We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandonians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overleaf Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yachats Music Festival
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Yachats
GreenLeadersBronze level
sandy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sandonians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 5 day trip to the overleaf. We were celebrating her 50th birthday. We loved our room, we stayed in a restless waters suite. Great view, lots of really hot water for the jaccuzzi, gas fire place, private balcony. We were on the 3rd floor very quiet! The only noise we heard from our room was the surf hitting the rocks.
I didnt try out the spa until the day before we left. I wish i had gone in on the first day. the steam room and sauna were clean and I was the only one there both times I went. Nice big shower, lots of towels, Iced lemon water, iced towelettes for your face and neck. The soaking tubs are a must. The small one very hot!
The larger soaking pool was the perfect temp for a long soak. the spa is on the 3rd floor and has probably the best view from the hotel.
Yachats has a some good places to eat. there is a mexican place that serves really good food. "Not much of a view" The nite we were there, they had a man playing guitar and singing. " he was very good' fun:) There is a hotel called the ADOBE, if you walk south about half a mile on the walking path behind the hotel you will run into the adobe hotel. The have a bar and a dinning room that is about 30 feet from the rocks on the beach. Great staff, decent food, unbelievable view. It was very nice to have a couple of cocktails, or glasses of wine and not have to get in the car to drive back to our room. 5 or 10 minute walk along the beach path depending on your walking speed.

  • Liked — Location and room quality
  • Disliked — Not enough sunshine
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    113
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
158
473
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Trip Advisor had listed this hotel as a "Hidden Gem," and it made me want to check it out. Being from the Portland area, it wasn't too far to go and was a nice getaway for a couple of nights.

We stayed in the Restless Waters room, which had a jacuzzi tub overlooking the ocean and a fireplace. The weather wasn't great while we were there, and there isn't much to do in Yachats, which made this the perfect room to hang out and relax in.

The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The included breakfast was better than most continental breakfasts and included warm foods as well. The soaps and bath products provided in the rooms were Aveda, which is a nice touch.

My only complaints are that when we first checked in, the jacuzzi tub was out of hot water and its drain wouldn't stay closed. We were able to fix the drain with a little effort but didn't get to use the tub until the next morning. Also, we were on the second floor, and the people above us were pretty noisy. It might be worth requesting a room on the third floor in the future.

  • Liked — the room, the jacuzzi tub, & the view
  • Disliked — not much to do or eat in Yachats, especially on a Monday when everything is closed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniverary and were pleasently surprised. The room we stayed in was really large, very clean and complete with a fireplace, mini kitchen, living suite area and of course the bed side, ocean view jacuzzi tub.
The breakfast is great- real food. The location is excellent and there is a great walking path to the tide pools.
The service was also outstanding- will go again.

  • Liked — quiet, clean and comfortable
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

What is there to say that is not good about this lodge?

1) Wonderful location, on the ocean. The waves crash on the rocks right outside your large picture window (all rooms have ocean view). Absolutely beautiful!

2) the rooms -- we stayed in the Sunset suite -- a kingsize bedroom with its own full bath, then a full kitchen /bar area and bath in the suite along with: 2 oversized chairs with ottomans (cushy!); a queensized sofabed, a breakfast table and chairs AND a deck and jacuzzi inside overlooking the ocean! Heavenly!

3) Exercise room

4) A not-to-be missed Spa -- had a full massage and enjoyed the two healing heated pools. Also sauna and steam rooms. . . .

5) complimentary breakfast -- hot and cold foods-- very good!

My only issue was that I had only planned a two night stay -- it was so nice, I wish had could have stayed longer.

Definitely plan to come back although Ohio to Oregon is a long haul!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

The other reviews have really said it all. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Overleaf Lodge. The rooms are attractive, generous, and comfortable, the view great, the buffet breakfast selection good, and the staff warm and professional. We would recommend staying in a room on the third floor as we did, where we were able to walk down the hall in our robes to enjoy the jacuzzi-with-a-view in the hotel spa.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in this very nice hotel in December. We found the room itself to be quite comfortable and clean! The staff seemed very nice as well. We briefly looked at the SPA and it looked nice, however we did not use any of its services.

The view from the room was fantastic! Lots of big windows!

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We didn't have a reservation - when we are "road tripping" we like to decide where to stay when we get there but I had researched the Overleaf and was impressed by what I saw. Upon arrival, it was clear all the good reviews were deserved.

The property did not disappoint in its location as it sits right on the beach. Tho its not a sandy beach, we loved watching and hearing the waves crash on the rocks in front of the the hotel. It is set back from the highway and is very quiet. We had a room with a fireplace and balcony and had brought our own snacks and wine so enjoyed the sunset from the room before we went out for dinner. They have snacks and such available for purchase if you don't have time to get your own. And in the nightstand were candles for the table - a nice touch.

We asked for recommendations for dinner and were directed to the Drift Inn where "we all go" which turned out to be terrific. Breakfast was cereals, breads, juices and fruit - just enough to get us going in the morning.

My only issue was the spa wasn't available. I had especially wanted to try the soaking pool and maybe a massage. The desk clerk said we could use the facilities but when we checked at the spa, they told us all facilities would close at 8pm and not be open again for a few days as they were doing some re-tiling or something. Wish I'd known that sooner as I might have changed my day a bit to get into the spa.

I'd highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Lane, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats
Overleaf Lodge & Spa Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overleaf Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Overleaf Lodge & Spa to your Saves list