We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request room in center building” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Yachats Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yachats Inn
Save
You added The Yachats Inn to your Saves list
P.O. Box 307, 331 South Coast Highway 101, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Request room in center building”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This seems to be a story of two motels..the old Yachats Inn (where we stayed) and the new Yachats Inn (which looked much, much nicer). Check-in was "let's get down to business" with several warnings about ways in which you could be charged additional fees for things you shouldn't do. If I hadn't already paid for the room, I probably would've walked out about that time. Our room was small, bereft of decoration and the bathroom was a closet with a tiny, dark shower. Things didn't seem to be comfortably clean. There isn't much of a view from the room (e.g. you can't see the ocean) unless you go out on the small patio, which didn't end up being a fun place to hang out. To get to the ocean, you must cross a lawn and a road. No breakfast of any kind. Now, across the parking lot, we could see into the rooms of the central building which had pictures on the walls, warm lighting, newish furniture, and generally a sparkling feel, so some of the reviewers who love this place are perhaps talking about the remodeled building, because I just can't see how anyone could rate our room 5 stars. For the price, I just expected a little more, and I will try lots of other places before I'd give Yachats Inn another chance.

  • Liked — Proximity to awesome town of Yachats
  • Disliked — Paying $100+ for a tiny, unclean room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
41
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I traveled the Oregon coast without any plans or reservations, being spontaneous and looking for lodging whenever we were "done" for the day.
One day that happened to be Yachats. We drove by several hotels into and out of town and called the ones that looked decent to see about prices.
We ended up at Yachats.
We got the least expensive room, for a good price, because we were a week before prime season — we saved about $40 at each hotel this way.
to our surprise the room had the BEST view of the ocean, a small deck, two chairs and direct access to the shoreline trail and rocky beach.
Our view and atmosphere rivaled any expensive condo or $200 a night fancy-pants hotel around.
the room itself was basic with that musty lodge smell but it was clean, do-able and our view more than made up for it. Come at the right time here and get a room with a view of the ocean (some do not, so ask) and people on a tight budget can spend their night on the beach too. One of the best places we stayed because of it.
The town itself is also quirky; we liked it alot. The new Mexican restaurant was also good - the owner was there and asked how we were doing.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — musty smell
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

The suites might be nice, but I expected a lot more from this Inn based on the reviews here. Stayed in a regular room. The place stunk. It was dusty. The floor was stained and dirty, but to top it off, a maid had missed a blanket in the closet that had human excrement on it. Yeah... Won't be going back there.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and age of building
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

The Yachats Inn was a quaint and cozy place for my husband and I to go after dealing with the stresses of our wedding. It was just what we needed. The views were beautiful and the staff was so friendly. This was our second time at Yachats and found that each room has it's own "personality". The first time staying at yachats was in their smaller bungalo rooms where the decor was homey and simple. For our stay in August we stayed in their newer rooms which were beautiful! We were able to lay by the fire and listen to the waves crashing on the rocks. I have to say that my favorite part of the Yachats Inn was the location of their pool and hot tub. They are in a large room with windows all around and the only view is the beautiful ocean.
I would recommend this hotel to other travelers and we will definetly be back!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

My husband and kids aged 16and 18 went to the Yachats Inn for some relaxation and that is just what we found. The pool and hottub overlook the ocean and was very warm and clean. The weather was cold and windy which was delightful watching the waves crash right against the rocks outside the pool window. We watched it for hours while our kids swam in the pool. The grounds are manicured and our suite was very upscale. The gas fireplace was exactly what we needed for romance. The kids watched the big screen in the commons area while we relaxed in the room.The owners popped bags of popcorn for the kids and were friendly and genuine in every aspect. The next day they showed us the older more rustic rooms that could be rented for about half the price and we found them to be charming. I feel they have something for everyone in all price ranges. We'll definately be sending our friends!!

  • Liked — The location of the poo.Al to the ocean..the waves were amazing
  • Disliked — A long drive to get there. Newport is 25 miles away...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed in their least expensive room, a motor-lodge type unit. The Inn had suites that appeared much more new and were no doubt nicer than our accomodations.

Pros included that the room had a view of the ocean, was located right near the beach, and had beautiful grounds. Those who are swimmers and TV watchers may enjoy the bit screen TV in the common building and an indoor swimming pool and saunt that overlook the beach. Also, the Inn just put in a spa building.

Cons include that the unit was on the funky side. Of the two bedside lamps only one had an outlet close enough to plug it in. The in-room fridge was unplugged when we arrived. The room was quite dark and dated, verging on shabby.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

We started out in a house rental the first night. Amadeus by the Sea cottage, which we renamed "Mold hole from Hell". After contacting VRBO which managed the rental, they were unwilling to give us a price break for unsatisfactory conditions and only offered a comparable house more than 20 miles away. We contacted Yachats Inn and explained our situation to them, and they graciously put us up in 4 of their suites for a very reasonable price. Nice clean rooms complete with fridge, stove and sink. They have a nice sandy beach, indoor pool, and hot tub. Staff was very friendly and I would recommend their facility to anyone. Drift Inn there in town has good music almost every night and great food. Definitely check out the lighthouse at Heceta Point, Cape Perpetua, and the Sea Lion Caves. Beautiful country, can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — Clean and priced reasonably
  • Tips/Secrets — Explore the entire coast from Newport to Florence
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yachats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yachats Inn

Address: P.O. Box 307, 331 South Coast Highway 101, Yachats, OR 97498
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yachats
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Yachats Hotel Yachats
The Hotel Yachats
The Yachats Inn Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yachats Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.