We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deane's Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent beach stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We made a family trip to the Waldport/Yachats area and stayed here one night. We would have stayed two but there were no vacancies the second night. Very comfortable and clean, great service, and the beach out front (perhaps a football field away) is gorgeous and uncrowded. We watched whales feeding and spouting out front. It didn't hurt that the weather was perfect, but I think even in typical Oregon rain this place would be a good stop. We had a little dog with us and when we paid the $10 pet fee, we got a cloth bag with a beach towel, a bowl, and a sheet for the room. Dogs are welcome in the lobby as well. Yes, the owners and his parents are wonderful hosts, as is Cheri (sp?) at the desk. I asked about hikes and the gentleman pulled out a guide book and directed me to a couple of wonderful areas that they had hiked many times. There are games and DVDs in the lobby that you are welcome to borrow, or sit in the lobby with a cup of coffee and chat or watch the news. The rooms are smallish but have everything you need, including microwave, refrigerator, TV and heater. This place as a lovely family feel to it, just like a good beach cabin should.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms seem to be the best. The king bed was very comfy and our daughter thought the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kiggie,

Thank you so much for staying at Deane's and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and our simple, comfortable approach to lodging. We've worked very hard to maintain the character of a beach cottage while providing the modern amenities. We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    112
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
235
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed there again while visiting the coast and noticed that they have upgraded all their rooms and best part was that their prices were still very reasonable. Loved the fact that I could open the back door, walk across the backyard, down the steps and be right at the beach. Glen and Kathryn as always were warm, wonderful hosts and they gave great recommendations on new places to eat and visit. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Buenvida,

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts of Deane's. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love the back doors of the rooms that provide a convenient path to 7 miles of sandy secluded beach....just perfect for stormwatching in the next few months.

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I decided on this lodge/motel once we read up on the reviews and checked out some of the photos on TA. The family who operate this business made us feel welcome just from the initial phone calls. When we arrived a couple of weeks ago, we were greeted by the resident house cat who decided that sitting on the guest registry book would ensure a warm welcome. It did.
When we got to our room complete with glassed tiled showers, we were impressed. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Everything in the room met our needs including the local coffee for the machine.(Nice touch).
The grounds at the back were just a short walk to the bluffs and you were on the beach.
This would be a great place to have a family reunion. We may not be able to convice all 25 of us to visit at the same time, but maybe another family of 5 to start. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SteveHall,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our nostalgic place and of course the great beach. It was a pleasure having you here and please do bring the whole family next time!

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I loved our room. Yes, the bathroom was a bit cramped but the original pink tile and glass blocks made up for it. A wonderful open patio area with picnic tables that led to a path to the bluff overlooking a beautiful beach and ocean scene. Nice access to the beach. A large fire pit with driftwood seating led to an enjoyable meeting with guests on their annual motorcycle tour across America. The owner was cordial and very helpful. The travel coffee cups provided for lovely morning walks along the shore. Not a complaint, a suggestion....nice thick towels would be a real plus. We will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Definitely retro but very affordable and a wonderful location. If we ever make a return trip to this area, I would stay here again. Loved the short walk to the beach. We were off season but it was very quiet and met our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed last May, on an awesome family trip. The staff was super friendly, including a pair of corgis. It's one of the few beachfront hotels that are still family owned so they've got that nostalgic atmosphere going on, The rooms are up to date though, with nice beds, (ours was fairly new) electric fireplaces, microwave and small fridge. Internet access is free. Bathroom was smallish, but loved the glassed in shower. No bathtub, but we were there for the beach front access. Most of the rooms have beach access. We walked in the front door, dropped our bags on the bed and walked out the back door and down the bluffs to the beach. Our room was clean and they offered extra towels at check in without us asking.

It's a nice little hotel and we totally plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This motel has a great location, just 3 miles from Yachats, and right on a bluff overlooking the beach. But our room, without a beach view, was pretty bad. It was worn down, with uncomfortable beds, windows that would not close completely, an uneven floor, bathroom taps that dripped all the time, and a bathroom so small that we had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower. And still $98 per night, plus tax. Had it not been cold and raining, we would have camped and been almost as comfortable.

Room Tip: Get one of the recently renovated rooms with a beach view. They might be better than what we experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Frankies3rd - We are glad that you appreciated our incredible location. However, we were disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your standards. ALL rooms at the hotel have been recently renovated. Updates include new carpet and flooring, new beds and bedding, small refrigerators, micro-waves, coffee makers, tvs, dvd players, electric fireplaces and more. In addition, there are many renovations that are less obvious such as extensive sound-proofing as well as new windows in every room (which makes us very surprised to hear that your window wouldn't shut!). That being said, the renovations have NOT made the rooms feel modern and new. There is still a lot of character in all of the rooms - glass block showers, white washed wood paneling, original tile floors in the bathrooms etc. The hotel has been extensively updated but still retains the character and charm of 1940's Oregon Coast lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.