We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was very friendly and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SR 611, Bartonsville, PA 18321 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Pocono)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bartonsville
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Staff was very friendly and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The front desk staff was wonderful,very helpful and very welcoming. Theroom we had could use some updating. The ceiling needs painted,the safe did not work (which wasnt a big deal)the room was alittle musty,the wallpaper was peeling and beds had dog hairs on it. Could use some new mattresses. I did however love the comforter and sheet set. The bathroom was very tiny. The price was of the room a alittle high for the quality of the room,but that being said overall it was ok and if the prices go down I would consider staying again. The pool and hot tub was great,and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear treed080898,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    37
    25
    27
See reviews for
65
50
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We experienced a water leak outside out bathroom door. We notified front desk of the large area of water building on carpeting in front of the bathroom. We had wet socks, had to step over the water, very annoying! Maintance looked at the water & gave us more towels to put down on the floor. I asked if our bill would be lowered for our inconvenience, he looked cross eyed & confused! No adjustment! We will never return to this Comfort Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear LindafromMI,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed with our dog for a night at the Comfort Inn. The people there were super nice and very helpful and that's what got this to a 3 from a 2. The facilities really need a going over. There were multiple patches to the wallpaper in the bathroom, not to mention a number of flies. The acoustic tile ceiling was stained and showed many gaps, and the stucco ceiling in the room wasn't much better with water stains and paint flakes. The bed springs were shot and so we not only would sink into the mattress but every time we moved the sound was like an old pickup truck whose springs are years past their change date. On the positive side, the room was clean and it did look like the sheets and comforter were fairly new. The A/C did a reasonably good job, but it felt damp in the room even when we had it running for some time. I am not sure if I'd stay again unless I knew there were new beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The rooms are comfortable, the bathroom in our room needed a little TLC and housekeeping needs to do a little better job cleaning under furniture, but other than that bed was comfortable, front desk staff where friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear TravelerShrewsbury,

Thank you for talking the time to write us a review. Your suggestions will be relayed back to our head of housekeeping to better serve you in the future. Comfort Inn, located in the heart of the Poconos is a great place to stay while visiting the Pocono Mountains and offers guests with an onsite bar and lounge that provides great food and drink specials with a great happy hour. Guests also have access to the sand volleyball court, outdoor deck, and indoor pool. Our guest rooms continue to be remodeled and we hope they provide our guests with comfort, convenience, and a sense of home. Also, the front desk staff truly appreciates your kind comments and hopes to see you soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for one night so that we could attend a wedding nearby. On walking into the lobby I immediately noticed the odor of old cigarette smoke and sweaty bodies. The carpet from the lobby to the rooms and the rooms to the bar and breakfast area was worn and dirty and the brown swede couch was very stained on the arms. My husband said the men's bathroom off the lobby had working urinals but a non-working toilet with no wall between.

The pool area had nothing about it that would attract someone and it was really hot on this above 90 degree day. A few windows that slid open to let in some air would be nice. And towels that actually fit around your body.

The breakfast this morning wasn't bad and had the usual - of eggs, potatoes, and small sausage patties, juice, a waffle making station, etc.

Thankfully, except for the same well used smell, the room wasn't bad and the beds comfortable.

what was really surprising was they charged us $200 a room! We've stayed at much nicer places with much more going on in the area for much less money. And we were supposed to have received a "break" on the cost due to the wedding.

