We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overleaf Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Save Saved
You added Overleaf Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fall Beach Clean-Up
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

3rd stop over on our San Francisco to Seattle road trip. What a wonderful find. We only wish we had longer. The Lodge was set beside the ocean with sea views from all the rooms. There is no restaurant but a short walk along the coastal path is the Adobe hotel and restaurant where we had a very pleasant and relaxed meal.
The Spa was closed for renovation while we were there but it did look superb and as we were only staying overnight we did not feel deprived.
Our room was very clean, well appointed with all the amenities and a lovely balcony where we sat for some considerable time just watching the sea and the sunset the views were spectacular. We almost felt a bit sorry that it was not cold enough for the fire to be lit in our bedroom as it was very cozy and the bed very comfortable. It was the only place on our whole trip that had lovely firm pillows! We slept very well with only the sound of the sea.
The Lobby was light and airy and we had breakfast there which was a continental buffer. The home made granola and bakings were excellent.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
It was a very peaceful place and we set off very rested.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing evening with us. Every room offers amazing views of our rugged coastline, making it the perfect place to lose yourself in the natural beauty of waves crashing ashore or awe-inspiring sunsets. We hope you will plan a return visit so that you can experience our spa facilities which include soaking tubs with amazing views, steam rooms, saunas and a delicious array of rejuvenating spa treatments. And if you come in the cooler months you will certainly be able to enjoy the fireplace in your room. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    123
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
167
501
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel reminds me so much of Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay in the Bay Area. No, it doesn't have a high-end golf course and fancy decor. It doesn't even have a dining room. But it has everything you need for a relaxing weekend; stunning ocean and surf view from a balcony, a large in-room whirlpool, electronic gas fireplace, wet bar, fridge, microwave, Spa, exercise room, and library. We also fell in love with the town of Yachats (population 690). It is tiny, but offers 5 or 6 enchanting, high quality restaurants. We plan to return to Yachats and stay at this hotel again this summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer for your weekend getaway. As you mentioned, we don’t have a restaurant, but we do offer a delicious, home-cooked breakfast buffet. The charming village of Yachats offers several great dining choices, all within a mile from the lodge. Our amenities also include our beautiful spa facilities, along with a complete menu of rejuvenating body treatments; an exercise room with a divine view; a lending library; guest laundry and our incomparable ocean views. And if golf is something that your heart yearns for, we do have a 9-hole golf course just a few miles away or an 18-hole course within 30 miles. We hope you will be enchanted all over again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
306 hotel reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Location-Perfect…Our suite # 105 was in front of the rocks on the ocean.
No food- no bar.
Reception- Distracted talking to others or answering the phone while talking with us.
Breakfast –Excellent breakfast. No fresh fruit though..
Room-Large suite with sofa, dining table and electric fireplace. Very nice patio to watch the waves and easy access to the water. Whales passing by, I can see them from my bed!
Light for reading –Very Good
Bed –Comfortable, not loving the pillows.
Air Conditioning-Quiet
Wi-Fi-A bit slow
Microwave and they have little store.
TV-Nice modern
Refrigerator-Works well not noisy
Room for bags-Plenty
Tea Kettle or coffee maker- Yes
Bathroom-Very nice
Shower pressure-Low
Cloths line-No-But they have free laundry on the 3rd floor
Safety bar in bathroom-Yes
Towels-Very nice and clean
Amenities-Very good basic
Hair dryer-Works well
Full length mirror-Yes
Makeup mirror- No
Parking-Free. The have some squidgy in water to clean your windows, nice touch!
Laundry-Free self-serve
Iron and ironing board-No maybe in the Laundry room. I did not use.
Complimentary bottle water-No
Plugs-Need plugs by the bed, a plug lamp would be nice.

Room Tip: #105 was great. If they have the same on the second floor the view would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We appreciate knowing that the Overleaf Lodge was one of the best places you stayed on your trip and that you found our location to be “perfect”. Although room 105 is a one of a kind room, it is similar to our Cook’s Galley rooms which are available on upper floors. All of these rooms do offer amazing views of the waves crashing against the rocks, or like you experienced, whales swimming by. We are glad you thought the breakfast was excellent. Our breakfast staff prepares a wide variety of home-cooked and fresh selections, including hot, savory entrees, homemade pastries and granola, English muffins, yogurt, and large bowls of mixed fruit. We hope you will think of us on your next trip to the Oregon Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed multiple times at the Overleaf. With each stay we just feel the stress of life melting away. The lodge staff was great as usual and the Welcome Back bouquet of flowers was such a thoughtful touch. It made us feel like we were "coming home". There has been some small updates to the original lodge rooms which we were pleased to see. The breakfast is still so yummy! The staff in the kitchen do an outstanding job. Do not hestitate to visit Yachats and the Overleaf the views from the balcony are worth the visit itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for continuing to “come home” to the Overleaf Lodge & Spa. We love knowing that your “stress just melts away” when you are staying with us. Our lodge does have a lovely, tranquil atmosphere and if a little extra help is needed, our spa can do wonders! We appreciate you and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here midway through trip down the Oregon coast (started in Portland, then Cannon Beach). It was the PERFECT place to stay for a night. The views were unbelievable. We had fun walking around and climbing on the rocks before heading into town for dinner. The room was great; very clean and updated. The view is what you come to Yachats for…that and to eat at Luna Sea Fish House. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was one of the best "continental" breakfasts I've had. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic review and recommendation. The magnificent views from the Overleaf Lodge are definitely a “must see” on any trip to the Oregon coast. Our rocky coastline gives us abundant opportunities to explore tide pools or to be awed by the raw beauty of the waves crashing ashore. Yachats also gives access to miles of trails encompassing old-growth forest, panoramic ocean views or an easy stroll along the water’s edge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

WOW! I felt like a celebrity staying here. Everything was top notch, what else can I say except I want to go back! One night was not enough here, this is the place if you really just want to chill! Oceanfront, fireplace, whirlpool in the room ocean front, lot's of room to spread out and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We love reading that you felt like a celebrity during your stay with us. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Restless Waters rooms which feature a Jacuzzi, fireplace and balcony. We appreciate your great review and we hope you will visit us if a return trip to Oregon is in your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first time staying in Yachats and we really had a great time. We chose the Perpetua cottage at random and it was a winner. Very quiet, but could still hear the surf. Nice appointments, clean, and a bit of an ocean view. The Overleaf staff was very friendly, helpful with questions, and suggestions. This is a place to kick back and relax, at least in May. No rowdy beach parties, barking dogs, or trash laying around. The hotel itself has a great view and is perched above the rocky shore - a great place to watch the sun set, as we did. Note that the cottages do not include the hotel breakfast, which is understandable, since the cottages have full kitchens. It's a short walk into "town" which has several nice eateries and deli style lunch places. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed Perpetua cottage. Perpetua is a charming 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom cottage with views of the ocean. Our Overleaf Village is very clean, quiet and absolutely peaceful, making it a fantastic choice for a relaxing weekend or extended stay. As you noted, the hotel amenities are not included in the cottage rentals, but all of the cottages are equipped with everything you need, including full kitchens and laundry facilities. Thank you for sharing your experience and your photographs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats
Overleaf Lodge & Spa Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overleaf Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;