We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay on the Oregon Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Motel to your Saves list
Silver Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3767 N Hwy 101, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place to stay on the Oregon Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you want a quiet comfortable place to stay, this is it. Beachfront rooms have beautiful views, and are clean and spacious. If you wish to eat in, bring food, the kitchenettes are well provided for cooking and dining.. .View from the room is lawn and then pristine beach. Have a dog? Your pet is as welcome as you are. Angus (our old dog) seemed to remember what it was like to frolic like a puppy during his stay here. It is always a good omen when your pet knows he is welcome. The staff here is very hospitable and gracious. My husband and I have traveled the Oregon coast, and I have to say this is our favorite place. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty the coast has to offer, you will savor and remember your stay at the Silver Surf motel in Yachets..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
85
71
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I live on the Oregon Coast and one of my favorite places to visit is Yachats. I've been going there for several years and I always stay at the Silver Surf Motel. The staff is wonderful and the rooms very comfortable. It's not fancy, but at this visit, I saw that there had been some upgrades and remodeling. The rooms are large, have a kitchenette and a good sized balcony for sitting and looking at the beautiful view. It's a very easy, close walk to the beach. There is an indoor pool, hot tub, laundry facilities and is only a mile north of town. I'm already looking forward to my next visit in just two months.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our first time at Silver Surf. It truly exceeded our expectations. The staff is wonderful, room was very clean and the setting couldn't have been better. We traveled with our dog and if she could write a review she would mention the beach of her dreams.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Thank you Janice & Michael for making our Anniversary weekend so special. You and your staff are so friendly and helpful. Your rooms and property are always so neat and well kept. First time in your cabin and it is so roomy and comfortable. Our dog, Glacier also loves coming here and she always feels welcomed as we do. Great price and the best location on the Oregon Coast with the best staff ! ! !
P.S. We love the new fireplaces ! ! ! Great addition ! ! !

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fabulous few days at the Silver Surf! Michael and Janice are the best Innkeepers! Could not be more accommodating. Their dinner recommendations were perfect, the place was exactly what we were looking for. We plan on making the Silver Surf our get away place!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. Balcony for viewing whales, sea lions, birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Greetings beach lovers! I was at the SSM a couple weeks ago for the second time. Still boasts the same fantastic qualities as before: clean, great pricing, unbeatable location, every room ocean front, easy beach access, pool/jacuzzi on site, quiet, gracious and friendly staff, and kitchenettes in the rooms! We ate dinner on our balcony and watched the sunset. No better view to be had! This time, my wee mini-dox, Lucky, joined us. He was warmly welcomed. He gives the joint five paws. Now, it is even better, since there are new flat screen TVs. Being a movie lover, this was an added bonus. Bring your own DVD or borrow one from the SSM library! I can't wait to go back. Nuff said. Get yourself there!

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms without kitchenettes, so specify if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverSurfInnkeepers, General Manager at Silver Surf Motel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for all your nice words. We are looking forward to your next visit. There is nothing better than guests that know how to have fun and the three of you fit into that category.
Best wishes to all.
The Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from Yachats and the Silver Surf Motel......Perfect location, wonderful hosts, very clean room with a beautiful view of the beach/ocean and quiet. Loved it!!! Would definately stay again. Oh...and very dog friendly :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 3767 N Hwy 101, Yachats, OR 97498
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#6 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on the sandy beach; indoor pool & hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel Yachats
Silver Surf Motel Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.