We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umpqua River Lighthouse

Umpqua River Lighthouse
1020 Lighthouse Rd, Winchester Bay, OR 97467
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Belmont,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you have the time, you should stop here and take the tour. The guide is very knowledgeable and will answer all questions. Once inside the lighthouse, you can actually stand up inside the lens.The tour itself is a bit too long, but informative and worth the small donation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place. The 2 girls in the museum/gift shop were just so sweet to me! The tour was very interesting. Bill was very knowledgeable. This was my first time in a lighthouse. Definitely worth the time and small cost.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting tour of the lighthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Took the lighthouse tour. Volunteer guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Interesting thing to see if you are in the area. Great beaches nearby also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“This Lighthouse is a Must See At Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The red and clear glass on this very normal lighthouse is absolutely remarkable right at dusk and into the night. You can drive right up to the lighthouse and see the red and clear lights as it reflects off the surrounding trees and out onto the Oregon dunes. The Umpqua Lighthouse State Park is excellent for disabled campers with flat campsites overlooking the lake. Restroom facilities do require a little extra help as they are on raised ground but have flushing toilets and handicap showers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“My Favorite Light!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Umpqua River lighthouse is special as it is one of only two lights in Oregon that uses red as well as clear lens in its' light. We had bypassed this light over the years because I knew it was a duplicate of the Haceta Head light, and I figured as I had seen that one, we didn't need to see this one, too. I was wrong. This light is 65 feet tall and was first lit in 1894. It is the second light at this location, as the original was built on sand and fell into the river 7 years later. (Moral taken from the childrens song- "The foolish man built his house upon the sand, the rain came down and the flood came up, and the foolish mans house went SPLAT!") Anyway, apparently they built the lighthouse upon the rock the next time, because it is still there for us to enjoy. You will drive through the charming town of Winchester Bay, a few miles south of Reedsport, to get to this light, and stop at the former Coast Guard house, a beautiful 3 story building that housed young men who used tiny row boats to save lives in earlier years. The house is now a museum, with the third floor being a display of the coast guard barracks, the main floor being a very imformative and attractive museum about this light and the Coast Guards role, and then there is a basement housing a quite large gift shop stocked with-what else- lighthhouse souveneirs. The tour, which costs $5 pp, began at this house. The knowledgeable and friendly volunteer guide then walked us over to the light, and explained that the modern housing surrounding the light is current housing for Coast Guard families. Once up in the lighthouse, we saw that this light is also unique because the bottom of the actual lamp is open, and visitors climb the final steps and stand shoulder-high INSIDE the light itself! This is a first for me! At the Cape Blanco light, you are able to go all the way up into the lamproom and walk around just inches from the light, which is amazing also, and the only place on this coast that you can do that, but there you stand outside the light- at Umpqua River, you are partway inside it, and with its' red as well as clear lenses, it is like being surrounded by brilliant stained glass, and is one of the most beautiful things I have seen. The colors rotate around you and you are standing just under the two 1000 watt bulbs that send light miles out to sea. There are 616 glass prisms in this 2 ton first order Fresnel lens. The guide gives you about 30 seconds a minute to snap a picture that cannot possibly do justice to what you are seeing. Of course, the best time to see the red and white light show is after dark, which we were unable to do on this trip. After the tour, the guide showed us where to stand to get the best shot of the lighthouse. For me, touring the Umpqua River light was the highlight of our vacation. You won't want to bypass it like I did for so long!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umpqua River Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Umpqua River Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umpqua River Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.