I would never go there again. I guess, had we not booked this because it was recommended by the wedding couple, the deal breaker for me would have been that just before you make the turn there are two "adult" stores - one on the left and the other on the right. Had I seen them BEFORE we booked, we'd have gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jerseygirl46772,
Thank you for writing a review; we appreciate all comments to help improve our facilities. Over the holiday weekend we provided service to over 1200 guests that were staying with us, our maintenance crew regularly deep cleans the carpeting which was installed just 2 yrs ago. Our experienced staff is available to take care of any concerns brought to our attention, we hope next time you allow us to help you with your stay.The men’s bathroom had just been renovated that morning and another bathroom was made available to any hotel guests in need as the signs stated in the men’s room. Also, I’m sorry the temperature in the pool was not to your liking, with 95 degree temperatures and 80 % humidity, the Poconos experienced extreme heat over the weekend. Choice hotel s provides a standard size pool towel for all properties, however, feel free to always ask the front desk for larger towels if needed. Your stay was overlapped with a holiday weekend and a Pocono Indy car race, by lowering our rates which are predetermined by the Corporate company, we were actually lower than most hotels that were getting upwards of $269 per night. We also have many weddings stay with us because of proximity to wedding venues and the fabulous Lounge where many wedding parties come back to enjoy live DJs and great drinks after their big day. Your concerns about the adult stores located nearby are something we unfortunately cannot control. We are also surrounded by Giant food market, Red Lobster, Red Robin, longhorn, Lowes, Kohl’s and several other shopping destinations. The Famous Big Daddy’s restaurant is right in front of our hotel and provides guests with a great 20% off your meal discounts. We hope you reconsider as you can see from previous reviews our staff goes out of their way to provide guests with an enjoyable stay.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On a visit to relatives we found ourselves needing to extricate ourselves from undesirable rooms we had booked at a usually reliable motel chain. When we called Comfort Inn, helpful staff informed us that there were two rooms left, and if we didn’t mind paying for “premium” with a fireplace or hot tub, they would hold one for us until 5:00 PM. They reassured us we were not far away and shouldn’t have any trouble getting there in time. When we arrived, check in was like a reunion of old friends. Our room was clean and fresh (unlike the place we left). It had a very comfortable king bed and -- it was $20 a night cheaper!!!

As pleased as we were with our “premium” room, it wasn’t exactly what I would think of as “luxury,” since besides the electric fireplace (which we were not inclined to try in late June) it’s furnishing were the same as all the others and the size was about average. Also, there was a clothes-hanging alcove rather than a closet, and the bathroom was tiny. It did have an impressive flat-screen TV though, the adjustable showerhead was fabulous, and it was less expensive than the other motel’s “standard” room.

While the location was convenient right on route 611 near the interstate exit, the Inn was at the back of a kind of tacky parking lot behind “Big Daddy’s” restaurant. There is a lounge right in the motel which offers the benefit of handy food and drink, but is a bit noisy. Fortunately, our room was in the back and in the other wing.

So, while I reserve five stars for a truly luxury room, lots of amenities, and large bathroom -- with the staff who said and did everything right, good bed, reasonable price and great cleanliness, this was a solid four-star plus experience which I plan to repeat in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road, and not too close to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Cares4Quality,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a kind review. Our employees enjoy hearing from guests like yourself, who we can tell enjoyed their time with us and were happy with their guest experience. Being that we are a Comfort Inn, not only do we take pride in knowing our rooms are comfortable, but affordable as well. We are still in the process of upgrading our guest rooms and as you mentioned, we have just upgraded to flat screen TVs and new bedding in all guest rooms with other renovations on the way. Being in the heart of the Poconos is a huge advantage to us and our guests who are provided with the opportunity to experience all the Poconos has to offer. Many guests and truckers appreciate the size and the accessibility of a large onsite parking area. We are one of the few Pocono hotels that provide ample parking spaces to hotel guests, without having to send them walking long distances back and forth from their rooms to vehicles. On weekends the Lounge is a great place for guests to come in and enjoy great cocktails and food specials. Our guests enjoy our live DJs and there is always plenty of space on the outdoor deck to sit and enjoy the night within a quieter surrounding. Once again thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pretty good overall though a little more attention needs to be paid to bathroom deficiencies - although it was quite useable ! Good value for money ! Nice breakfast provided and on site bar/lounge was not too bad .

Room Tip: Choose a room on opposite side to interstate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Eric E.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a helpful review. We like to hear from our guests and take their thoughts into suggestion while trying to provide future guests with the best possible experience. We are still in the process of upgrading our guest rooms with new features to make your stay more comfortable and convenient. Also, I am happy to see that you took advantage of and were pleased with the complimentary breakfast and the onsite Lounge. We hope to see you again soon and have the opportunity to make your stay with us even better. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos

Address: SR 611, Bartonsville, PA 18321 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Pocono)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bartonsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bartonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Heart Of The Poconos Hotel Bartonsville
Comfort Inn Bartonsville
Bartonsville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Heart of the Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.