We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fireside Motel to your Saves list
Fireside Motel
1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4th of July vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Amazing hotel. Our first experience left us wanting to go back. So we booked a room at the last minute for our 4th of July holiday. We rented the Apartment this time. Even though the Bedroom does not have an Ocean View the Front room window opened up to an amazing view and the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks! We were impressed on how roomy the apartment was. And clean. We had a full kitchen and dining table. We have talked about coming back up for Thanksgiving. The hotel provides a nice breakfast and great coffee. They also have a Horseshoe pit (that we took full advantage of). They are very pet friendly also. I will try to make this a few times a year trip. This hotel offers the whole package, family time, ocean views, Whale watching, relaxation, or just a romantic getaway. Thank you Fireside for such Amazing memories.

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean views and back decks are amazing but with a family the Apartment was Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    166
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
100
294
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I came to Oregon to hear one thing....crashing waves. This wonderful motel has prime real estate, sitting on the Oregon coast with a fabulous rocky shore that waves crashed in on all afternoon and into the night. A short walk north brings you to a lovely sandy beach. A short drive south brings you to Cape Perpetua and all its beauty. In the morning we walked out onto the rocks to see hundreds of bright orange and purple starfish clinging to the rocks. The women who worked at the front desk were warm and hospitable. The room was large and easily fit our family of five. The balcony had a great view of the beach. The only thing small was the breakfast, but we came for the view and that was five star!

Room Tip: Looked to me that all the ocean view rooms had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived late afternoon to the beautiful beach of Yachats. Our motel room overlooked the walking path and the ocean! The room was very spacious and welcoming. Loved the fact that the motel recycles! The room was exceptionally clean. Had cocktails on our little back porch. And slept with the door open to listen to the pounding surf! We enjoyed taking a short walk on the path. The motel has a very nice gift shop! And the continental breakfast was VERY good. Fresh scones! Yum!

Room Tip: I would definitely take a room overlooking the ocean. Otherwise you DO have a partial view, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the reception when we arrived until our departure we were in awe every minute of the day. We had a wonderful beach view & left the windows open day & night. We took the beach path into town, and walked on the path north for several miles. At low tide of course. It is a thrill to watch the waves crash on the rocks, and still there was plenty of beach to walk on.

This is like a place lost in time.

We were recommended to the Fireside by friends, & this will always be our choice of places to stay.

Clean spacious rooms and a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 41 which was over the office and we were a little concerned at first, but once we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American abroad
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

One of the most spectacular hotel room views I have ever enjoyed. The views from the beachfront rooms are everything the other guests have described, but to experience it personally was a real pleasure. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and spotless. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful; the Fireside would be my first (and only!) choice for a return visit.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra money and get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family returned to the Fireside hotel and once again were not disappointed. It is the most amazing beachfront location at which we have ever stayed. The beach is right outside our window - seems like around 50 yards away - and the waves are rugged and beautiful. They pound onto a basalt shelf and occasionally spout up between slots in the rock. You can hear the memorizing sound all day and night from small windows in your room. We arrived and immediately spent the afternoon/evening scrambling on the rocks and hiking around the area. After a nice dinner in town, we returned to the lovely oceanfront view in our warm cozy room. We spent the evening playing games and watching the surf. Once the high tide rolled in in the late evening, we just sat up in bed and watched the waves and could have done so for hours. A light on the adjacent hotel (same management) illuminates the surf for an even better nighttime view. We finally made ourselves stop watching to finally get some sleep, as low tide was 6AM the next morning. We got up and were greeted with the most fascinating intertidal zone we could visit. The sea star colonies that inhabit the area are colorful, healthy, and beautiful. We examined the sea stars, anemones, mollusks and sea life until the tide came sneaking back up on us. We took hundreds of beautiful photographs. After our exploration, it was conveniently time for our continental breakfast. We enjoyed that and then napped and relaxed in our room until it was time we had to check out.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious, but are of an older style and are in and of themselv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
What a fantastic review, it sounds like you had a great trip! Our rocky coastline is a beautiful place to explore tidepools and watch waves crash. Hopefully on your next visit you can stay a few days and enjoy Yachats even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Fireside is a great value on the Oregon coast. It is rare to find a room on the ocean for under $100, although it won't have an ocean view. The rooms are nicely updated, with the exception of the old style television and lousy cable signal. A great oceanside trail is just steps away and the rocky coastline is a feast for the eyes. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is for the TV and the super loud plumbing. Our neighbor took a shower right after we went to bed and again and 5:45 am. It sounded like a freight train. All in all it is still a nice place to stay and we probably will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fireside, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our north facing rooms are a great economical choice for those looking to enjoy the coast on a budget. I agree that the 804 trail and the rocky coastline are a "feast for the eyes". Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.