We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Overleaf delivers...again!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Overleaf Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Save
You added Overleaf Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Canned Food Drive 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Overleaf delivers...again!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I visited the Overleaf last fall with a group of girlfriends and had a blast!! I couldn't wait to bring my husband back. Last weekend I did and had another amazing weekend at the Overleaf! The front desk people, Joanie and Joan were friendly and helpful and Lisa made our stay extra special!!
On Saturday, I visited the spa for a massage! Oh boy was that a treat!! Front desk Brandy was cheerful and helpful! Massage therapist Brandi gave me the perfect relaxation massage!!! She had the perfect pressure, didn't talk too much, and gave me the best massage I've ever had!! Really!! It was a great day at the spa!
It was an awesome weekend for both of us and we can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Whether it is a girl’s weekend away from home or a special trip with your spouse or significant other, the Overleaf Lodge and our staff are ready to make your stay wonderfully memorable. As bnlkuhns from Beaverton, Oregon writes: ‘we can’t wait to come back!!’ We hope everyone feels that way when they have to leave. Thank you for the kind comments towards Joni, Joan, Lisa, Brandy and Brandi. I will make sure that they all see your compliments. It is testimonial to our staff when a guest calls them out by name. And it is a special testimonial when one is called out for giving ‘the best massage I’ve ever had!! Really!!’ Thank you again and we look forward to your return trip, whether it be with your husband or the gals!
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
541-330-1286
drew@overleaflodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    132
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
173
535
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Perched on the edge of Yachats’ rocky coastline, the Overleaf Lodge is Oregon’s quiet, coastal retreat. The staff was gracious and accommodating; the rooms comfortable and well appointed. The spa was outstanding. While this was a family vacation (and the second at the Overleaf in 12 months), I look forward to making this a getaway without the kids. If there was ever a place to relax, unwind and enjoy the Oregon coast, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thanks for the great comments Mindtfamily! While a majority of our guests traveling to the Overleaf Lodge are couples, we do honor families too. There is a lot to do in the Yachats area to keep kids entertained. On the oceanfront just outside the Lodge are tide pools that are perfect for catching every child’s attention and keeping it until the tide starts to roll back in. For years I have been collecting agates in the gravel beds intermixed among the tide pools. I occasionally come across jasper and petrified wood in my agate hunts. Just a short jaunt from the Overleaf Lodge is the Cape Perpetua Natural area that features grand views from the top of the cape and also an interpretive center where many of the exhibits are geared towards children. Kids also love to walk down to Devil’s Churn where the surf washes into an exposed crack in the 38 million year old basalt bedrock. Just a little further away to the south are the Sea Lion Caves and the Haceta Light House. Children, young and old, love to climb to the top of the lighthouse when it is open for tours – mainly in the summer. And of course, about 30 minutes north is the Oregon Coast Aquarium that captivates children and adults for hours.
So whether you are looking for a quite retreat, a romantic getaway or thrills with the entire family, the Overleaf Lodge is perfect for any vacation.
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
541-330-1286
drew@overleaflodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We were staying somewhere else but a friend told us to try your spa for our anniversary. We had the couples massage and spent the day enjoying the facilities. One of the best experiences we have had. Great massage, beautiful grounds and the best soaking pool ever!!! Would love to come back and stay at the hotel next time.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I have stayed in this wonderful facility on a handful of occasions. The Lodge is oceanside with an excellent view of waves against the lava rocks. The rooms are outstanding: clean and appointed with an artistic touch. Service has been flawless on every occasion and breakfast is truly a treat, and a far departure from what Americans have been sold as a "continental" breakfast. The many smaller touches add up to quite a pleasing list: games, movies, buckets in the parking lot with windshield squi-gees, guest laundry, great books in the library and MORE! The Spa is also wonderful! The facilities are fine and the spa staff are really great. The services they offer are excellent. This is a quiet place and great for rest and relaxation. Being pet and smoke free seal the deal for me, a person who suffers from allergies to both those things. Great work, Overleaf!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My (future) wife and I stayed here a while back and LOVED it. The Pacific Suite is where we stayed and it was very nice; clean, large, comfortable, and well-appointed. I saw a few "neutral" reviews on here and had to offer another point of view because we both loved it.

Also, we stayed the second night at the Adobe Resort (b/c we couldn't stay at the Overleaf on account of being full)and paid $10 less for the same quality of room...except that the Overleaf's room was head and shoulders above the Adobe's!

The breakfast was a nice touch as well. If we stay in Yachats again we will DEFINITELY be staying at the Overleaf.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

King Fireplace with Balcony Room: I had a reservation last weekend for a one-night stay. And, although somehow the reservation date was incorrect, the desk clerk honored the Sunday night price instead of the Friday night price. This act was very nice of her, but she did so with a bit of a rude attitude. She also put me in the older section of the hotel when it was obvious that the facilities had few patrons that evening. It would have been appropriate for her to offer me various rooms/prices, at this point, to appeal to the attitude that she had toward me. The room was nice and very clean. It was a very stormy night and the fireplace was a nice addition. However, the wind was coming right through the walls of the bathroom and it would have been so much more pleasant to have a hotel-style room instead of a motel entrance. The bathroom was shockingly small for the price of this room.

I feel the overall price for this room was too high. I have stayed in many $200+ rooms and, for $170.00, this was just not a good deal at all. It felt more like an expensive Best Western than a lodge. Overall, I was disappointed and will probably not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
The Overleaf Lodge rooms are designed and appointed to maximize our guest’s comfort, relaxation and enjoyment of the ocean. We appreciate the comment about our rooms being ‘nice and very clean.’ Our rooms are generously sized; being wider, deeper and approximately 29% larger than most rooms in comparable hotels. Our bathrooms are divided into two separate spaces, with the vanity area separated from the main living area by a wall. The shower and lavatory are in a separate room adjacent to the vanity area. The vanity areas in all of our rooms are generously sized so two guests have plenty of room for themselves and their bathroom kits. Taken together, the two ‘bathroom’ areas are quite generous and are approximately 25-30% larger than comparable hotel rooms. And every room has a microwave oven, generously sized refrigerator and a bar-sink.
We have rooms that enter from an interior corridor and others that enter from an exterior corridor. The hotel was designed in this manner to maximize the amazing ocean views. Guests who are here on a stormy winter night can request an interior corridor room. Winds can reach 80 MPH or more on some stormy nights and a room with an interior corridor will provide more noise insulation from the wind.
There are two separate sections, or wings, to the Overleaf Lodge; one of which is newer than the other. We frequently update and enhance the rooms’ furnishings. Many of our repeat guests request the rooms in the original wing. In many cases, rooms in the original wing are oriented so they take less of a storm’s impact then rooms on the newer wing that face directly southwest where most of the winter storms originate. Also, we have a limited number of King bed with Fireplace rooms, also known as an Inglenook room. On the night in question, while we were not full, we did not have any Inglenook rooms available in the newer hotel section.
I am truly sorry that we did not meet the expectations of CoastalTraveler97459. We were not alerted to any problems – until this Trip Advisor review. Please let us know during your stay if you are not entirely satisfied with your room, services or amenities. Oftentimes we can immediately move you to a different room or make other accommodation to insure your expectations are met or exceeded.
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
541-330-1286
drew@overleaflodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Have stayed here several times and hope to go back. Whale watcher rooms have great views, very clean rooms. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts are edible-imagine!
What more do you need...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats
Overleaf Lodge & Spa Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overleaf Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.