We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, last minute getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Save Saved
You added Deane's Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Yachats
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect, last minute getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We loved our stay at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge. At check in, the owners were absolutely awesome. They told us about places to eat at and gave us a "check in-welcome bag" for our "fur kids." Our room was spotless and very, very comfortable. The walk on the beach was like a dream. Either way you looked, the beach seemed to stretch for miles. We haven't been to the beach for years and were so glad to find Deane's for our spontaneous trip to the beach. And, it was the great reviews from Trip Advisor that made us decide to stay at Deane's. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    87
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
176
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. James, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I along with our German Shepard stayed for two nights at Deanes Lodge in Oregon November 5-6. The place was awesome. When we checked in we were given a doggy bag with a sheet, towel, cookies, poop bags and a bowl for our dog....NEVER have we heard of this before. WELL DONE YOU GUYS!!!!
The owners, Glen and Katherine were very nice, along with their two beautiful Corgis.
Our room had two doors.... when you open the back door there is a large covered area with picnic tables, and a BBQ that is supplied for the guests.You can see the ocean from the covered area. Just a few steps from there is the back of the property, it has a set of stairs that lead right to the beach...very easy to get to and not steep at all to walk down. The facility is clean and well maintained. We had a great time, and hope to visit this place again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your stay. The best part about reviews like this (besides making us happy) is that our future guests can see what we have to offer....nothing fancy...but clean, fresh, comfortable and warm rooms born of simpler times. Of course there's the great beach but we can't take credit for that!

It was a pleasure getting to know both of you during your stay and have a great trip back to the far reaches of B.C.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at Deane's over Halloween weekend with my puppy. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. The room was very comfortable especially the bed (slept 12 hours!) I especially loved the vintage feel with the cozy comforter, electric fireplace and pink and glass block tile in the bathroom. Add to that a short walk across the lawn to the ocean nearly private on our walk. They go the extra mile to add special touches a dog bag filled with beach towel, cover for the bed so furry friends can sleep with you plus dog treats. I had a bag of candy by my bed (remember it was Halloween). I must also mention how very clean everything was so important to me (they were washing front windows when I got there)
We of coarse will go back!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review! #12 is one of our most requested rooms with the surf theme. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure being your host for the weekend. Looking forward to seeing you and the pup again!

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed in the duplex cottage and it was perfect for a couple on a romantic getaway. It was sparkling clean and offered all amenities one might need, which was especially helpful in the kitchen because we cooked there both nights. The staff welcomed our dogs with a "pet bag" which included covers for bedding and furniture so we didn't have to worry about their sandy little feet dirtying up the place. If you're not a pet person, you wouldn't even be able to tell that pets had been there. It was that clean. The fire pit was nice and cozy for a chilly night and our close beach access made for memorable walks on the beach, kite flying, and watching the sun set. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

First time in Yachats and first time at Deane's Oceanfront, both were very enjoyable, had a lot of fun being so close to the beach, nice rooms and a very friendly staff, I would recommend this to anyone looking for relaxation, comfort and fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My gal and I booked a last minute stay at Deane's over Labor Day weekend. We were greated warmly by the owners and their pups upon our arrival, and inside our room we found it to be very clean, cheery, and bright. The beach access is nothing less than amazing, and almost worth the price of the room itself. Note: We brought our pooches, and if you're concerned about being able to tell if dogs had been in the room, I can attest to the fact that the rooms were absolutely sparkling clean and well respected by any previous dog owners who may have stayed in our room.
On our second night we talked with some fellow Portlanders for quite some time out at the fire pit, which was the perfect backdrop to enjoy a glass of wine and listen to the ocean waves.
The town of Yachats and Walport are just a few minutes drive on either side, making Deane's a great mid-way location for restaurants and necessities.
We would recommend staying here for those who would rather skip putting their hard earned money into a pricier, cookie cutter hotel, and instead stay at an affordable place with much more charm and personality. Definitely a little gem along the Oregon coast. Cozy, cute, and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Hi,

Thank you so much for the review! Katherine has done such a nice job decorating the rooms to make them cozy and warm. Posts like these really help people to understand what we offer.....clean, cute, warm rooms with great service at an affordable price along with the fantasitc beach. We're not a modern place but rather a renovated classic with many modern ammenities. We definately appeal to the crowd looking for the nostalgic feel of the Oregon coast and not expecting a high end Oceanfront resort at our modest prices.

Thanks and looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Glen and Katherine - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stopped at Deans while exploring the west coast. We made a reservation while in Seattle at a higher end place. We wanted to teach our daughter that it is ok to economize a few nights while on vacation. Needless to say, she was pretty worried about not staying somewhere expensive. She entered the room pretty cautiously and turned around and just said "wow it's really cool". She had never seen some of the older features like the salmon tile and glass block showers. Our room was decorated with a lighthouse theme and it was so cute. The walls were wood and whitewashed so it was really bright and clean.

The next morning we met the owners and they were super nice, chatting with us while we had coffee and donuts in the lobby. We took a nice walk on the beach just a short walk out our back door and couldn't believe that we could only see a few people. We're used to crowded east coast beaches and they practically have this for themselves.

If you are looking for modern and copy cat looking, don't stop here, you won't like it. If you are looking for something clean, cute and comfy, you won't be disappointed. The one improvement that I could think of is real fireburning fireplaces but the electric ones were kind of comforting and I guess a lot cleaner for them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Hi,

Thank you for your review! We strive to deliver warm, comfortable, clean and friendly accomodations at a reasonable price. We are not a 5 star resort hotel and are not trying to be. There's nothing wrong with high end places (we stay at some at times) that's just not who we are. Maybe when your daughter is on her own, she'll come to stay with us also!

Regards,
Glen and Katherine Aukstikalnis- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.