We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Sea Fish House

Luna Sea Fish House
153 NW Hwy 101, Yachats, OR 97498
541 547-4794
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 restaurants in Yachats
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Never again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I am a huge Luna Sea fan, I eat there as often as I possibly can. However, after my visit last night I will never return again. The food was perfect, but the service was horrible. My waiter Jeremy was dirty, loud, inconsiderate, and frankly smelled like B.O. To top off my experience I found one of his long greasy hairs in my meal. I will never eat there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    268
    155
    45
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best slumgullion around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Slumgullion, a "fancy" clam chowder with shrimp and cheese, is best eaten at Luna Sea in Yachats. It's just plain the best and I have tried clam chowder all around the Northwest through the years. It's what I order every time I visit, although my dining companions have tried other dishes and found them equally delicious. Don't let the "hole in the wall" location put you off; it's well worth the trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A tiny place with the freshest seafood ever - the halibit was probably the best I've ever tasted anywhere and my husband's slumgullion was a huge hearty bowl of seafood soup. Somehow I think it tasted better because you knew the owner had caught the fish himself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, or
2 reviews
“Fresh Fish couldnt taste better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been for breakfast and dinner, and going back in the morning to take home fresh crab and halibut. Well prepared Crab Benedict and Halibut stuffed with Crab topped with marionberry sauce outstanding. Slumgullion filled to overflowing with fresh seafood. Friendly service.
Looking for upscale ambience? Probably not your place - only if you want the best tasting seafood at reasonable market prices. Watching the video of sea-faring fish boats helps understand the dangers and rigors of getting that fresh dinner in front of you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

For the past two years, I've had my birthday breakfast at Luna Sea Fish House and loved the seafood benedict. The fish is local and fresh. It's a treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Sea Fish House also viewed

 
Yachats, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Luna Sea Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Sea Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.