We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deane's Oceanfront Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deane's Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deane's Oceanfront Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good place to stay. It was clean and quiet, and for the coast, reasonably priced. Liked the glass-block shower walls. Mattress was pretty new and very comfortable. [Nothing more to say but program requires 200 characters minimum to accept the review. ] .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    112
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
235
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Again had a great time, love the beach access so that I can go when ever I want.Office staff is great ,even put a pizza in there frig. and cooked it for us when we were ready.Loved our time over there we will be back again.Our dog loved running on the beach with us...Thank-you so much another great vacation...Heather & Tom Ogden ,and dog Kela...

Room Tip: We always do the pet friendly #12 King size bed and kitchen unit..And love that there`s a front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Heather O,

Thank you for the kind words and even more so for coming to stay with us. We're looking forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The room smelled funny... did not smell clean. On each of the two beds there were four pillows. The top two had shams on them. The shams had not been washed and were covered in human and/or dog hair and they stunk. I immediately found the front desk person and politely asked for new pillow cases. She came to our room and explained that they don't wash the shams and that it's "proper sham etiquette" to take them off before using the pillows. I said again that I would prefer all new pillow cases. After all the dirty shams had been sitting on the supposedly clean pillows underneath. She would only give me one (out of 8!!) new pillowcase because only one "looked dingy". What a turn off. Plus the ocean is far from the room, not a few yards. You can barely see it out the window. There's a huge grassy yard and then a cliff with stairs to go down and then a large beach. Our room had no obvious remodeling done to it. It was over all disappointing and seemed to be geared more towards dogs than people.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Cindy765342,
We are deeply disappointed that your room did not meet our high cleanliness standards of having the cleanest Pet free and Pet friendly rooms around and that our staff did not resolve the issue by not understanding your request for new pillowcases. All of us at Deane’s are deeply concerned if a guest is not happy with their room and evidently in this case, trying to comfort you rather than understand your simple request got in the way of making you happy.

Based on your feedback, we have enhanced our housekeeping practices to avoid this rare situation in the future and have also coached our staff to ensure that they understand any guest issues and resolve them…period. I am confident that had our staff internalized your concern appropriately we would have exceeded your expectations in making you happy because we all are so concerned that our guests are delighted with their stay.

Regarding the renovations, evidently our strategy of using the vintage interior doors and trim to maintain the nostalgic charm worked as your particular room was stripped to the studs, concrete and rafters last June. Basically, everything you see in the room (walls, ceiling, cork flooring, Ikea kitchenette, beds, paint, dedicated Wi-Fi, fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, flat screen TV,DVD player, tables, chairs, electric fireplace, windows and window treatments) are less than 10 months old! All of our other rooms had been previously renovated not remodeled as we worked hard to provide the modern amenities while maintaining our vintage charm by preserving the original tile, showers and tubs. Your suite was previously our linen storage area and housekeeping office. We realized that was a waste of a nice Ocean view so we moved that function next to our main office.

Lastly, regarding our location, Deane’s Lodge sits 225’ from the edge of the beach on 4 acres of Prime Oceanfront property. From your room, you can easily see the surf, swells and boats however not waves crashing on rocks as some prefer. As you point out we have a huge 7 mile long beach down our short flight of stairs.
Regards,
Glen and Katherine - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although I wish I had the time to write everything that impressed me about Deane's, the staff and my stay, a summary will have to do. As soon as I walked in, I was greeted kindly, given a dog pack including dog treats, told I could borrow movies or books and given the quick run down of breakfast times, etc. My room was amazing, unique and comfortable - no cookie cutter, bland room for me. It had a vintage kitchen, an electric fireplace, a gorgeous shower drenched in natural light and beach access. It was quiet, convenient and comfortable. Add to this that I got and amazing deal on my three-night stay and it was only $10 extra total for my dog to stay with me. I fully intend to go back over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was looking for something inexpensive for an overnight trip. This place is a gem! It was built in the 1940s and recently updated. They managed to keep the charm and retro feel while still providing a fridge, microwave, cofee maker and cute little "fireplace" style heater.
In our room with two queen beds my daughter and I had a view of the ocean and could watch boats go by, and we were just a few yards away from the beach! Our room also had a glass-brick wall and pale pink tile in the original 1940s bathroom.
It was a lovely place, and friendly staff. We plan to go back next month just for fun!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 6 are "no pet" rooms, but dogs are welcome in the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mysteryshrimp,

We're so happy that you enjoyed our place! We're all about providing a comfortable relaxed experience reminiscent of simpler times...with the modern conveniences. We're looking forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here before. It was her birthday and upon arrival Glen and Katherine had a nice birthday surprise waiting for her in the room. We had wonderful weather while we were there. It may not have all the bells and whistles that other places have, and if that is your thing then you may want to go else where, but for good honest accommodation and people who care about their guests, this is the place for you. You can't beet the ocean access either.
We strongly recommend Deane's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Sunsetbay4me,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your wife's birthday trip and we're looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Super friendly, clean and comfy. I recommend Deane's for anyone looking for a relaxing and mellow getaway. Also the ocean access is excellent. They're very welcoming of dogs and give you a bag with a dog bowl, extra sheet for the bed, extra towel and treats for your 4 legged family member. We especially appreciate this extra attention to our comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear mermcoelho,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're so happy that you had a relaxing experience with us! We really do appreciate your business.

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 7365 Hwy 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.