We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but teriffic updates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Wheeler Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Old Wheeler Hotel to your Saves list
Old Wheeler Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   495 N Hwy 101, Wheeler, OR 97147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Puyallup
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old but teriffic updates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed the charming & elegant decorations. Katie, our hostess added to the charm of her hotel. She is always available by phone if something is needed. It is right on Hwy 101 but is not noisy. The water is right out front. AAA only gives this hotel two diamonds, but it deserves three.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My last visit here makes me feel obliged to write this.
I had stayed here a few times many years ago when the previous owners were in charge and was looking forward to returning. I saw that the hotel had changed hands but the current reviews were reassuring.
Unfortunately, even though at first glance it seemed the same, the place seemed to lack the unique quircky charm that it once had as well as gaining some undesirable qualities. When entering one of the first things seen is a reception area with a gift shop which gave off a commercial tone to the hotel.The previously comfortable and appealing parlour area is now unwelcoming and dull. The breakfast lounge area has a cold lifeless feeling.
Some of the other more tangible gripes includes a countertop Point of Use water heater that was often empty with no way to refill it except by taking it to our room to fill using our bathroom faucet.
We stayed in Room 5 which didnt seem much changed except for the horrible smell that reminded me of a possible rodent problem. I had to go and by a couple of fragrant candles to keep from being queasy later in the evening when the smell grew stronger.
There were a few rules about extra fees that just added to the unwelcoming inhospital overall feeling if you checked in early or out late. Without a doubt the price did not match the experience. I've never wrote a negative review before but I would have personally appreciated a forewarning.

Room Tip: room 1 looked like the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwheelerhotel, Manager at Old Wheeler Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was less than satisfactory.
We would have appreciated the opportunity to address your concerns in person, and had the opportunity to make your stay a good experience.
We did hear you in regards to the wording in our confirmation email, and are reworking it to have a more positive tone.
In regards to an odor, we have done some painting at that end of the hotel recently.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your time,
Raine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose the Old Wheeler because of its reviews, and wish we could give it 6 stars. It is completely charming. The staff - Rain and Cynthia - was so friendly and welcoming. We were given a tour upon arrival, and had a personalized welcome note on our door. Our room, #1, was beautiful with big windows looking out at the bay, claw foot tub, shower and a very comfortable king-sized bed. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwheelerhotel, Manager at Old Wheeler Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We were thrilled to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were passing through Wheller and came across this charming oldy worldly hotel, we were shown round and it was really nicely furnished and had friendly atmosphere. The only reason we moved on was because we needed to stay further south in our schedule. This hotel would definitely be a first choice to look at if you are in the area. Sometimes you can just recognise high quality when you see it

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything about our stay at the Old Wheeler hotel was exceptional, from the easy check-in and personalized "welcome" note at each door, to the absolutely gorgeous rooms, ample amenities and superb staff. We arrived early, and got a private tour of both the common rooms and many of the guest rooms - each one has its own distinct flavor, and all have been lovingly and artfully assembled with beautiful antiques, lush paintings of the local landscape, and decor that feels homey and welcoming, never fussy. It's obvious that a ton of heart and artistry went into the creation and maintenance of every detail. We stayed in Room 7, which is painted a beautiful soft yellow - sunny and relaxing at the same time. The bed and bedding are super lush, and we had a full size 2-person jacuzzi! That alone made it hard to ever want to leave the room for sightseeing. ;-) The staff at OWH is great, very friendly and helpful when you need them, and I love that they give you plenty of privacy, too - no one enters your room unless you ask them for something - you simply leave a basket out by the door for fresh towels. Love that! I would recommend this hotel for the following travellers: couples wanting a romantic getaway, all-girls trips or mother-daughter trips, professional/business travelers, and anyone needing a relaxing break for health or sanity maintenance. Would also be fabulous for weddings or events. You can't go wrong! (Oh, and there are 2 great restaurants within walking distance - Rising Star next door has the BEST, most awesome food, and Tsunami across the street has a breathtaking ocean view and yummy burgers and fish & chips.)

Room Tip: Every room is different here. Front rooms have breathtaking ocean views - some have jacuzzi tubs - s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay in a more quaint and picturesque setting. Katie was wonderful and made us feel special. We had a view looking out over the bay and had a bite to eat and a late night drink at the restaurant in the hotel across the street. It was a peaceful setting and a change from the windy (but beautiful) coastline that we were travelling along from Astoria to San Francisco. Wheeler is close to Cannon Beach and other tourist attractions so it can be used as a base for other activities such as hiking and beachcombing. I would highly recommend this old hotel B & B. Thank you for making our 2 nights memorable.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street might be a bit noisier but you will want a view of the river and bay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Lots of nice touches. We felt spoiled. Cynthia, the desk lady, was caring and hospitable. The town of Wheeler was pretty cute. A couple of good bakeries and I loved the art deco lighting at Wheeler Antiques down the street. Very close to Manzanita, where we also spent some time. We'll be back!

Claudia & Robert

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Wheeler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wheeler Hotel

Address: 495 N Hwy 101, Wheeler, OR 97147
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Wheeler Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique inn located in the heart of beautiful Wheeler, Oregon. Lovingly restored, the Old Wheeler Hotel offers stunning views of Nehalem Bay. Escape the hustle and bustle of Cannon Beach, Manzanita, and Rockaway Beach. We're only minutes away, and offer relaxation and recharging. Come enjoy the beauty of the North Oregon Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Old Wheeler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Wheeler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.