We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heceta Head Lighthouse B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
92072 Hwy. 101 S., Yachats, OR 97498   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Yachats B&B and Inns
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heceta Head Lighthouse B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

May was a beautiful time of the year to visit the Oregon coast. It was great. We loved it. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    26
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
90
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Our first visit to the Lighthouse was in 2004... and we promised ourselves that we would come back and stay at the House. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay! It was awesome! We stayed in the Mariner Room, because we wanted the Oceanview, and it was spectacular!!! We brought our own food with us and made our own dinner, so we could spend every possible minute at the house. We walked up to the Lighthouse 3 times, including once at night with the flashlight provided for us in our room. The best part was sitting on the front porch enjoying the view and listening to the sound of the ocean... it was magical!

Room Tip: Mariner Room with Oceanview & Private Bath..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a very unique and beautiful B&B. I have stayed here on several occasions and found it to be clean and quaint. I would recommend it to anyone, especially people celebrating an anniversary or honey moon. It is a great place to have a wedding and stay with your wedding party. It is a remote place so it does have a private, secluded feel to it so it you are looking for a rowdy night life this may not be the place for you. However it you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place with epic views and wild ocean beaches you will love this B&B. Oh, and the seven course breakfast is a quite a delightful experience unlike anything I have had before.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed at the lovely Heceta Head lighthouse on a Wed night - so we missed out on the breakfast - but had an amazing time regardless. The B&B is charming, clean and well decorated. Absolutely no complaints on that front.

The location is extraordinary. There is really no other word for it. Views forever, tidepools, beach and a historic lighthouse are collectively tough to beat.

The rooms were small (we took 1 for us and 1 for the kids) - but you have a run of the house which has plenty of space. We spent most of our time on the deck wrapped under some provided blankets.

We now have another place to add to our "must come back" list.

Room Tip: Get a cheap room and enjoy a stroll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011 via mobile

No standards! The place reeked of cat urine and mold.
Unfriendly staff and terrible want to vintage decor. Can u say flee market? I realize this place got great reviews this is why I went. But It seems the people who commented mentioned the coastal beauty which is amazing so camping would have been a better option because for over 200 a night I expected more.
The place is tiny maybe 900 square feet over all and you potentially could have the 6 tiny rooms filled with guest. Can I say college fraternity house? Yachats as a town closes by 9 so you better bring cards if you stay here or some entertainment because cell service dosnt work and they do not provide internet or TV. that's why I said camp. There isn't even showers !! They do have toilets so that's a plus.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The view from our window was worth the stay. We watched as powerful waves built in the ocean, followed their progress across the water until they slammed into the cliffs, stacks, and sandy beach in the cove. Whenever we wanted, we could walk ten minutes up the trail to the magical Heceta Head Lighthouse. (Be sure to go at night with a flashlight.) The B & B is over 100 years old, so it has its creaks and groans. It served as the lighthouse keeper's residence and is now filled with antiques, collectibles, and wonderful photographs. The famous breakfast served with flair, is outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Heceta Head Lighthouse B&B is located at a fantastic spot with unique views. We highly enjoyed the walks up the hill next to the actual lighthouse through the dense forest. We did the walk in the evening, at night and in the morning and each time it was fantastic. The seven course breakfast was very good.

However, there are some things we would like to mention here. The Innkeeper didn't introduce herself to us, not even at breakfast - we didn't know who of the ladies the Innkeeper was and who was just responsible for serving breakfast. Further, we did not get any receipt of our stay and they also didn't ask for a signature for the credit card, which made it highly impersonal.

Further, the substance of the house is very nice but the decor is mixed. There is no clear and clean line in the decor throughout the house. In our opinion and compared to other B&B's, we had the impression that the innkeeper’s don't really care for the details inside the house. This could be improved very easily, especially at these room rates.

Overall, it is a unique place to spend a night but the atmosphere inside the house is not very welcoming. When the above would be improved we also might spend a week there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92072 Hwy. 101 S., Yachats, OR 97498
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heceta Head Lighthouse b&b
Heceta Head Lighthouse Hotel Yachats
Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed And Breakfast Yachats, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.