and asked the customer service person if anyone turned in a watch ot the lost and found. He said no so I thought that was the end of that. I gave him my room number and about an hour later he called me back and said they found it. Most customer service people would not have taken any action but this individual did. Not only was he professional but honest as he could have just kept the watch which was fairly valuable.All other aspects of the hotel were also excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Reserved a "non-smoking" room and was pleased that it was in a N.S. Wing. Turned the corner to get to the room and was hit by a wave of cigarette odor. if smoke odor bothers you stay someplace else! Room smelled awful too. Front desk staff was very pleasant, but won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel overnight because we attended an event nearby. We were looking for an inexpensive hotel so that we didn't have to drive there and back in just one day. The hotel was nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was good. There were some water stains on the ceiling, and the chair and footstool were stained as well. The bathtub wasn't as clean as it could have been. That being said, it suited our purposes. It wasn't gross, it just wasn't the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. I would stay there again I was was in that area, and they had the best price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Looking simple from the outside we were surprised about the nice interior.
We had a nice and clean room with a fridge and a microwave, which we didnt need because we ate in the restaurant in the house, the food was tasty and appropriate to the price.
The children enjoyed the huge pool, we enjoyed the bar and the interesting talk with the owner and the barkeeper.
By the way, thanks for the recommendation, the Bushkill waterfalls were really great!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Address: 1779 N 9th Street, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bartonsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Pocono Hotel is family friendly ski property centrally located in the heart of the Pocono Mountains Area, easily accessible from Interstate 80 at Exit #302 & Highway 33 Just one exit from Camelback Ski Resort. All guest accommodations include microwave/ refrigerator, and Free High Speed Wi-Fi. Other amenities the hotel offers are a full service bar& grill, Indoor heated tropical themed swimming pool, and new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Bartonsville
Bartonsville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.