We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Wheeler Hotel

Save Saved
You added Old Wheeler Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Wheeler Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   495 N Hwy 101, Wheeler, OR 97147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern Oregon
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

This hotel is great. We had 1 of 2 rooms that do not have a connected bathroom and I still loved this place. You get so much for such a great price. The continental breakfast is out of this world, Fresh fruit, Gourmet coffee, Bagels and cream cheese, Great cereal. I just can't say enough good things about this place. It is just a great atmosphere overlooking Nahelem Bay. Absolutely Wonderful.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

We were so impressed with the customer-friendly attitude that we got from Winston and his staff that we left the Sylvia Beach Hotel a day early to come back and enjoy the far more gracious and customer-friendly surroundings of the Old Wheeler Inn.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms spotless, the make-your-own breakfast options were better than you'd get at a chain, the great selection of DVDs to watch was a nice touch and the points-in-the-right-direction were an additional plus.

If you're looking for a cozy, unassuming and charming place to stay, this is it.

  • Liked — The customer-friendly nature
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Nice folks, beautiful setting. Clean and nicely decorated. This is a GREAT place to stay. Pretty good restaurant across the street and good shopping for antiques next door to the hotel. I've stayed at the Old Wheeler four times now and it just gets better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

The room (5) was lovely, clean, bright and with a great view of the bay. The antique touches were great, and the individual jaccuzi tub was a treat after a day of hiking along the beach. Newspaper and chocolates delivered while you are having breakfast, and a quiet place to relax are just a couple of highlights. Well worth the trip, and much to see in the area. Weather couldnt have been better - we loved it!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

I spent a great deal of time looking at websites for places to stay on the northern Oregon coast, and finally decided upon the Old Wheeler Hotel. I picked it for several reasons: the price was good, the pictures looked inviting, and the owners also run the place. My husband and I went for a two-night getaway. What a find! The pictures don't do the hotel justice - it's lovely! We stayed in room four, which is really large compared to the picture. What we really appreciated were the little touches - the note on our door with our names on it, the complimentary newspaper and bottled water, and wine glasses and a corkscrew available when we came back from a winery, bottles in tow. Wheeler itself is a charming village, with antique shops and cafes and a stunning view of the Nehalem River/bay. It's pleasantly situated on Hwy 101, with Tillamook and its cheese to the south, and the shops in Manzanita and Cannon Beach to the north. This is the perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Inviting rooms and beautiful views
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington/ Moorea
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

As a native of Tillamook County it's great to see the hotel
come back to life. The owners have done an outstanding job
of refurbishing . I hope they take the time to write a history from
the day the bought the hotel to the day they opened for business.
We loved the place.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We arrived at the Old Wheeler hotel at the end of a long traveling day. Upon arrival we had a great Wow! energizing moment the minute we saw the hotel from the outside. We stepped into the darling foyer to find an envelope bearing our names and welcoming us. Inside were keys and all pertinent info. (We arrived while the manager was out on an errand.) We went upstairs through the piano parlour (neat-o!) and located the door to our room. Another note welcoming us with our names. When we opened the door to our room another pleasant surprise. The bed and bedding were beautiful. A teddy bear was on the bed with a note of greeting for us. This hotel's decor has been designed by an artist. A color theme of soft yellow and red throughout. Every detail attended too- but you feel very comfortable there as they intend. Everything has been done to create a wonderful mood and setting. The living/dining room where you can hang out and where you breakfast is great. Lovely breakfast. It is a really fun place to stay ! We were charmed. Want to go back for sure.

  • Liked — The attention to detail, the setting, decor, friendliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Wheeler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wheeler Hotel

Address: 495 N Hwy 101, Wheeler, OR 97147
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Wheeler Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, historic boutique inn located in the heart of beautiful Wheeler, Oregon. Lovingly restored, the Old Wheeler Hotel offers stunning views of Nehalem Bay. Escape the hustle and bustle of Cannon Beach, Manzanita, and Rockaway Beach. We're only minutes away, and offer relaxation and recharging. Come enjoy the beauty of the North Oregon Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Wheeler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Wheeler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.