We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excitement in the rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Churn

Devil's Churn
Siuslaw National Forest, Yachats, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Attractions in Yachats
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tidal Pools along Oregon Coast Highway
Oakland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excitement in the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Devil's Churn and the surrounding area reveals many exciting views of rocks, waves and blow holes. An exciting place to visit during a storm.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    43
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok but not quite as spectacular as we thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well, this was basically our only detour off the road from U.S. 101 on the way from Port Orford to Newport, OR. Thankfully we didn't plan our day around it - the devil's churn is basically just a shortish niche in the rocky outcrop where water swirls around ... might be spectacular in a storm but certainly didn't look very "devilish" to us ... more like a large toilet flushing ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go at high tide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was there at low or mid-tide and understand it's quite a show at high tide. It was still a beautiful view. Will go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Exciting views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I could watch the ocean waves frolic here for hours; it's a meditative break from a long coastal drive, and one of the best view stops on the Coast Highway.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEBANON
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Definately Worth The Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a beautiful place to watch the waves crash against the rocks. There also is a little snack shop there to quash your craving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Churn also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Churn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Churn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.