We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beachside motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Motel to your Saves list
Silver Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3767 N Hwy 101, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice beachside motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed one night in this quaint beachside motel and were very happy with it. It sits right on the ocean and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The beach is 50 feet from your door. They have DVD's to rent and also popcorn in the room you could make. They are also very reasonably priced for the their location.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
85
71
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband planned a birthday weekend for me and our young son. We camped two nights at Beachside State Park and then spent two nights at the Silver Surf. The Motel is just what you would expect after reading Trip Advisor (indeed, this is how my hubs chose the place for us). We saw many, many whales from our dog-friendly room. The pool is older, but very clean and a nice addition. Wifi is super-weak and virtually useless, but we made due with 3G or E on our iPhones. The kitchenette's are just enough, but we had to dig into our camping gear in order to have an oven-friendly pot for dinner one night. The room was exceptionally clean, but I still avoid touching those older hotel bed-spreads places like these use. Overall, we plan to return someday. Our weather was unusually sunny and warm, but I imagine a blustery fall or winter stay would be cozy and pleasant too.

Room Tip: I might ask for a second floor room so that you don't have anyone thumping overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A lovely couple are updating and working on this quiet, immaculately clean hidden beauty! It's a family oriented place to stay with children & pets on the first floor and others on the 2nd. The beauty from the individual balcony's is fab. I especially appreciate the no-smoking policy and enforcement. The kitchenette is modest and wonderful to have for keeping vacation modest.

Facilities are now new - but this couple is continuing to make all the right decisions and a stay at anytime will bring lots of joy! In case you don't know - Yahats is about as low keep and roll up the streets at 10 as you can get. If thats your deal - - THIS IS FOR YOU!

I GUARANTEE I'LL BE GOING BACK.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has killer sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The owners are obviously in the process of painting and repairing. All of the essential facilities were newer and best of all the room did not have any oder. Like the oder of trying to cover up mold or smoke with smelly disinfectants. Even the linens were soft fluffy and oder free.

The view of the ocean from the balcony was great and beach access was easy.

The kitchenette was handy and fully stocked with all of the tools one needed.

Although some people have commented that this facility is dated, I would not trade the tranquility of this place for the glamor of the latest and greatest large downtown motels with 24 hour noise and hustle/bustle.

The Silver Surf is definitely on our list of good experiences and places to return to. It was a very welcome addition for our weekend getaway at the coast.

Room Tip: ALL rooms have an ocean view from a private balcony. Bring a few groceries for snacks etc. there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Can't wait to go back! I never book any hotel before reading every review out there, so I was very excited when we arrived at the Silver Surf. The office had everything your family needs for a perfect vacation. Volleyball and badminton gear for the net in the grass lawn, free DVD's to checkout, games, huge toy chest of beach toys (which is awesome to not have to bring sandy sand castle gear to and from home), even popcorn and candy bars for Family movie night. I couldn't get over all of this and a full kitchen unit (we were in #40) for about $100 a night. The kitchen had everything we needed. Bed and sofa bed in the unit with a gorgeous beach view.

The pool room was perfect for our family, pool was very big and both it and the hot tub were very clean. Yes the room itself could use a facelift but for families that is not what matters most.

I have grown up going to Seaside/Cannon Beach and Lincoln City, and boy did I miss out on the true beauty of the Oregon Coast. It's not all that much farther but worlds apart in the beauty of the scenery and a perfectly clean beach, not to mention hardly anyone there. Just up the street is Spouting horn and the best tide pool area I have ever seen. We walked around there for 2-3 hours, looking at sealife like I have never seen before in Oregon. Makes all the other beaches seem boring.

Waldport is just 5 minutes away for any grocery needs you have. Next time we will spend our whole vacation here instead of 2 nights at 3 different places. Our next stop up the coast was Otter Crest, you can check out my reviews for that one next "Tropical Paradise Found in the NW"

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great value and right on the beach. The owners are super friendly and accommodating, our room was comfortable and oh so clean. We wish we would've had time for the pool and jaccuzi, but chose to walk the beach and enjoy the sun from the deck. Will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our family of 5 just spent four blissful days at this wonderful Motel. Every room has an ocean view and we spent one entire day watching the whales spouting right off of our balcony. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and hot tub, building sand castles (by the way they have a toy box filled with sand toys to use at your convenience) and playing in the surf. We enjoyed very low tides every day which exposed the rocks just 1/2 mile from our room and there the children were able to enjoy many different kinds of sea life. They saw hundreds of starfish, tickled the sea urchins, saw hermit crabs and found some baby sand dollars. The rooms are very clean with kitchenettes filled with everything you need to fix your meals. There is a refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven and more. The office carries DVD's that you can check out and enjoy compliments of the motel and they also have books, games and even crayons. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is a large fire pit for guest to use to roast hot dogs or make those mouth watering smores. They have Barbecues, a manicured lawn with a volleyball net and horse shoe pit and washer and dryers in the swimming pool building. There is a large lawn in the back with benches and chairs where you can sit and watch the sunset and an easy beach access. As our kids said, "It was the best vacation ever." We will go back many more times.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view, even the bottom rooms where they allow pets. We have been there sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 3767 N Hwy 101, Yachats, OR 97498
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#6 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on the sandy beach; indoor pool & hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel Yachats
Silver Surf Motel Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.